Cover image for DART Center
Logo

DART Center

Engaged Employer

DART Center

Add a Review

DART Center Reviews

Updated May 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 37 of over 37 reviews
4.2
86% Recommend to a Friend
DART Center Executive Director John Aeschbury
71% Approve of CEO

Found 37 of over 37 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
DART Center Executive Director John Aeschbury
John Aeschbury
10 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great training and development of organizers, they give you all the tools you need and time to practice them(in 4 reviews)
Cons
  • "Long hours, often have to work nights and/or weekends(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    So encouraged

    Jul 9, 2021 - Lead Organizer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Today, I got an email from a community member who was at our action holding the police accountable for fair treatment of people with mental health illnesses. We demanded policy change and training and it was all implemented because of the work of the DART affiliate I organize with. The woman’s email explained how a severely mentally ill man was threatening police and they were able to safely call to have him transported to the hospital. This work saves lives. And, taking part in it gives my life meaning.

    Cons

    Each affiliate has their own pros and cons in the DART network but I’ve never worked anywhere more committed to growth and evaluation. I thing that growth and evaluation can be difficult, you will have to have difficult conversations in the community and within the organization, but the fruit of that work is very real.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    Wow, what a great reminder of why the work we do is so important. Things that are imporant are rarely easy, so we appreciate having dedicated team members like you who aren't afraid to lean into the hard questions and figure out how we can continually do better for our communities.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Powerful work but high potential for burnout

    May 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work has the capacity to be extremely meaningful, and engaging people of faith around the power dynamics in their communities and seeing long term change can be very rewarding. Pay and benefits are pretty good for the field, and other organizers within the network are smart, passionate, and bring joy to a difficult job.

    Cons

    Unattainable goals are used as accountability mechanisms and organizers are given so much to do that work-life balance is extremely difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic environment, especially for LGBTQ and Black/POC Organizers

    Jul 7, 2021 - Associate Organizer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good insurance a few great coworkers at other organizers

    Cons

    If you're Black or Queer RUN!!!! almost impossible standards, nominally encourage work life balance but expect your life to be your job, expect you to undergo abuse from your clients (specifically homophobic and racist people), do not respond well to criticism. I believe I was "laid off" because a week or two before I held the CEO accountable for what I believed to be a moral contradiction.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    We are sorry to hear that your experience organizing within the DART network was not positive. While our goal is to change oppressive systems, we are not ignorant of the fact that our team is operating in an oppressive world. We do not pretend that organizers will be working alongside people who agree with them 100% of the time, or who share 100% of their values. We do our best to set our organizers up for success while operating within that reality. Across the DART network we have both a Black Caucus as well as an LGBTQ+ Caucus run by organizers to share struggles, celebrate victories, and support one another. We take instances of discrimination and abuse incredibly seriously, and are continually working with our local organizers to better understand how we can meet their needs and push back against any form of oppressive behavior. We are proud of our strong culture of accountability, and value when our organizers speak honestly about their experiences. We can say with certainty that every employment decision is made based on organizer performance.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Meaningful work, inspiring colleagues, and continual growth

    Jun 3, 2021 - Assistant Director of Recruitment in Buena Vista, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - It's easy to feel powerless with all of the problems facing the world today; this organization gives me the chance to build power so that we can press for change starting at the local level. That is invaluable. - Working with inspiring colleagues -- both the organizing staff and the grassroots leaders have incredible stories and work hard to live out their values. - Continual growth -- not a day goes by where you aren't learning something new. This is due both the nature of grassroots organizing and the continual training from DART.

    Cons

    It can feel as if there is a lot at stake with this work, so there is stress that comes from that. But I'd take that any day over feeling like my work didn't matter!

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    good job

    Apr 15, 2021 - Community Organizer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good start to begin organizing

    Cons

    hours can be long, tiring

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    We take preparing and training new staff very seriously, so we are glad to hear that you've found our network to be a good place to launch your organizing career. It's a tough but meaningful career path to be sure.

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great start to a career in community organizing!

    Oct 27, 2020 - Associate Organizer in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Help people build power in their community work for social justice

    Cons

    Long hours Bureaucratic issues with central staff

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    Happy to see that you found building power in the community for social justice to be such a meaningful role to play. We appreciate your feedback and continue to work with our Lead Organizers and DART training staff to make sure new Associate Organizers are encouraged to set good habits and work/life boundaries from the start.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall good

    Apr 16, 2020 - Community Organizer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very fulfilling role and nice coworkers

    Cons

    long work hours and weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Recruitment Director

    We're glad you found meaning in the work and camaraderie with fellow organizers. It's a great group of people who get into this work.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Living into my values: Solidarity, justice, community

    Jan 27, 2020 - Lead Organizer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at two different DART affiliates has been a blessing to me. I get to live out my values each and every day and have built really meaningful relationships with community members as well as other organizers across the country. I have been a part of getting real results and see the world improving around me. I am really honored to be involved in this work.

    Cons

    Some campaigns take years to win so you'll want to go in knowing that you're going to take some hard hits along the way but that it's worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Recruitment Director

    Thank you for sharing. We certainly plan to continue listening, and evolving.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Rewarding Work

    Oct 7, 2019 - Lead Organizer in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job is incredibly fulfilling. To work with people day in and day out and see their growth and excitement when they realize they can change their community for the better is truly a privilege. I love getting to meet people of all different walks of life and help them connect with one another. I've worked in other non-profits before, and I always felt burned out and hopeless. But working for DART gives me so much hope that if people work together, we can change any injustice we're confronted with. I find it exciting to be part of issue campaigns where we're winning big things like $100 million for affordable housing, or state laws that give children second chances instead of arrest records. I also enjoy getting to work with other organizers and the supportive atmosphere and camaraderie . Fair compensation, with good benefits/healthcare/vacation package

    Cons

    When you first start, it can be hard to figure out a good work-life balance. It's a job where there is always more to do so you have to be disciplined about scheduling (and taking) your time off.

    1 person found this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    We are so glad to hear that you find the work of an organizer to be so rewarding, and that it is something to be invested in for the long haul. Thank you for providing some helpful advice and perspective for folks who might be new to the work.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Rewarding word

    Jan 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great opportunity to live out your values, lots of room for professional development

    Cons

    Long hours, often have to work nights and/or weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DART Center Response

    Assistant Recruitment Director

    We are glad to know that you see room for growth and professional development in your career as an organizer. It seems there is always more to learn.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews
</>Embed

DART Center Reviews FAQs

DART Center has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 37 reviews left anonymously by employees. 86% of employees would recommend working at DART Center to a friend and 94% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DART Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DART Center. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

86% of DART Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DART Center 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DART Center to be benefits, management, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, work life balance.

Popular Careers with DART Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DART Center? Share Your Experiences

DART Center logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

DART Center Photos

+ Add Photo
DART Center photo of: A group of community organizers attending a network training event
DART Center photo of: Leaders attending an annual DART conference
DART Center photo of: Organizers facilitating a DART training session
DART Center photo of: An organizer presenting at a DART conference
DART Center photo of: A community organizer facilitating a training session
DART Center photo of: A Nehemiah Action in Pensacola, FL
DART Center photo of: A Nehemiah Action in Richmond, VA
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DART Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

Dart Container Logo
Dart Container

3.1

732 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 37 DART Center reviews submitted anonymously by DART Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DART Center is right for you.