DoubleDown Interactive Reviews | Glassdoor

DoubleDown Interactive Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Joe Sigrist
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, tons of perks, snacks, company events, excellent game room(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disconnect between parent company and local office(in 4 reviews)

  • "What used to be a fast moving, exciting company to work for turned into a place where people come to collect paychecks, eat snacks, and not much else(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people are fantastic and there is a lot of flexibility to learn and try new things.

      Cons

      Like with every workplace sometimes information is in silos between the groups - but there are a lot of people actively working on this problem.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-04-03
    • "Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DoubleDown Interactive

      Pros

      Culture, company events, free snacks and breakfast.

      Cons

      lack of technical challenge for engineering roles.

      DoubleDown Interactive2019-04-10
    • "Getting Better Every Day"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

      Pros

      DDI has had a rough time being acquired three times in 6 years, but things are looking up and getting better every day. Now that we're out from under the prior parent company things are improving, but we have a long road ahead of us. The new owners need to make more rapid decisions and embrace the US culture and way of doing business.

      Cons

      We need a solid vision and road-map for the next 3-5 years in order to see where we're going so employees can rally behind plans. Employees have become complacent from their experience under the prior parent company.

      Advice to Management

      More communication, more transparency. We're a small private company now. Open up the lines of communication and involve us all in the goals.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-12-27
    • "Great Community of Coworkers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

      Pros

      The people are great! There's a real sense of camaraderie. Great opportunities to make friends with your peers. Lots of fun social events.

      Cons

      Disconnect between parent company and local office. Constant re-org.ing and pretty high attrition. Employee retention was an issue.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-12-14
    • "Engineering commitment towards product reliability and standards"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

      Pros

      Nice people to work with. Employees are treated well.

      Cons

      High ranking engineering directors are not well adept to software engineering thus, lack of vision of what is next.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-11-29
    • "Don't be fooled..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

      Pros

      Wednesday breakfasts and endless snacks.

      Cons

      What used to be a fast moving, exciting company to work for turned into a place where people come to collect paychecks, eat snacks, and not much else. Senior leadership does not lead nor do they produce anything of value. The good talent eventually burns out from senior leadership politics and ultimately leave the company.

      Advice to Management

      Do the opposite of what you're doing. Put the politics aside, build an actual plan/strategy for the company, and be leaders.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-11-24
    • "Fun, great people, fun product, good tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead User Experience Designer in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people to work with, good new product development.

      Cons

      New ownership again, but I am optimistic.

      Advice to Management

      Fun to work with, good management, I really enjoy my job.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-08-30
    • "Freedom to be creative, great colleagues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of support for creative ideas and innovation in our team. Great opportunities and support for learning. Good balance of small and big company experience: freedom to be creative (small) but with stability of the larger parent org.

      Cons

      Some teams seem to experience frustration and/or difficulty with pushing new features.

      Advice to Management

      Support your employees' creativity and learning.

      DoubleDown Interactive2017-03-01
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

        Pros

        Professional and friendly teammates, good office location for link and train users, comfortable workplaces

        Cons

        Sometimes office too crowded .

        Advice to Management

        Be in shape, listen to your employees sometimes

        DoubleDown Interactive2017-02-01
      • Helpful (2)

        "Mixed bag ..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at DoubleDown Interactive full-time

        Pros

        The offices are in a good location and the perks are decent. Work/Life balance is very good - the vast majority of people are in the office for ~6 hours a day. The company is profitable, so there has been good job security. From a technology perspective, there's plenty of expose to cutting edge tech.

        Cons

        There are some pretty significant issues with product and engineering leadership. The wrong people in place and there is a lack of cohesive product vision and development organization. Back stabbing and unnecessary conflict are too common.

        Advice to Management

        Product needs vision beyond copying competitors. Learn how to create a product backlog and write a user story. Engineering needs to address the turf wars and adopt a real development methodology. Stop putting the biggest talkers/egos in leadership positions.

        DoubleDown Interactive2016-12-09
      Found 53 reviews