Donegal Insurance Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Donegal Insurance Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Kevin G. Burke
2 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fantastic management. No micromanaging. Leniency and encouragement to have a work-life balance.

    Cons

    Hard to obtain promotion without relocating to the home office in Pennsylvania.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Donegal Insurance Group2018-07-19
  2. "Great place to work. They make you feel like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cobol Programmer Analyst in Marietta, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    It's a great place to work. People are very friendly and easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Overall I have no complaints. They have always treated me fairly.

    Advice to Management

    Share more on company direction.

    Donegal Insurance Group2019-03-02
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Relationship Manager in Marietta, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Very stable solid company to worfor

    Cons

    Can be very demanding at times

    Donegal Insurance Group2019-04-04
  4. "Claims Rep Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, but cost rise each year Stable company

    Cons

    Management is not up to par Promotions are not based of job performance

    Advice to Management

    Be better then average, I know you can do it

    Donegal Insurance Group2019-01-25
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Donegal Insurance Group full-time

      Pros

      Overall great company to work for.

      Cons

      Sometimes hard to advance depending on your department.

      Donegal Insurance Group2018-09-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company but average due to Poor Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Property in Duluth, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, good work environment and very competitive pay.

      Cons

      A company is only as good as the management and Donegal suffers from very poor management, specifically in Property. Old fashion company that has not adjusted to the current times, great deal of micro managing within property, no faith in employees making claims decisions despite vast experience within the unit, low level technology, and employees are not treated with professional courtesy.

      Advice to Management

      Make changes in management to create a better work environment, upgrade technology, and simply be more progressive with the current claims business trends.

      Donegal Insurance Group2018-02-23
    • Helpful (4)

      "I would love my job if I didn’t have the workload of 2 people."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great schedule and the benefits are also good. Opportunity to learn and handle more complex claims as you gain experience.

      Cons

      Volume has increased exponentially over the last decade yet the number of people in the claims department is the same. I currently have 210 open claims. There’s a lot of talk about customer service, but no way for the employees to provide it when we’re buried under phone calls and emails we can’t possibly reply to. Also the definition of a dead end job. Zero advancement opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      Hire an appropriate number of adjusters! You’re about to start losing good people because we will only put up with this workload for so long before leaving.

      Donegal Insurance Group2018-02-09
    • "Overall good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - WC Claims Adjuster in Marietta, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Work life balance. Great benefits, bonus, provided. Nice coworkers. Provides a great foundation. Decent pay.

      Cons

      Little room for advancement- partially because opportunity isn't given, but hand picked. Little flexibility. Lacking in technology.

      Advice to Management

      Post positions. Give everyone the same opportunities.

      Donegal Insurance Group2017-08-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company to Work For, just needs some modernization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Underwriter in Marietta, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Donegal Insurance Group full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Safe Company, good pay, good bonus structure, nice campus, very intelligent workforce, alot of opportunity to grow and learn. I really enjoyed my time at Donegal and would definately consider returning should a position arise.

      Cons

      Old school mentality, no work from home or flexible scheduling option. Micromanagement.No tuition reimbursement outside of insurance classes.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees, allow them to work from home or have a flexible schedule. So many people that I saw leave in my time there were under 30. These are bright young adults that are going to be needed as senior management retires.

      Donegal Insurance Group2016-12-28
    • Helpful (10)

      "Solid company but old-fashioned culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Donegal Insurance Group

      Pros

      --Decent pay and benefits --Very generous sick plan --Stable & profitable company --Great cafeteria with a real chef --Employee appreciation events --Nice bonus plan --Nice building and spacious workstations

      Cons

      --Very old-fashioned culture --Rigid rules & not very flexible --Dress up every day --Monotonous work --Old school mentality (It's a boys club) --Difficult to form strong co-worker relationships --Out-dated systems software --Not very accommodating during inclement weather --Initial job training was lacking --Not a fun environment. Very boring in fact.

      Advice to Management

      Get out of the 1970's, it's a different world now. If you want to attract the best & the brightest and hold onto them long-term you need to offer better perks. Offer flexible scheduling, work from home options, relaxed dress code, career paths and corporate sponsored continuing education. Work on your culture -- I felt very uncomfortable the entire time I worked there. Update your computer systems and throw away that...

      Show More
      Donegal Insurance Group2016-08-12
    Found 26 reviews