EventPro Strategies Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
EventPro Strategies Founder & CEO Jessica Browder-Stackpoole (no image)
Jessica Browder-Stackpoole
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Management does a great job training and answering all questions(in 4 reviews)

  • "Lots of opportunity to learn and grow in a fast paced industry(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Terrible management, inconsistent with finances and budget, horrible communication, and they don’t value their clients that need brand ambassador staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most companies live by the motto under promise so they can over deliver but EPS seems to have it backwards(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      EVENT PRO HAS GONE BANKRUPT

      Nov 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There arent any pros for this company

      Cons

      TOO MANY TO STATE NONE None none none

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture, Great Clients, High Energy, Great Opportunity for Growth!

      Feb 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Business has been in continual operation since 1999! They must be doing something right. Company is the pioneer in W-2 staffing model as all field employees are W-2, and company owner is considered an expert in the industry. Company is large enough to provide security and stability for core employees, and international services for its' clients, while being small enough to still maintain a family atmosphere. Working in the "People Capital" business, people can be both a Pro and Con of the business. Company owner is passionate about doing the right thing for clients and employees, and is actively involved in the operations of the company. Company owner supports employees working remotely from home, with 45% of current employees working remotely. Company Management has an open door policy, as well, it maintains a Drama Free Office environment, encouraging open and honest communication from the top to the bottom. Company employees are outgoing and friendly. Employees genuinely care about each other. Offices are very nice, inviting, and comfortable. Pay rates are at market and competitive with other companies in the same industry.

      Cons

      Working in the "People Capital" business, people can be both a Pro and Con of the business. The seasonality of the business creates a fluctuation in seasonal and project employee numbers, as the business grows and contracts to meet seasonal business requirements. Seasonal and project employees are all aware of the seasonal nature of their employment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of Opportunity for Those Willing to Take/Make It

      May 19, 2014 - Director in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      EventPro Strategies is the perfect company for someone who is driven to succeed. The company is small enough that those who go above and beyond are noticed, but large enough that we get to work with exciting, well-known brands and agencies. In working for EPS since 2007, I have had countless opportunities to grow professionally and learn more and more about the experiential marketing industry. The executive team encourages people to speak up with ideas and/or be vocal about their skills, and those who demonstrate that they can make an impact are promoted and given more responsibility and opportunity. Prior to working at EPS I worked for a very large company (1,000+ employees). In coming to EPS I was able to demonstrate my skill set and be recognized very quickly, where as in the larger company it was much more difficult to be seen by and build relationships with those at the executive level. Since starting at EPS, I have worked hard and always tried to be an asset to the company, and the CEO and executive team have continually rewarded that.

      Cons

      This is a small company in a fast-paced industry, and you will be noticed! This company is not for someone who is just wanting to get by or to clock in and clock out and have little responsibility. Sometimes it is "sink or swim" with not a lot of hand-holding (this might actually be a pro for some people- micromanagement does not exist here). Also, EPS is a very nimble company and is quick to try new things when necessary, so this environment is also not for someone who is uncomfortable with change.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      I've been cheated

      Nov 12, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun and easy events, fits your schedule, fair pay

      Cons

      Some team leads and tour managers I have worked with were very rude and unprofessional, event coordinators can't be honest at times and are unreliable

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great teamwork and a positive environment!!

      Feb 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a smaller company so you really have an opportunity to shine if you're willing to do the work. Everyone is extremely helpful and they really give you a chance to show what your made of. The office has such a great energy, it is always a joy to come into work and see your fellow employees. There is a ton of support and training from upper management, you can learn a lot in a small amount of time. Employees genuinely care about each other, we do team bonding exercises in the office and we do volunteer work out in the community.

      Cons

      Since this is a smaller company you will be noticed! This is not the place for someone to try and hide within the rest of the employees. There is no micromanagement here if you need help you have to speak up, which is an issues for some people. Working in the people industry is difficult and there are a few things that you cannot control. If you do not have thick skin, this is not the place for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Rewarding career.

      Dec 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job has many pros, including: - Learning of a wide variety of skillsets - as well as a hands-on and intensive experience of the event industry. - Ability to work remotely from home - equipment provided. - Employer who is understanding about family and personal needs - Each day brings new opportunities - if you're proactive with going after them. - Client base is strong, so repeat business is a huge benefit from existing accounts. - Like any job, there is an element of 'you get out what you put in' - if you're looking for a job where you can 'phone it in', it will be a challenge in the long run. Bring to the table problem solving skills, exceptional communication and follow through, and you will thrive. Being adaptable and having a great, constructive attitude is key.

