Greif Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Greif Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greif CEO Peter Watson (no image)
Peter Watson
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay, work-life balance, and amazing benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • "All shifts have set hours, good people working by your side, set break times, easy work(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "o por resultados, falta de sinergia com outras(in 8 reviews)

  • "gica para a empresa ao longo tempo,plano de carreira n(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Machine Operator in Alsip, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greif full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The money is good

    Cons

    Management sucks need new management

    Advice to Management

    Care more for your employees then your pockets

    Greif2019-04-13

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We see every review and utilize all feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thanks again!

  2. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Austell, GA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Greif full-time

    Pros

    Good managers for the most part. a few bad apples like anyplace. Decent work life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of shakeups due to buying of Caraustar. Not always as transparent as they claim to be.

    Greif2019-09-03

    Greif Response

    September 3, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our managers and work life balance, and appreciate your feedback regarding communication. We read every review and utilize it all to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

  3. "No where to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greif full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Greif does try to emphasize work life balance and many of the management do believe it and practice it. Pay is good, at market value.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for advancement. It appears that if you get hired into a location that's your location for life. If that's your desire it's not a problem. It's not my desire. I have applied for positions at other facilities and no one acknowledged that I applied or discussed my career desires with me. Not enough help to accomplish what should be accomplished and feel a sense of job satisfaction. Employee... engagement is not what it should be and what I am used to at other companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay is fine, people are OK but it really feels like a dead end job.

    Greif2019-08-03

    Greif Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience with Greif didn’t meet your expectations. We read every review and are dedicated to utilizing the feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Once the darling of industrial packaging companies, not anymore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greif full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All the usual big company benefits. Great group of Plant Mangers, Customer Service Reps & Production workers. Impressive product offering.

    Cons

    Work at Greif if you’re willing to accept; * Poor leadership with big egos and little regard for seasoned colleagues. * Unrealistic goals set by people with zero industry experience. * Leadership approving salary reductions while they make millions. * Knee jerk reactions to changing market conditions leading to plant closures and layoffs. * Constantly being reminded that “good isn’t good enough” and needing to... work 113%. * A incentive program that is constantly being manipulated with zero accountability and a goal of zero payout.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop celebrating yourselves and focus on engaging all employees to make the company great again. This means cleaning house of upper management and bring in “leaders” with empathy, vision and experience.

    Greif2019-06-16

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience with Greif didn’t meet your expectations. We read every review and are dedicated to utilizing the feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

  5. "Great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Greif full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, work-life balance, and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Innovative ideas from lower level employees get pushed to the side.

    Greif2019-06-18

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Director of Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the salary, benefits and the work-life balance, and appreciate your feedback regarding employee contribution and management. We read every review and utilize it all to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

    Show Less
  6. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Greif full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company that offers a lot

    Cons

    Work a lot of hours

    Greif2019-05-12

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We see every review and utilize all feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thanks again!

  7. "Good atmosphere but depends on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Delaware, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greif full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good challenging atmosphere. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Multiple different divisions that work in silos. No company communication. Hasty decision making. All about the numbers and 60% of stock is owned by 1 family so they are essentially the sole decision makers and drivers. Some of management has been promoted far too early and has nearly no team building, people management skills.

    Advice to Management

    Build a more cohesive environment.

    Greif2019-05-25

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the challenging atmosphere and benefits. We are sorry that your experience with Greif didn’t meet your expectations. We read every review and are dedicated to utilizing the feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

    Show Less
  8. "I was a lead Rim former and Riveter operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Greif

    Pros

    Good Insurance and Pay,The Team leaders and Co workers I’ve enjoyed working with

    Cons

    There were some weekends of working

    Advice to Management

    I’ve heard that they have New Management know

    Greif2019-04-11

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with Greif and liked the benefits and colleagues here. We read every review and are dedicated to utilizing the feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greif full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent leadership in moving the culture forward. Great leaders. Acquisition of Caraustar was a good move. Very strong culture being built by Pete Watson and his team.

    Cons

    The name is a challenge!!

    Advice to Management

    Change the name of the company so people can know how to pronounce

    Greif2019-03-12

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you are enjoying your experience with Greif and that you like our leadership and culture. We read every review and are dedicated to utilizing the feedback to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again!

  10. "Comparison company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Greif full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Well established products and markets, strong history, sustainable conscious.

    Cons

    Heavy corporate controlled, matrix org, lack of career advancement opportunities, slow to move and make change.

    Greif2019-02-20

    Greif Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our sustainability initiatives and products, and appreciate your feedback regarding career advancement. We read every review and utilize it all to enhance the experience for all of our Greif colleagues. Thank you again.

Found 113 reviews