KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Elsevier

Part of RELX
Engaged Employer

Elsevier

Add a Review

Elsevier Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,171 of over 1,343 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and freedom to work(in 151 reviews)

  • "Flexible working available that allows a good work/life balance(in 79 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not enough communication with senior management(in 40 reviews)

  • "upper management arrogance if you get a bad onr(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Elsevier and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Great Company to Work for, doing Work that Truly Matters on Global Scale

      Mar 12, 2021 - Database Administrator III in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work we do here truly benefits humanity!

      Cons

      Being such a big company, new hires inbound from measurably smaller scale enterprise (especially those coming from a small to medium sized startup, for example) may feel "like a single drop in the bucket" - but that feeling will not last. Once anyone gets to know the culture of Elsevier, and the importance of the work we do day to day, anyone will soon only wish we could do even more!

      1 person found this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for sharing your experience here. At Elsevier, we strive for a great work culture that will inspire authenticity and your best work. Thank you for taking part in the journey with us.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Jul 27, 2021 - Journal Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company nice work place and no micro management

      Cons

      No change of roles before completing 2 years

      1 person found this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Stable employer

      Sep 22, 2021 - Senior Technical Project Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, good benefits, very supportive colleagues

      Cons

      Little/no room for advancement without relocation, clueless executive management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for your review.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Senior Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good profits, smart leaders, great culture

      Cons

      Not really applicable as things were great

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      many thanks for leaving your review.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Work Environment

      Sep 18, 2021 - Business Development Representative in Gainesville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment and friendly colleagues

      Cons

      Entirely remote due to covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thanks very much for your review.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 14, 2021 - Health Systems Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great people, strong comp for your performance.

      Cons

      Like any job in sales, there can be a lot of pressure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thanks very much for leaving a review.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Elsevier data analyst

      Sep 15, 2021 - Data Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is relaxed - no stress, good work-life balance

      Cons

      The salary is low compared to other tech companies, benefits are not the best

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for leaving us your review. Compensation is always a hot topic in any industry. Here at Elsevier, we benchmark our salaries externally, we use both a general benchmark and Technology specific benchmark to ensure we stay competitive.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Smart people, below market salary, not much career opportunities

      Sep 24, 2021 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Intelligent capable colleagues who are passionate about what they do.

      Cons

      Low pay, not much opportunity for movement

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for leaving us your review. We offer competitive rates plus an array of great benefits. Through organizational commitment, we take a combined approach to our people's growth and professional development strategies. We empower them to see RELX and our sister companies as well as Elsevier a huge job marketplace for them to explore. We also provide the resources and opportunities to manage our people's career development. If you are unsure of any of these, we ask that you speak to your manager and your HR business support. They will provide you with the support that you need.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Superficial benefits instead of fair pay

      Sep 23, 2021 - Production Associate in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respectful environment between colleagues, flexible working hours, lots of company-sponsored social events, lots of upward mobility

      Cons

      Low pay, minimal assistance offered for employees with invisible disabilities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for your review. We offer a competitive package and an array of benefits and we benchmark our salaries externally with competitors. We take your review about employees with invisible disabilities seriously because we remain committed to promoting and enabling equal opportunity and care, regardless of disability status, gender identity, national origin, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, age etc., at every level in our organization. We encourage you to reach out to us at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com to provide more information.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good company to work for

      Sep 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Does work which matters globally, in the life science and physical sciences space

      Cons

      Salaries at junior levels can be higher

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Elsevier Response

      Elsevier Rep

      Thank you for your review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,171 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Elsevier Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Elsevier? Share Your Experiences

    or