Geeks Reviews | Glassdoor

Geeks Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Geeks Managing Director Somayeh Aghnia (no image)
Somayeh Aghnia
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture, games room, parties, staff are well looked after, learning curve(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "This way they can trap people into insane, arguably illegal training contracts wherein you are "trained" by the company(in 4 reviews)

  • "The company also operate an extremely selfish sick-pay policy(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Opportunities to learn & contribute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Developer in Morden, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geeks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Result driven. Where I worked for before Geeks, devs often made their decisions based on what looks good on CV, which I always had a moral problem with. At Geeks though, the culture, tech and everything is driven by what will create the software the client wants sooner, better and faster. I think we as an industry should focus more on that.

    Cons

    If you're looking for horizontal skills development, or would like every project's stack to be different, you will be disappointed because most projects are .NET.

    Geeks2019-11-19
  2. "Excellent culture / people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Morden, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good people, all round. Diverse projects. Stimulating work. At Geeks, you lean how to get things done.

    Cons

    Location is not in Central London, salary and holidays are not the highest.

    Geeks2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time

    Pros

    Not as such. Management is supportive

    Cons

    Hire and fire in numbers

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-09-05
  4. "Interesting company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free salad and drinks for lunch every day. - Very friendly junior staff. - Lots of responsibility early on to enhance your CV and work experience. - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    - Training contracts which are deceptive and false (no shadowing or proper training as the contract says). - Poor management (lack of transparency, accountability, blame constantly pushed on others). - Limited paid holidays - Disorganised + inconsistent management

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-07-20
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Lots of fake reviews here, be careful and try to find the real ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will make some great friends, the situation everyone is in where you'll be trapped in a un-meaningful, underpaid job for at least 2 and a half years maybe more, creates a certain camaraderie with your colleagues that I would argue is hard to find elsewhere. It's like you go through all this mistreatment everyday you need to have people around you to talk through all this with and that creates some pretty good friendships. By the way this excludes senior management.

    Cons

    Where to even begin? First of all the pay is so bad it is well below industry standard. The way they excuse this is by specifically targeting either recent graduates that have a hard time finding their first job or by bringing over people from abroad that need their visa's sponsored. This way they can trap people into insane, arguably illegal training contracts wherein you are "trained" by the company. Now this training consists of other geeks employees teaching you how all of the in-house Geeks applications work and not really anything you could take with you to another company. There are no actual qualifications you can take with you. And for this amazing training they will charge you anywhere from £8,000 to £30,000 depending on your role, if you choose to leave before your contract is over. One of the directors described the cost of the fees as being equivalent to a doing a Masters degree, which is funny considering how when we asked for more industry standard training we were told this wasn't a university (if the situation wasn't so tragic you could write a comedy about these people). Currently there are at least 4 people that have left the company this year that are in some kind of a legal battle with Geeks trying to get out of these contracts. There's a lot more to get into but if this isn't enough to make you run for the hills I don't know what will. If you just need a place where you could literally skate through by barely doing work and getting paid peanuts just to have some experience on your CV then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-07-15
  6. ""Effective Work Environment""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Recruiter in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work you can learn a lot from your seniors. Management teams are supportive. Healthy environment. On going projects are here

    Cons

    Every companies have some negative points, so don't judge by reading other persons review

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-05-17
  7. Helpful (11)

    "DO NOT Sign The Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morden, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Geeks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The average person at Geeks is lovely and friendly. Free drinks and salad bar at lunch. Games room.

    Cons

    Do not sign the training contract. 4 year training contract where you incur 25k in the first year and if you leave within the 4 years they will make you pay the 25k back depending on how long you are through the next 3 years. If you are miserable at Geeks and you want to leave they will make you pay the training cost which no one can afford to pay so you are forced to stay. For the 25k, you receive on the job training (like any other company), no external training or qualifications and there is no structure or accountability for them providing the training. No HR department, HR email is to one of the Director's, this means there is no one to support un biased and impartial views of the employees if they have any problem with the Director's / company's decisions. All benefits are well below market rate, pay / holiday / pension / sick leave. Minimal experience within the company, people in the most senior positions have only worked within Technology at Geeks and have no other software development experience. Office is old and in Morden, toilets constantly break to the point it smells like poo in the office. Clearly Geeks are writing fake reviews which is highly worrying, if anyone says 'Nothing specific to mention.' for Cons, this place has so many problems and the average person is un happy.

