Ellsworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Ellsworth Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Inventory Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ellsworth part-time

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and work environment

    Cons

    Limited location and not much else

    Ellsworth2018-12-06
  2. "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ellsworth full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package. If you want to sell glue, and don't mind the 2-5 years it takes to learn/be comfortable with their computer programs, this may be the company for you.

    Cons

    It is true that this is a family owned company, however the management style is big corporation all the way.

    Ellsworth2019-03-26
  3. "Too Much Work / Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Specialist in Germantown, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ellsworth full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Quarterly Bonus, Health Insurance, 401K

    Cons

    If you are considering applying for this job or that of a customer service position, be aware management will have many expectations of you! These expectations apply to most people however, some are excluded. You not only have to enter quotes, orders, returns but you have to answer the phone on the first ring, confirm costs with various internal buyers (make sure you get all the info correct or else you may be scolded),...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Annual bonus is unfair if you have an unmotivated salesperson.

    Ellsworth2019-03-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ellsworth full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, fun activities, friendly, and overall positive environment.

    Cons

    Like any company there are cons to working here. The only issue I had was not being able to responses from suppliers and management does not seem to care even though it's a large part of the business and my former role.

    Advice to Management

    Push suppliers' response time be quicker, possibly implement penalties.

    Ellsworth2018-11-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work- Privately Owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipping/Receiving Clerk III in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellsworth full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Growing market presents. Advancement opportunities, amazing co-workers. Ownership (Paul & Patsy Ellsworth) are still active in day to day activities after 45 years. Business has been around 45 years and has grown every year and will continue to grow which equals job security’s. Benefits Package is good. Bonuses and Profit sharing

    Cons

    Once management has a opinion of you it stays with you forever. Pay is based of your Job Titles “Market Analysis” and if you bring it up to HR, all they say is we are right where we should be for your job title. Never considering most locations employees take on several rolls. Employees keep knowledge to themselves not wanting to teach others. Teamwork is not a word. You better figure away to accomplish what your doing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let each division of the business make there own choices. Every choice does not need to be approved bye the mothership- Germantown. Have faith in you employees, your hired us, it is ok to believe in us. Management needs to be more hands on, come to the warehouse/ production area before you make chooses that effect production without are input. We are the ones that know the warehouse/production.

    Ellsworth2018-07-06
  6. "Could be worse, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Administrator in Germantown, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellsworth full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pretty standard small company, newish building

    Cons

    No career growth potential, bare minimum PTO, average pay

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to reward good employees

    Ellsworth2018-07-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Service Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ellsworth full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Innovative technology. The overall benefits package is great!

    Cons

    There needs to be better communication between corporate office and other divisions. Horrible work-life balance. Pay is on the low end, but when you bring it up to HR they say "market analysis" shows we are right where we should be.

    Advice to Management

    Owners: Take the time to get to know your other companies and how they are being run and represented.

    Ellsworth2018-04-13
  8. "Was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ellsworth full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, co-workers, benefits,

    Cons

    limited opportunities for advancement, once management has an opinion of you, it stays with you.

    Advice to Management

    When I originally started there, it was a true team concept. Managers who promoted that team concept some of them were let go and new ones were hired. This is when the culture started to change. It became a lot more cutthroat and everyone start to look out only for themselves. My advice to management go back to the team concept and gut the managers who are not apart of promoting the concept

    Ellsworth2017-10-04
  9. "Nice company in Germantown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ellsworth full-time

      Pros

      Amazing people, very smart and committed!

      Cons

      Slow to accept and implement change.

      Ellsworth2017-07-20
    • Helpful (3)

      "Long time worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Ellsworth full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      We can wear shoes without nylons or socks

      Cons

      What was I thinking, I have a college degree, just a drone to them

      Advice to Management

      Why bother

      Ellsworth2017-07-03
    Found 48 reviews