DRW Reviews | Glassdoor

DRW Reviews

Updated September 6, 2018
67 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DRW Founder & CEO Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
38 Ratings

67 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Trading Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very interesting, actually useful projects/work

    Cons

    Nothing stood out in a negative manner


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lacking in tech innovation, can't attract top tier talent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader
    Former Employee - Trader
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are nice, not very high stress

    Cons

    Given that the current state of tech is moving into AI, DRW is definitely lagging at attracting top talent.

    Places like Two Sigma, HRT, Jump, Citadel, etc. are very strongly embracing AI and have amazing presence, which makes them attract high caliber PhD students, smart undergrads, etc. who then tell their smart friends, and it becomes a virtuous cycle.

    Leaving DRW doesn't really give much credential in exit options - aside from a few trading firms, nobody seems to care that you've worked at DRW. Tech doesn't care and won't put you in interesting roles such as machine learning, and other well-known firms don't really care either from interviews.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in machine learning and stop looking like a frat-house, or your only options will be hiring average employees. Other places don't hire smart people (from competitions, PhDs, etc.) because the work will always involve what they did. It's because it gives great reputation for hiring smart friends as well.

    DRW Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Attracting smart people who are good colleagues and creating a balanced workplace are high priorities at DRW. We’re glad that was your experience. We also agree AI and machine learning have a role in... More

  3. "I enjoy working with some of the smartest ppl in the city."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Smart ppl, caring atmosphere, interesting problems

    Cons

    Not really any I can think of

    DRW Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience at DRW. We’re happy to hear you enjoy the people and the work at our organization.


  4. "Employee in Chicago, IL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Casual environment, great people to work with, and a collaborative and fast-paced environment (no two days are the same)

    Cons

    None, keep up the great work!

    Advice to Management

    None

    DRW Response

    Aug 13, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Glassdoor. We’re happy to hear that you’re enjoying your time at DRW.


  5. "Technical strength and open communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome pay and benefits, strong colleagues who are driven and results-oriented but in a laid-back manner(typically). Over my time I have seen some great engineers leave DRW. Though the present talent, and the draw for skilled, and pragmatic developers to join us remains exceptionally strong. I learn a ton from my colleagues. Open communication across teams and the software culture is making a comeback. I'm excited about our potential and wouldn't consider a change for the foreseeable future.

    Cons

    Nothing standing out. Nice to have more sponsored restaurant/bar/etc outings for internal teams.

    Advice to Management

    Retain the employees that helped make DRW what it is, and from my point of view - specifically senior network, security, and software engineers throughout the organization.

    DRW Response

    Jun 13, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience at DRW. Open communication and a strong culture are two areas of focus for us, and we’re glad you have seen a positive result. We’ll continue to think... More


  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Everyone is very respectful of each other.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    DRW Response

    May 7, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you, we appreciate you taking time to share your experience at DRW on Glassdoor.


  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Cash Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    DRW is an amazing company to work for. It has plenty of perks (free breakfasts and lunches, wine tastings on Fridays, company provided cell phones, cool DRW logo gear, and many more!) It's a pleasure to work with super knowledgeable co-workers and managers. Everyone is down to earth and chilled. Very laid back atmosphere. Jeans every day. Very happy to be a part of this amazing culture!

    Cons

    None at the time of review

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    DRW Response

    May 7, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience at DRW on Glassdoor. We’re pleased to know you are supported and happy in your role.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great, now it's so-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive but becoming less so. Good benefits (insurance and dental are good. free lunch. 50% 401k match. game room)

    Cons

    management has lost its way. firing of homegrown talent to bring in new people who don't fit the culture. management of developers is not good. company is more silo'd and each team more secretive than ever. they have people with no development knowledge managing developers and giving them unrealistic tasks for their timelines.

    Advice to Management

    return to your old ways

    DRW Response

    May 7, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your honest feedback.

    Our firm’s significant growth over the past few years has meant bringing in many new people, and we have found immense value in the new perspectives coming... More


  9. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It is just ok company to work

    Cons

    none at the time. I think it is normal

    DRW Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor.


  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    Great culture where there is openness about new ideas. Work life balance is also great.

    Cons

    As a result of the expansion over the past few years, the partners are less involved in the day to day management of groups. But this is the case for most large organizations. At least they are involved enough to provide support to groups to ensure their success.

    DRW Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. Being open to new ideas has always been part of the way we work, and we’re glad you experienced this during your time at DRW. As you mentioned, leaders often focus more... More


Showing 67 of 69 reviews
Reset Filters