KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Databricks

Engaged Employer

Databricks

Add a Review

Databricks Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 413 of over 434 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Just love being here at Databricks(in 66 reviews)

  • "Great culture with very good Exec(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The work/life balance is not quite there yet since this company is growing so quick(in 31 reviews)

  • "Growing pains can be a challenge(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Databricks

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting Exit Opportunities

    3d

    works at 

    IBM

    Got offer as Customer Success Engineer at Databricks that will provide 10k more than current salary. Currently a Managing Consultant at IBM with about 5 YOE+ and wondering if it'd be a wise move to transition. If so, what are some exit opportunities I could aim for at FAANG? If I am aiming for FAANG in the a few years, should I stick it out at IBM or transition into Databricks? Any help would be greatly appreciated..! 🥺

    10

    6 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Databricks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      The best place I've worked in my 27 years of technology!

      Feb 10, 2021 - Solutions Architect in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is run by, operated by, and mostly staffed by visionaries and doers. The CEO can even write code and is super comfortable showing executives how easy it is to use the product. Then openness/transparency within the organization is top notch - something I can only hope sticks around as we continue our growth. We've been able to keep the bar high and hire great people who turn out to be great team members, all resulting in a great and happy place to work.

      Cons

      With rapid growth comes growing pains - sometimes you have to ask around for an answer to something that's super new.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High Growth Company that Values Employees

      Jan 12, 2022 - Solutions Architect in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The excitement and energy within Databricks is palpable. Management prioritizes work/life balance by giving one extra day off per quarter.

      Cons

      I have heard that some people are hesitant to take PTO as they feel they have to much more to accomplish.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best of both worlds

      Jan 7, 2022 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Amazing culture *Incredibly useful technology which works and delivers big ROI * Company does the right thing and manages with an eye on the long-term health of both employees and the business * Talent is top-notch

      Cons

      Not a con, but there is lots of work to execute as company has audacious goals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, still tons of growth ahead

      Dec 25, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Interesting technical problems - Co-workers are very smart and very collaborative. Consistent high quality, unlike high variance at FAANG. - Engineering org is still small enough that you can have a lot of impact regardless of your level - Focus on building great products, cut through BS, company doesn't waste time on distractions - Well positioned for lots of future growth

      Cons

      - Technical debt from organic growth over many years, but this is also an opportunity and company is prioritizing fixing it - Internal tools could be better, but this is also an opportunity (if you work on a team that works on internal tools) and company is working on fixing it - WLB is not ideal, but also not as bad as some people say. Seems to be more a function of the kind of people Databricks hires, than something imposed by management.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company - a lot to work on

      Dec 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot to work on and people are smart and discipline here.

      Cons

      So far so good, just joined.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Rocketship

      Dec 13, 2021 - Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incredible rate of product innovation - continues to deliver more value to customers - Increased investment in operational rigor as we prepare to scale even faster - Transparent leadership culture - There's a high bar on recruiting, it's incredibly hard to find a Brickster that is not competent and dedicated to their job - Our solution is applicable to many different industries which creates compelling customer proof points no matter who you're selling to - Scheduled company days off that help employees to recharge - Tremendous career opportunities, we are growing so fast that if you display hard work and dedication, you will get opportunities to move up or transition to a different role if you so choose There are many, many people that have been at Databricks for three, four, five-plus years. This shows you that this is a company you can build your career at.

      Cons

      - You will be asked to do a lot. The pace is very fast here. If you're not ready to bring it every week, you will fall behind

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company

      Dec 13, 2021 - Senior Manager Product Management in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When you run through multiple loops, searching for that next best thing, it's not only them interviewing you, it's also you interviewing them. Databricks was one of the five in my panel and was the only one w/zero red flags. I was impressed by pretty much the entire process and especially by the level of talent. Greatness attracts greatness, so if you are looking for that set of people and challenges to solve, come interview here and make up your own mind.

      Cons

      If you are coming from a mature company, you'll have to spend some time figuring out how their IT systems piece together. It's not bad, but it's also not (yet) turn key.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to work

      Dec 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is quite transparent and the talent here is impressive.

      Cons

      As the company is getting big and gaining customers, we are internally introducing a bunch of processes which can get overwhelming sometimes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Incredible Experience

      Dec 13, 2021 - Instructional Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I feel like I am surrounded by the "best of the best" talent on my team - My onboarding experience was really strong compared to other companies I've been at; I had a custom agenda, and I understood what I needed to do in order to "ramp up" to my real work - I have a clear understanding of my role and how I contribute to the overall success of the company - The perks and benefits are PHENOMENAL; frankly, if for no other reason than this, I will stay loyal to this company

      Cons

      - None so far - everything is wonderful!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company on a mission

      Dec 13, 2021 - Staff Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a new employee I felt like the company is on a mission and everyone is supper energized.

      Cons

      Didn’t get to meet lots of people in person.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 413 Reviews

    Databricks Reviews FAQs

    94% of Databricks employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Databricks 4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.6 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Databricks to be benefits, career development, senior leadership and the cons to be workplace, work life balance, management.

    Popular Careers with Databricks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Databricks? Share Your Experiences

    or