First NBC Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

First NBC Bank Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
First NBC Bank CEO Carl Chaney
Carl Chaney
2 Ratings
  1. "Best Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Slidell, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First NBC Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    First NBC was one of the best places I have ever worked! Loved everything about being a part of this family and the community we served!

    Cons

    This bank was closed down by the FDIC in April 2017; saddest time of my life! It is a shame that all the things that took place behind closed doors ruined such an awesome place that cared about their employees and the community

    First NBC Bank2019-01-07
  2. "Enjoyed it until they locked the doors!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First NBC Bank full-time

    Pros

    Best place I’ve ever worked

    Cons

    Bad practices in executive management

    First NBC Bank2018-10-16
  3. "Great place to work before it went downhill!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First NBC Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    No chance to grow in the company

    First NBC Bank2018-03-09
  4. "mid-level management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Mid-Level Management in New Orleans, LA
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at First NBC Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fast growing company offered endless advancement at first, then.......

      Cons

      The bank was ordered closed by the Louisiana Commissioner of Banking, and then the FDIC stepped in. My understanding is that a Federal Grand Jury is now looking into certain aspects of the bank's management. Unfortunately, leadership at First NBC apparently forgot about the many employees and stockholders who would be hurt thanks to inept management and poor banking practices.

      Advice to Management

      Buy a Monopoly game and steal the "Get Out Of Jail Free" card.

      First NBC Bank2018-03-20
    • "Bank Now Closed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at First NBC Bank full-time

      Pros

      Very Professional work enviornment and employees

      Cons

      Bank ultimately failed. No longer open.

      First NBC Bank2017-10-19
    • "Part-time teller"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teller in Ponchatoula, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at First NBC Bank part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Really great training program, felt completely capable of doing all teller work. Given tons of information on regulations and policies in order to be competent as a teller.

      Cons

      Upper management obviously didn't know what they were doing because the bank was shut down. Never really told what to tell customers when we were asked what was going on with the bank, we were constantly lied to about the state of the bank and blindsided when FDIC shut us down.

      First NBC Bank2017-09-03
    • "Good Job to have"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT in New Orleans, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at First NBC Bank full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Loved working at FNBC Coworkers were awesome Even though we were a larger company it felt like you knew everyone

      Cons

      It is no longer in business because of the actions of other people

      First NBC Bank2017-06-28
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at First NBC Bank full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Management was very helpful, good work life balance, great pay

        Cons

        Not much opportunity to grow

        First NBC Bank2017-06-25
      • "Compliance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at First NBC Bank full-time

          Pros

          Pay, bonuses, and training

          Cons

          Managers, communication was nonexistent, leadership

          First NBC Bank2017-07-19
        • "Sad to see it go"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Universal Banker in Lacombe, LA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at First NBC Bank full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Loved working at FNBC Coworkers were awsome Even though we were a larger company it felt like you knew everyone Awesome Christmas party and company picnic each year as well as a retail rally

          Cons

          Upper management didn't look out for their employees and made bad decisions put of greed that caused the federal government to shut the bank down and deem it a failed bank.

          Advice to Management

          Greed is an ugly ugly thing and eventually it will always catch up with you in the end.

          First NBC Bank2017-06-10
        Found 32 reviews