DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
DreamWorks Animation President Margie Cohn  (no image)
Margie Cohn
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, free breakfast and lunch, great bonuses, and flexible hours(in 69 reviews)

  • "Free food (but the food sucks after a year)(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not much other than semi-low pay(in 17 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management planning and tendency to give irrelevant notes(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Producer 

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch Beautiful Campus People are awesome

    Cons

    Not a lot here. Some projects are more desirable than others.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-21
  2. "Character Animator for Feature Film"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Animator in Glendale, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Free food isn't bad either!

    Cons

    Deadlines seem to get tighter and tighter for each show.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-05-24
  3. "Toxic Social Culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice campus Good benefits More stability vs most other studios...for now

    Cons

    Rampant favoritism. Certain people are the 'golden employees'. Everything they do is considered to be perfect, while everything you do will be questioned. Toxic coworkers - people here can be hostile and childish. They gossip, and make new employees like me feel very unwelcome. It's a bubble - Dreamworks only values experience within the company, and seems to view outside experience as irrelevant. As someone with 7 years industry experience, I'm viewed as less competent that someone with 1 year experience because they've been with the company longer. Subpar pay - LA is extremely expensive. The salary is good by most standards, but isn't remotely close to justifying the exorbitant cost of living, where the average price for a home near Glendale is $800k. Additionally, you have to pay to join the guild to work there, which is a financial burden. The benefits you get with the guild are no different from any other reputable company -health insurance, 401k, etc. But at other companies you don't have to pay thousands of dollars in union dues to access those benefits.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-05-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "DWTV - You realize how bad the company is once you leave"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food (but the food sucks after a year) - The people are great - Nice campus! - You learn a lot under tight deadlines. - They try to keep you on for another project. - Cool events.

    Cons

    - Very low pay compared to other studios. They tend to hire new people so they can pay them less. - I've seen many of my friends taken advantage of and asked to do tasks above their paygrade/position, but not get the promotion/pay bump. - Poor upper management planning and tendency to give irrelevant notes. None of the execs have creative backgrounds and it does ruin the show. - No risk taking - shows come out pretty... bad. - Not enough development/smart planning time to make a show successful. - It's a constant repetitive grind with inflexible deadlines. - Budgets are very tight.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-04-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "3D Modeler"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modeler in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The collaborative culture of the modeling department here is really amazing and creates a joyful and nurturing work environment. The talent of the team is also world class. DreamWorks studio culture overall is phenomenal and unparalleled. Artistic development and training programs are much appreciated. Work/life balance is fantastic.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility. Studio perks seem to be trending downwards under NBCU leadership

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Part Is The People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People are all amiable to work with. - Good work life balance - Good day to day work

    Cons

    - Company's brand name is not as strong as it used to be. - Path for career advancement can be vague

    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-10
  7. "Perfect"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Animator 

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay good money and you get free lunch

    Cons

    Not to many 2d animations I would like to work on

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "3D Modeler"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Modeler in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some cool project, free lunch, Some nice people, talented co workers.

    Cons

    Back stabbers, favoritism, racist, abusive culture, free lunch is good but sometimes you feel like your in jail. long work hours, bad communication.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-11
  9. "A very good place to learn new technologies"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    I have had the best years of my career at Dreamworks Animation. The pay package was good, We have had good management which took care of employees

    Cons

    Nothing I could think of about job or management

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-01-09
  10. "Retire here"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Glendale, CA

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The campus is beautiful. No long hours and very low stress.

    Cons

    There's no clear vision or development goals. Bureaucracy leads to stagnation and apathy.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-01-22
Found 434 reviews