      Cons

      - Training for some departments could be more intensive - however the scope of the job is wide, so there's a lot to learn throughout one's tenure - Offices over multiple time zones can present a challenge for both clients and admin. - Events activate on the weekends, so one must come into this job with a knowledge that work can occur during typical off-times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company and great co-workers

      May 7, 2017 - Brand Ambassador in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working for EPS and even though we have to endure the hours of standing on site; the whole operation is great. The clients who hire us are great and understanding, the pay is also very good and the communication of employers and employees have a mutual understanding between each other.

      Cons

      The only cons is the standing for long hours. Yes, we do have breaks but some events where it's not as many people or based on the crowd; I think there should be stools available. I completely understand they want us on our feet to gather people and get their attention, but I believe there should be seats for us so after we get someone to fill a survey, we can have those quick 3 minute rest which will enable us to work even longer and increase productivity. And the last thing is the payment schedule. It was cool when it was 2 weeks, but they recently raised it up to 3 weeks and it's just a personal thing but 3 weeks is too long. But if you can handle the hours and the waiting of the payments; it's a very good company to work for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and Underpaid Employees

      Dec 5, 2013 - Program Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with some incredible Program Coordinators in my office. They are all still some of my greatest friends. Misery loves company and it's a shame we all are not working together anymore. I can tell you that NONE of us have chosen to stay with EPS.

      Cons

      If you value your quality of life, even on the most basic level, do not work for this company. I was hired as a salary employee for almost two years. Those two years of my life were lost. As a Program Coordinator we were all expected to have our company issued phones on us at all times, 24/7. The company does inform you that the hours are not the 'typical 9-5;' however, flextime does not exist. You work early mornings, evenings, weekends and holidays for free. You are not allowed or granted the flextime that is promised or agreed upon. It's a toxic environment and detrimental to one's health. It is a thankless job and the sh_t always flows downhill. There is absolutely no growth and one does not gain any industry experience. It's always a crisis and you will constantly be trying to put out fires. For two years I sacrificed every single one of my personal relationships with family and friends. Forget taking vacations, forget evenings with family or weekends with friends. You will be working without receiving any compensation. Any job is better than working for EventPro Strategies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Collaboration and hardworking team!

      Feb 16, 2015 - Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone here wants to help each other be successful. Unlike other companies I have worked at when someone offers to help you they actually provide really meaningful assistance. The work can be very challenging because you are relying on other people (your remote staff to execute), but the team is definitely IN IT TOGETHER and it's clear that everyone cares. The leadership team is committed to being flexible and agile to meet the demands of the market while providing growth opportunities to the internal team. They ask for and take frequent feedback so that they can learn from challenges, celebrate successes, adapt, and advance the team and company.

      Cons

      People can be unpredictable and the success of your program is directly tied to the behaviors of your remote staff. The team at EPS works really hard to minimize the stress that flaky staff can create on execution day, but it's not always avoidable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked, Unrealistic Expectations, Underpaid.

      Mar 1, 2014 - Program Coordinator in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There isn't much. - You are given a company laptop and work phone (a keen way of showing you're expected to be on both of them 24/7) - You're not micromanaged - You get to staff high profile and fun events/tradeshows/tours - The internal payroll is on time

      Cons

      I'll keep it simple. - You're expected to work overtime (nights and weekends) for as long as you have programs activating during those times. - You are not paid for overtime - There's one small end of year bonus if you qualify - You're asked to take FURLOUGH DAYS (unpaid time off) - If you want a weekend to yourself, it must be approved - You're expected to have your company phone on you 24/7, and be responsive, if not - you are reprimanded - even if you're in class outside of work hours. - Even as a Program Coordinator/Account Executive, you are thrown managerial duties and expected to treat programs as a manager, while not being compensated or trained on it. - Your operations meetings are counterproductive and will leave the meeting with less brain cells. -Talent will hassle you about the 40-60 day payouts (which usually end up being almost 90 days) - Kiss your quality of life goodbye - Even though more than 50% of the company works remote, the Scottsdale location is never granted remote work. - Your office environment is dull and draining, non collaborative. - Your program managers are not problem solvers - You're forever put on "contract" even if you're listed as a W2 FT employee. 15) I disapprove of the owner because she allows and expects this of everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Work at EventPro Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    EventPro Strategies logo
    or