KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Dwell

Is this your company?

Dwell

Add a Review

Dwell Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 55 reviews

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Dwell CEO Zach Klein (no image)
Zach Klein
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The Proof Is in the People

    Oct 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dwell consists of talented, hardworking, and thoughtful individuals who are all a treat to work alongside. The environment is inspiring, and the company’s mission—to show how good design can bring about positive change—is at the forefront of every decision across all departments.

    Cons

    The organization is fairly small for the ground we cover, which occasionally leaves some stones unturned. Read: there is opportunity to both grow the company, and bring in new talent to both pick up slack and tread uncharted territory.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for! Strong entrepreneurial spirit

    Oct 22, 2021 - Director of Product Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dwell is a fantastic place to work. The team is passionate, driven and entrepreneurial. We're a team of about 30 people, and growing. Our core teams are Product (which creates, maintains, and expands dwell.com), Sales (which takes our website and Dwell magazine to market for advertising), and Editorial (which creates the unique content that readers have loved for the last 20 years, for both the magazine and the website). I love working with this company because you very often get to collaborate across teams. No one is in the dark as to what the company goals and initiatives are, and I feel like everyone on the team knows the immense value they bring to the company. Dwell is all about good design and the positive impact it can have on personal life and society at large. It's a pleasure to work with my Dwell colleagues to execute on that company mission. My favorite part of working on the Product team: iterating on, and growing, our digital subscription, Dwell+. We launched it just a couple years ago and it has quickly become a rocket ship for our business.

    Cons

    I've been with the company longer than most of our current team has, nearly six years. I've seen various versions of Dwell as a company in that time. When I first joined, leadership and company strategy was simply not well enough defined or executed upon, resulting in some stumbles and impacts on morale. I feel like I'm in a unique and qualified position to say that Dwell has come an incredibly long way as a company in that time. The Dwell of today is simply a different, far better company than it used to be. So, while I don't have any "Cons" to speak of, I feel like the only thing holding us back from continued excellence is hiring more great people to join the team!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great experience!

    Jun 18, 2021 - Communications Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    creative, fun, and innovative job. lots of networking and meeting many people in the industry

    Cons

    low paying, not much room for growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best of Both Worlds

    Feb 12, 2021 - Creative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company is design-driven and makes products that people love. Our NPS is 70+ and the glowing feedback we get from our customers is hugely motivating. I like that we compete as both a media company and a tech company: we still print a magazine, but also build apps that help people discover how to make great spaces to live.

    Cons

    Relatively small team so everyone wears a lot of hats. That can lead to a lot of interesting learning challenges, but it also stretches us too thin to achieve a sustainable work/life balance. That said, management is recruiting a large number of open roles this year to address this issue, and I hope they do.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good company

    May 3, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great hour’s flexibility great management

    Cons

    None really I found it a good experience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing space with such creative and kind people

    Feb 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The opportunities and growth are up to you, management will listen and help guide you. Everyone at Dwell is so kind, and willing to help train!

    Cons

    Understaffed so work can be a bit stressful but as a team we get everything done and meet deadlines.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Appreciate your employees

    Dec 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We have a great mangement team.

    Cons

    Upper management needs to appreciate there employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Dwell Response

    Hello, we believe you intended this review for a different company. Can you please confirm you meant to review Dwell based in SF and NY that publishes Dwell.com and Dwell Magazine? If not, could you please remove this review? Thank you.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Solid!

    Jun 17, 2020 - Associate Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is very passionate about their work, and there's a lot of opportunity for growth. Zach Klein has really made Dwell a more cohesive, creative team.

    Cons

    Different departments can feel disconnected at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Blegh

    Sep 2, 2020 - Social Media Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    Honestly there are too many

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Oct 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent and talented chief revenue officer

    Cons

    Constantly in flux, but to be expected for an independently owned company

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

Popular Careers with Dwell Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Dwell? Share Your Experiences

Dwell logo
or