Elsevier Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great People, Great Product & Great Future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphics Coordinator in Chennai

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge market opportunity, strong & passionate teammates & transparent leadership. There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning This is the best company I've worked for in my whole career. I am genuinely excited to come to work and see my colleagues, and work together to build on the opportunities.

    Cons

    I don't see any Cons

    Elsevier2019-12-23

    Elsevier Response

    December 23, 2019Elsevier Rep

    Thank you very much for your review.

  2. "Good place to work for new grad"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid PTO Solid Management Delicious Snacks Good Benefits

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Elsevier2019-11-18

    Elsevier Response

    January 27, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible Marketing Management Team"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Solutions Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Existing brand Many offices in varying locations

    Cons

    Human Resources Marketing Management Lack of regional strategy

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-05-07

    Elsevier Response

    May 13, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. We want you to feel empowered in your position to discuss any ongoing issues with the business groups you mentioned under the 'Cons' section. As much as we would like to investigate the issues, we need more information more than just the names of the units from you. At Elsevier, all our employees are empowered and trusted to speak up because we are united in recognising the important role all our employees play to ensure that we continue to work in a great environment. We value and consider all feedback and we'll continue to find ways to improve as an organization. If you are open to connecting anonymously, feel free to reach out to us at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com

  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Education Specialist 

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful people. Decent pay. Good vacation

    Cons

    Lack of training. Lack CRM.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-04-28

    Elsevier Response

    May 13, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and encourage you to speak to your manager about any task related challenges and how to we could come together and address them. If you'd rather connect anonymously, feel free to reach out to us at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com

  5. "Clinical Content Analyst Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture and parental leave. The workspace is nice too.

    Cons

    It is a high pace work environment

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-04-12

    Elsevier Response

    May 13, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  6. "Elsevier Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Opportunities for Advancement, Stability, known worldwide

    Cons

    Salaries do not seem to be competitive, benefits recently changes and seem to be less than before

    Elsevier2020-04-01

    Elsevier Response

    May 13, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. We offer a competitive salary and benefits.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Inefficient, under resourced, silos everywhere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clearly catering to millennials to attract “younger talent”;

    Cons

    Managers are insecure, over complicate things, & create toxic environments. So much bureaucracy and no real training for anything. If you are smart and speak up you’ll be pushed back or out if you don’t fall in line. Short sighted, business silos everywhere; lack of resources and outsourcing everything; Medical benefits are terrible and get worse each year

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-03-25

    Elsevier Response

    March 31, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that in your 3 to 4 years of working with us, your experience hasn't been what we want for any of our employees. We take your review seriously and that you partake in helping us to build an environment that is supportive, nurturing and inclusive for all our employees by allowing us to help delve into these issues further. Contact us anonymously at elseviergdrev@elsevier.com if you wish to discuss things further.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Meh"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, and pays well.

    Cons

    You are a number and you are disposable.

    Elsevier2020-03-13

    Elsevier Response

    April 1, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thanks for leaving your review. We have 8,000 employees worldwide and all of them contribute daily to the success of our organization. Our people are our strength and we always appreciate the purposeful work that they do to support our customers and partners in healthcare, research, science and technology.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advertising Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life flexibility is great

    Cons

    internal promotions are not common

    Elsevier2020-03-04

    Elsevier Response

    May 13, 2020Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review.

  10. Helpful (6)

    "You're a number to the CIO"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Employees on the ground are friendly, kind, engaging Well located US offices Work life balance is very good CEO is a breath of fresh air Fruit in the offices

    Cons

    401k!!! See the other reviews Too many egos in senior management. Almost no collaboration between product and tech executives Tech senior leadership treated people like numbers in Dayton

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2020-03-10
Found 880 reviews