Diamondback Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Diamondback Energy Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
21%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Diamondback Energy CEO Travis D. Stice (no image)
Travis D. Stice
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Loved the people and work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was a great place to work. I really enjoyed the challenges.

    Cons

    Too bad it was sold and split up into pieces and people laid off.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2019-06-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A truly disappointing experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Midland, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k match Insurance Area teams worked well. Some very good employees. A few good Senior Managers but some deadwood too.

    Cons

    A few hypersensitive, vicious, tattle tales. Never seen anything like it. A few in management are in over their head. Lack of focus. Poor work ethic not called out. Sweat shop for committed worker bees. Organizational structure was ignored by many. Unnecessarily political. Cliquey. Pet projects that lost money and select poor performers could not be criticized.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2020-03-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Worst of the WORST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AP Coder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time

    Pros

    That you work half the day on Friday. Great benefits put not worth it.

    Cons

    That if you don't come from Chesapeake you don't have a chance to stay.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2020-01-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Nepotism at It’s Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Casual attire *Half-day Fridays *Ease/access of location

    Cons

    *Compensation is below industry standard *Inability to promote from within *Uncompensated overtime required *Unrealistic deadlines and expectations *Untrustworthy management *Nepotism *Micromanaging *Unprecedented reprimands *Toxic work environment (poor communication, office drama, bad attitudes, gossip, emotionally unstable leadership, no acknowledgement of a job well done) *Dropping stock price

    Diamondback Energy2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Do yourself a favor and stay away... if you're looking at Accounting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a growing company and has opportunities in the non-accounting areas.

    Cons

    Stay away from accounting! Leadership is petty and immature. There are pockets within accounting that are okay but they are few and far between.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "CHRO needs to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, mostly great leadership team. CEO & President really seem to care about the employees.

    Cons

    No teamwork in the HR function and it bleeds down in to the rest of the company. HR Advisors are promoted simply because they kiss up and not because they are ready for the promotion. HR function now includes Administration and Facilities...and none are being done well.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2019-08-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "A true short story of how I ended up in the position I'm in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Order Tech II/Lease Administrative Tech II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was the people until they started holding my mental illness over my head.

    Cons

    -Wasn't allowed to use "My PTO" as needed, got denied twice when I was having a panic attack/episode at work -Claim they promote from within, but I spent 3 years in one department and had at least 5 people hired in over me, some who couldn't even do the work I was doing as a tech -Made up a new position for us techs so I went from a Division Order Tech I to a Division Order Tech II (isn't that called a Division Order Analyst??) you know the next step up from Division Order Tech??

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2019-07-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about employees or doing a job well, just get the job done. People are promoted to supervisor simply because they threaten to leave.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Great company except in OKC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diamondback Energy full-time

    Pros

    The company has a great leader and continues to have strong performance overall and significant growth. Benefits are great. Most of the people I worked with were great and I considered them friends. The company is still relatively young and there is a lot of excitement and entrepreneurial spirit.

    Cons

    The headquarters in Midland seemed like a good place to work, but I would avoid working in the OKC office if at all possible. The controller is petty and insecure, constantly blaming others and inexplicably turning against good employees in an attempt to get them to quit (I think?). It was depressing seeing the organization empower someone who was hurting the company and turning the OKC office into a miserable place to be employed. I really wanted to stay at Diamondback long term.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2018-06-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "At Diamondback there is no room to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diamondback Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my current manager. She is great and always willing to teach and help.

    Cons

    Higher management is terrible. They seem to be oblivious to the bad culture and don't care about employees.

    Continue reading
    Diamondback Energy2018-06-21
Found 19 reviews