DRW Reviews | Glassdoor

DRW Reviews

Updated March 4, 2019
75 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DRW Founder & CEO Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
46 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Friendly, casual, surrounded by smart people who care about what they do" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is also great" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Discretionary bonus structure within certain trading groups can be a bit opaque for younger traders" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A rare combination of trading/tech skill, diversification across trading styles, risk appetite, and market leading infrastructure. The company grew fast, and still needs to be optimized internally as a result, but it has all the ingredients to become the best prop shop in the world.

    Cons

    Discretionary bonus structure within certain trading groups can be a bit opaque for younger traders. There is a push to unify the company but at the moment some desks are siloed and/or compete internally with other desks.

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review on Glassdoor. Continuous diversification of the firm has been a focus for us, and we are glad to see that you have enjoyed that aspect, along with others, of your... More


  2. "Great office perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader
    Current Employee - Trader
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Breakfast and lunch in office every day, good amount of capital to trade with

    Cons

    Very little collaboration with traders

  3. "it depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer
    Current Employee - Software Developer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the company in itself is very good; the quality of live and direction does vary a lot depending on the group. Fixed income and commodities have gone a large transformation, so the organization is messy, draconian with constant treats of getting you fired.

    Cons

    --No life-work balance
    --The job you do is very different from the job you were hired to do; and somehow is your fault

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We understand this type of environment is not a great fit for every employee. We encourage you to talk to your manager or with a member of our recruiting team to ensure we’re meeting the expectations... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Extremely smart coworkers combined with an organization that's constantly pushing for advancements in trading and research technology. Good salary, great compensation package, casual dress code and company pays for lunch.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to hear your experience at DRW has been so positive. We thank you for your dedication over the past decade, and look forward to the years to come.


  5. "Challenging (in a good way) Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated, extremely intelligent people across the board. Great people in general from the top down. Solid innovative work is generally recognized and rewarded.

    Cons

    Expectations can be hard to meet at times and the goalposts can move. It feels less familial as the company has grown.

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor. We agree with you – we have great people across the organization and they are truly our greatest asset. As our organization grows globally, and we... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "A rare combo of smart + professional + nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time

    Pros

    When I went through the recruiting process, I was impressed by the level of intelligence of each person I met, and then realized I also just enjoyed talking with each of them. As someone who has worked in several different fintech and trading firms, I've come to appreciate that having colleagues you LIKE is a huge bonus. It was part of the reason I said yes to coming here, and it's proven a smart decision each day since. It's hard to find a blend of smart, driven and nice, but DRW actively recruits for exactly that combination, and whatever they are doing, it is working.

    As a working mom, it's also been refreshing to experience how supportive the firm has been in enabling me to manage and accelerate my career while also having the flexibility to manage my other priorities. It appears this mentality holds true whatever those "other" priorities are -- family, a passion project, etc. The people here are celebrated not just for what they bring directly to their jobs but also for the other things that make them tick.

    It's also fun to be at a place with a proven track-record and a lot of success that is still constantly innovating and seeking new opportunities. It's a dynamic place that welcomes new ideas -- from every level -- and gives bold ideas the oxygen they need to thrive where it makes sense.

    And of course, as you'd expect, the technology/hardware/perks are all awesome.

    Cons

    Growing pains that come with our global expansion and diversification can be a bit turbulent.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the things that make DRW special, especially as we navigate the challenges and opportunities that come with the substantial growth (including acquisitions) the firm has experienced in the last couple of years.

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    It’s great to hear that even in your short time here you feel supported not only as an employee but also as a parent. We will continue to do this and to empower our employees to effectively innovate... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly, casual, surrounded by smart people who care about what they do

    Cons

    Teams are somewhat broken up so you have to actively get to know people on other teams if you want to

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at DRW.

  8. "Trading Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very interesting, actually useful projects/work

    Cons

    Nothing stood out in a negative manner

    DRW Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your work. Thank you for writing a review on Glassdoor.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Lacking in tech innovation, can't attract top tier talent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader
    Former Employee - Trader
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are nice, not very high stress

    Cons

    Given that the current state of tech is moving into AI, DRW is definitely lagging at attracting top talent.

    Places like Two Sigma, HRT, Jump, Citadel, etc. are very strongly embracing AI and have amazing presence, which makes them attract high caliber PhD students, smart undergrads, etc. who then tell their smart friends, and it becomes a virtuous cycle.

    Leaving DRW doesn't really give much credential in exit options - aside from a few trading firms, nobody seems to care that you've worked at DRW. Tech doesn't care and won't put you in interesting roles such as machine learning, and other well-known firms don't really care either from interviews.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in machine learning and stop looking like a frat-house, or your only options will be hiring average employees. Other places don't hire smart people (from competitions, PhDs, etc.) because the work will always involve what they did. It's because it gives great reputation for hiring smart friends as well.

    DRW Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Attracting smart people who are good colleagues and creating a balanced workplace are high priorities at DRW. We’re glad that was your experience. We also agree AI and machine learning have a role in... More


  10. "I enjoy working with some of the smartest ppl in the city."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Smart ppl, caring atmosphere, interesting problems

    Cons

    Not really any I can think of

    DRW Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience at DRW. We’re happy to hear you enjoy the people and the work at our organization.