Grooveshark Reviews | Glassdoor

Grooveshark Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Grooveshark CEO Sam Tarantino (no image)
Sam Tarantino
26 Ratings
  1. "loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Grooveshark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I went from product marketing to digital product manager

    Cons

    none, a fast track education for me

    Advice to Management

    none

    Grooveshark2019-09-16
  2. "THe company is really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Events in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Grooveshark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They provide all the benefits they say in the website

    Cons

    THey don't really care about your future progress

    Grooveshark2019-04-16
  3. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Grooveshark full-time

    Pros

    The people were genuinely great and it felt like a family.

    Cons

    Management generally was incompetent. Tons of leaders who had no skills in leadership.

    Grooveshark2018-10-25
  4. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grooveshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you don't need rigidity or formality this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes "power structure" can be hard to figure out.

    Advice to Management

    Great job!

    Grooveshark2018-03-21
  5. "awesome place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Grooveshark

    Pros

    fun place to work with great opportunity to work on cool projects

    Cons

    sued for $17Billion by all major labels

    Advice to Management

    keep going strong!

    Grooveshark2018-03-12
  6. "Chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grooveshark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Chill company, flat management structure, easy to collaborate, lots of brilliant people.

    Cons

    Intense work/life balance, very young and inexperienced management. Relied almost entirely on student intern labor.

    Advice to Management

    Hire experienced managers, have defined goals for product teams, and don't re-iterate on the flagship product forever. Release new products.

    Grooveshark2016-02-18
  7. "Web Dev Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grooveshark

    Pros

    Excellent employment opportunity; worked on and designed Grooveshark's new web player and downloadable app. Very hands-on for an intern. Well compensated for my efforts and many learning opportunities.

    Cons

    A little stressful when it comes to releases, but that comes with the job. Air of snobbishness in the employees, especially when it comes to lower level employees/interns. Complicated frameworks, needs lot of maintenance.

    Grooveshark2016-01-30
  8. "Best place to work ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grooveshark

    Pros

    Best place to work ever

    Cons

    Company no longer exists, so there's that

    Advice to Management

    Let's do it again

    Grooveshark2015-12-08
  9. "Fun place, but management has no idea what they're doing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid Level Management in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grooveshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was a fun place to work and if you got the right people on your side you could advance your career (although you'll paid way below market value).

    Cons

    Management has no idea what's going on. I don't the CEO even had a grasp of who our users were, how we made money or the actual potential future of our company.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in professional management. Understand what's actually going on at your Company and how it works.

    Grooveshark2016-01-07
  10. "Production Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Grooveshark

    Pros

    Best place ever to work in the whole world

    Cons

    The company shut down so it no longer exists

    Advice to Management

    Get the proper licensing so we can start up again

    Grooveshark2015-10-01
Found 39 reviews