KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Donegal Insurance Group

Engaged Employer

Donegal Insurance Group

Add a Review

Donegal Insurance Group Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 50 reviews

4.2
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Donegal Insurance Group President and CEO Kevin G. Burke
Kevin G. Burke
14 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    The Future is Bright!!!

    Feb 18, 2021 - Siu Desk Investigator in Marietta, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I recently accepted a position with Donegal to be the new SIU Desk Investigator. A little over a year ago, I applied and lost out on a SIU position. I had researched the company prior to applying and knew this is where I wanted to bring my experience and end my career. After working over 17 years in Law Enforcement I had wanted to take my experience and apply it to not only fraud investigations but primarily insurance fraud investigations. I researched companies and found that Donegal not only has an outstanding review from employees but people stay after they are hired. They are also huge into community outreach donating millions of dollars to worthy causes and events. This was a big thing for me because I spent a portion of my career donating time and effort to community events with the Police Force. I'm thoroughly looking forward to beginning my career.

    Cons

    LOL. If I find one, I'll let you know

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small Business Feel

    Sep 24, 2021 - Senior Claims Adjuster in Athens, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Athens GA office is a great office and so much communication within the staff. The main/head office in Pennsylvania also provides helpful information, motivation, and opportunities. You are offered assistance continuously and always feel appreciated.

    Cons

    None I am able to think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to Work!

    Aug 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401(k) match and vacation time are good. Plus yearly bonus potential. The Company supports designations and career development. Plus you can take institute exams onsite. If you put in the time and hard work, you can defiantly be rewarded with growth opportunities. In Marietta, there is a committee that does events for employees which have included a fall food truck picnic, St Patty's Day breakfast, and cupcakes to celebrate the company's birthday. There is also a gym for employees to use along with a Wellness committee. If you are looking to volunteer in the community, Donegal offers events through the Marketing team that you can participate in. Offers some flexibility for WFH arrangements and has some remote positions available.

    Cons

    An employer contribution for the HSA would be a good addition to the benefit package.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    New and loving it!

    Sep 1, 2021 - Business Relationship Manager in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Donegal is a growing company with endless possibilities with the vision of Sr. Leadership. Donegal offers a flexible work environment along with a positive culture. Donegal seems to be investing in their employees along with investing in the infrastructure of the company.

    Cons

    n/a At t his time, there are not a lot of cons to report. COVID slowed my onboarding a bit. Lucky to be part of the team!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Sep 23, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. Get things done

    Cons

    Smaller company but that can also be a pro

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sweat Shop , Old Boys Club - stay away!!!

    Sep 23, 2021 - Commercial Underwriter in Marietta, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are nice but very old fashioned

    Cons

    Outdated policies. Horrible workflow management. Entire processing department should be fired - useless, un-intelligent, and incompetent. They make more work for underwriters. Old boy’s club. Zero women or minorities in n upper management. Too many business development reps. High HIGH underwriter turnover because they are over worked. It seems hunky dory at first. But they are stuck in the 17th century - need a major overhaul to improve. Better to pursue career elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Wonderful Company!

    Aug 20, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been an employee with Donegal for 6 years and only have great things to say! Between the amazing benefits, pay and flexibility this is just a great company to work for!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    Aug 31, 2021 - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company wants their employees to succeed. They encourage development.

    Cons

    smaller company so can take time to advance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great for experience but not long term

    Sep 5, 2021 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefit package is fairly standard, not leading the market for recruitment. Provides decent access to training opportunities within insurance field and movement for entry-level with college degree.

    Cons

    High turnover Managers out of touch Should do a 360 evaluation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor Management

    Nov 18, 2020 - Underwriter in Marietta, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some people who really do care about their job and the people they work with daily, but most do not. Middle management is nice to the people that suck up to them, but not the ones who continuously work their butts off.

    Cons

    Poor training. They have manuals, but they are constantly changing the rules without actually updating the manuals. Even once you are a seasoned underwriter you are constantly being micromanaged. The office reminds me of high school with how much drama and cliques there are. Managers will reject your PTO request months in advance with the excuse that they need more coverage, but then approve another employee's PTO for the same day (without it being an emergency). You feel guilty about using any time off and if you are gone you have an absolute disaster to come back to. Some managers care about their employees, but since the company as a whole only looks at numbers and not what or how well someone is doing it doesn't matter. They encourage quantity over quality every time. It is a good ol' boys club and no room for upward mobility. They do not appreciate the honest and open discussion, instead, they want people who will nod and say the idea is great.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

Popular Careers with Donegal Insurance Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Donegal Insurance Group? Share Your Experiences

Donegal Insurance Group logo
or