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-05-08

    Geeks Response

    May 19, 2019Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. A lot of your points are not correct and unfounded. Whilst constructive feedback we love to take on board to make Geeks a better place to work and for our clients, it is important to address inaccuracies and misunderstandings. - We are proud of our training contracts and have won independant awards for it, including being awarded as London't "Best business for training and personal development". All potential applicants receive full information about that and voluntarily enter such agreements based on mutual interest. It is often cited as a life-changing opportunity and exceptionally transformative for the employees who are empowered to make a successful career in a thriving industry. With regards to our technical quality and architecture, we have been audited by some of the top businesses in the world (eg. Microsoft, AWS etc) ranging from architectural practices through security and general best practices to ensure we're producing top quality work for our projects and our clients. Regarding being underpaid again this is not true, both Geeks salaries are industry standard based on experience and progression. The company has a full time Talent Manager, helping employees one to one in their PDP, career progression, as well as established HR procedures that direct each inquiry to the appropriate decision makers. Admittedly we have had some issues with the facilities, but not to the extent stated here. To address that, significant investment have been recently made in refurbishing the office premises and facilities.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    variety of projects you will deal with

    Cons

    very young teams pay is not good motivating

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-03-31
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Avoid this company, will find it hard to find any other job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Geeks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office supplies / games room People

    Cons

    Unjustified "training" contracts when you receive no relevant training. Heavily underpaid. Dated in-house technologies. Will only teach you how to use these in house technologies and no relevant development skills to help you grow as a developer. Architecture of code is absolutely awful and you do not learn how to create an actual application, will use a code generator to make 90% of the code for you and if you get trained it will be by somebody who also does not have a clue. The pay is too low to hire any real seniors from outside the company. Unless you do a lot of own time learning you wont learn any transferable business skills...expect for maybe writing a service that handles some business logic. They outright lie for most things, tenders will have content like "Our leads have 10 years experience" when in reality they have no where close to that. I would also not believe half of the reviews here on Glassdoor, they have been proven to write so many fakes reviews here if the score drops below a certain score, and asking people they have trapped to work at the company to write a good review for them.

    Continue reading
    Geeks2019-03-14

    Geeks Response

    March 26, 2019Head of Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback however a lot of your points are not correct and unfounded. Whilst constructive feedback we love to take on board to make Geeks a better place to work and for our clients, it is important to address inaccuracies and misunderstandings. Firstly, I should highlight that all employees that have left Geeks (either from our training program or via standard recruitment campaigns) have moved on to great next stages in their careers if that is what they have wanted. This is, of course, a testament to their skills and abilities but also to the range of project exposure, experienced support, tools and processes that we have in place. Every company will have a scope in the tools and technologies they will use based on the needs of their client and business, but we do use a range of technologies and have an R&D/Innovation/technology team keeping on what new tools and technologies should be considered for trial and adoption on our own internal projects and on client projects as they see fit. With respect to the statement of us lying, that is absolutely not the case, in fact for such submissions typically we would need to submit CV's for our team members and evidence our abilities/experience so it is unclear where such a misunderstanding or misinformation would have arisen. Lastly, with regards to our technical quality and architecture, we have been audited by some of the top businesses in the world (eg. Microsoft, AWS etc) ranging from architectural practices through security and general best practices to ensure we're producing top quality work for our projects and our clients. Regarding being underpaid again this is not true, both Geeks salaries are industry standard based on experience and progression. I hope that this helps to clarify some of your misunderstandings. 

    Continue reading
  10. "3 YEARS AT GEEKS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Lead UI Designer in Morden, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geeks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team, culture, office-space, agility, growth

    Cons

    Not much i can say about the cons during my time at Geeks

    Continue reading
    Geeks2018-12-04

    Geeks Response

    March 25, 2019Head of Operations

    Thank you for your review and feedback! We are so glad that you are enjoying your time at Geeks and all of the wonderful people who work here !

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 60 reviews