Government Service Insurance System Reviews | Glassdoor

Government Service Insurance System Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Management Intern in Maineville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay, coworkers are very friendly, have opportunities to grow within the company, positive work enviroment that conduces learning and growth

    Cons

    there are no cons of this company. everything i experienced here was happy and positive. never had any issues and would reccomend to many

    Advice to Management

    maybe get on your employees levels more often. sometimes they think they dont need to help as much as others which can become incredibly frustrating

    Government Service Insurance System2016-09-23
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Work environment is awesome and benefits are great.

    Cons

    I cant think of any.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Government Service Insurance System2018-05-28
  3. "Training Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Officer I in Pasay, Pasay
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The agency requires all employees to complete a certain amount of training days annually. A personnel can attend a technical training regardless of amount. One just needs to abide by agency's training policy and undertake a training bond.

    Cons

    The technical training must address the current function.

    Advice to Management

    Management must provide avenues for HR to promote this benefit for personnel maximize its full potential.

    Government Service Insurance System2018-02-10
  4. "glass ceiling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time

    Pros

    security of tenure, plenty of lateral movement

    Cons

    periodic change in management, no vacancy for higher technical positions

    Government Service Insurance System2017-06-29
  5. "Officer I/Division Chief (Assistant Manager)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Tenure and the very best benefits.

    Cons

    Government owned and run is a downside. Politics overpowers the logical business direction of the Corporation. Work/Life Balance does not exist. Career opportunities is very low due to political recommendations.

    Government Service Insurance System2016-09-04
  6. "Senior General Insurance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Government Service Insurance System

      Pros

      Being part of the Government Service Insurance System is an honor. The Best Insurance Institution in the Philippines and world class quality service and employees. We will relentlessly strive for continual improvement in our services driven by integrity, professionalism and a culture of public service.

      Cons

      There is no downside working at Government Service Insurance System. It is my honor to become part of this institution to serve with honor and dignity to its members.

      Government Service Insurance System2016-04-06
    • "Staff Officer I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Officer I in Manila, Manila
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      It is good to work at the Government Service Insurance System because it is one of the most stable government agencies in the country.

      Cons

      The downside in working in the Government Service Insurance System is the management that basically made a very drastic turn-around in the release of benefits that the employees religiously receive.

      Advice to Management

      Government Service Insurance System is an agency that gives assistance to all government employees, and they are called members. The members were given an all out financial assistance every now and then. But just a reminder the employees of this agency are also members of the GSIS. Benefits that are regularly given should not be removed from the employees. These benefits are the reinforcements of the employees to serve...

      Show More
      Government Service Insurance System2015-11-27
    • Helpful (5)

      "Officer I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasay, Pasay

        I worked at Government Service Insurance System for more than 2 years

        Pros

        A lot of benefits, bonuses.

        Cons

        minimal career growth, typical to any government institutions/companies.

        Government Service Insurance System2015-05-02
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great benefits but very low pay for a very sophisticated job assignment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Investment Research Analyst in Manila, Manila
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Excellent retirement plan and insurance coverage

        Cons

        Very low pay and politics is everywhere

        Government Service Insurance System2014-01-09
      • "My experience is that I have learned to live with pressure and declining finances."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Staff Officer I in Cebu City
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Government Service Insurance System full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Stable and secure, stable and secure, stable and secure, stable and secure, stable and secure.

        Cons

        benefits and allowances are being slashed and is giving us rank and file a hard time in dealing with our finances as an employee

        Advice to Management

        must make moves to enhance benefits, allowances, salary increases to cope with every employees declining finances.

        Government Service Insurance System2013-03-09
      Found 12 reviews