Elwyn Reviews | Glassdoor

Elwyn Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Charles Chuck McLister
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Little accountability for direct care staff(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Happy to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Media, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Elwyn full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great people and service mission! Currently implementing a lot of positive changes at all levels, focused on best practices throughout the organization. Seeing many things getting better and plans coming together.

    Cons

    Space issues due to growth (but it is being addressed now).

    Elwyn2018-11-20

    Elwyn Response

    April 2, 2019Executive Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your Glassdoor review. We're happy to hear that you are happy to work here, and we are thrilled to hear that you see many things are getting better. We appreciate your feedback on office space. We are happy to hear that you feel it is being addressed now.

  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Therapeutic Staff Support in Allentown, PA

      I worked at Elwyn part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Elwyn compensates their workers fairly.

      Cons

      It seemed as though staff at Elwyn wasn't extremely valued.

      Elwyn2019-04-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Health care associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Health Care Associate in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Elwyn full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Health benefits was okay if you were in the union

      Cons

      Low pay, bad union, no raises

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to treat your employees

      Elwyn2019-04-02
    • "Elwyn Group Home Experience Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Group Home Counselor in Blackwood, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Elwyn part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rewarding work and one which allows the staff to form a relationship

      Cons

      Short Staffed and constantly looking to fill positions.

      Elwyn2019-02-24

      Elwyn Response

      April 1, 2019Executive Director, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you very much for your feedback. We're happy to hear that your work experience with us was rewarding. We are sorry to hear that you felt we were short staffed. We strive to always have ample staff to meet the needs of our individuals and our employees.

    • "Good company going through lots of transition"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Elwyn full-time

        Pros

        Company is eager to improve

        Cons

        Not the most organized company

        Elwyn2019-02-11

        Elwyn Response

        April 1, 2019Executive Director, Talent Acquisition

        Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback & acknowledgement that we are eager to improve. We want to be a premier provider, and we acknowledge that there will be changes as we do so. We understand & appreciate that everyone's experience with change is unique. We ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (1)

        "First Job out of Grad School`"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist in Philadelphia, PA

        I have been working at Elwyn full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Flexibility: scheduling, creative session planning, self directed work style encouraged.

        Cons

        Lack of support in the field, you are really on your own and need to wear many hats to do right by families(case manager, social worker, etc.)

        Advice to Management

        Elwyn needs to partner with more social workers involved with families and incorporate them on to the team.

        Elwyn2019-01-21
      • "Site Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Site Manager in Elwyn, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Elwyn part-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        There is plenty opportunity to advance

        Cons

        Pay could be better, especially for those who provide direct care

        Elwyn2018-12-23

        Elwyn Response

        April 1, 2019Executive Director, Talent Acquisition

        Thanks so much for your Glassdoor review. We are happy to hear that you feel there is ample opportunity to advance your career at Elwyn. We appreciate your feedback on compensation. We strive to provide a competitive compensation and benefits package to address our employees' pay, ...

        Show More
      • "It's improving"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Media, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Elwyn full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I came to Elwyn as a contract employee. When the new management team came in they brought a new energy to the organization. Change is slow yet steady. I hear from other staff they can feel positive changes slowly coming out to the programs.

        Cons

        Each time you peel a layer within a program or policy there is another layer to peel. It is an interesting culture - both good and bad!

        Advice to Management

        People have lots of good ideas they are stifling because they don't think their ideas matter. Many people are still afraid to take risks because of the way the culture used to be. A suggestion box that rewards good, cost effective or culture enhancing ideas would be a start in helping to engage more employees.

        Elwyn2018-12-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Recruiter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Lead Recruiter in Media, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Elwyn full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Many positive changes, team work, learning opportunities, benefits tuition reimbursement

        Cons

        Changes are not as well received by some staff members

        Elwyn2018-11-20
      • "BSC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - BSC 

          I have been working at Elwyn part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Very supportive and caring management team

          Cons

          There are a few; everything is manual. Would be better if it was paperless, esp given that the job requires clinicians to be out on the field. Paperwork is time consuming and billing is at the bare minimum

          Elwyn2018-11-20
        Found 86 reviews