HATCHBEAUTY Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HATCHBEAUTY President Preston Bottomy
Preston Bottomy
1 Rating
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "HatchBeauty"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working at HatchBeauty and it has been great! They have an amazing team who are extremely passionate about the space and they bring amazing energy to the others surrounding them each and every day. It's a great work environment and I could not be happier with my move and what my future looks like at Hatch.

    Cons

    I have nothing to say here.

    HATCHBEAUTY2019-10-29
  2. "Fun, positive place to work!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked here less than a year but my time at HATCHBEAUTY so far has been great! HR & Management cares so much about their employees and you can feel that. I feel appreciated every day! I've been thoroughly pleased and impressed by how they have handled the COVID-19 situation as well. Constantly checking in to make sure that we have everything we need and that we are doing okay. Twice weekly check-ins with the whole company, including the president and vice president, have been a great way to continue to still see everyone and be updated with what is going on throughout the company! I'm consistently busy and also always working on different types of projects which I love! If you're looking for a fun, always different, fast-paced environment, HATCHBEAUTY is a great place to work :)

    Cons

    Not a con for me but maybe for some people - projects tend to be due ASAP so you must work fast! I personally enjoy that though!

    HATCHBEAUTY2020-05-15
  3. "Promising Future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started my job at HATCH thinking, "it's going to be rough, but just stick with it for a year and move on". I knew it was going to be stressful but a great learning experience. That being said, my opinion on the company and my time here has changed recently. There have been some leadership changes that I think will positively effect the company. I mean, there have been A LOT of leadership changes over the not too distant past, but this is the first one that I think could really help turn things around. They have been saying since I've been here that they want to focus on Company Culture, which in no way has happened (beyond me having a pretty cool boss that is always showing she cares). I do, however, think that the new president will make this a priority and I've already started seeing him making changes. There is a lot going on at HATCH, but it's one of the most engaging places I've worked at with a lot of really talented people. A few tweaks to company culture could make this place amazing!

    Cons

    Can be high-stress at times. Reactionary projects that don't make sense. Not a strong company vision in the past.

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2020-04-23
  4. "Getting Better Everyday"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time

    Pros

    When you work at HatchBeauty, you love the "idea" of what it is to get you to do. We get to build brands from the ground up, and because we are small, we all get to be part of bringing things to life. That's really cool and certainly a reason many people have stuck around for a long time. However, until recently, the day-to-day culture has been not-so-great--there was a lack of transparency about the business as a whole and not a lot of celebration of wins. In October of last year, Hatch brought on a new President of Digital and recently promoted him to President. He's currently handling all operations and leading the charge in the midst of COVID-19. The cultural difference is night and day. There has been ongoing transparency, sincere appreciation of team members' efforts, a commitment to operational excellence and teamwork, and some impressive wins.

    Cons

    HB has been dubbed Beauty Bootcamp for a reason. If you haven't worked in or don't enjoy working in a start-up like environment, this is not the place for you. To thrive, you need to be solutions-oriented and willing to work with people from a variety of different professional backgrounds, you also need to operate with a certain level of speed.

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2020-04-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "No Regard for Actual Talents"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you're into having your bonuses robbed from your hard-earned time, a company that allows its executives steal money, a non-existent company culture or no room for creative solution and personal growth — this place is for you!

    Cons

    In an digital world where company reviews can be swayed with "false ratings", this is company is no exception. If you see any positive reviews, those are people who were asked to write such things. DO NOT BELIEVE IT! Cons: • Lack of bonuses in the last 3-4 years working there, even though my department meet above its quarterly numbers • No inter-department promotions. As a manager, I have been told by 2 ex-employees that they were denied working on certain projects as well as not being able to move up in a position they were interested in • Management does not provide adequate/additional help when asked especially since each department is short on staff • High turnover rate and poor communication habits • Lack of talented and knowledgeable people. There are employees in high-level executive positions that do not know the business, run a team or bring income to for any of the brands

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2020-01-27
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't go there"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no Pro words to provide.

    Cons

    There are too many Con words to provide

    HATCHBEAUTY2019-10-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Stay as far away as you can"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HATCHBEAUTY full-time

    Pros

    Some really nice employees, get to work on a lot of different product formats

    Cons

    Terrible place to work. CEO and other executives have no clue where to take the company forward. Directions change every day and other employees are forced to work like cogs in a machine. No team work whatsoever with new management. Everyone does what everyone thinks works for them. I’d be surprised if you last 6 months without a stress breakdown.

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2019-09-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unfortunately Headed for a crash"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HATCHBEAUTY full-time

    Pros

    Great marketing and creative teams. Caring group of people. Even a sweet HR lead. Office closed at 6PM promptly

    Cons

    New VP has no clue what she is doing. Does not know a thing about the beauty industry or how to keep good people happy. Her ego will drive the company into the ground.

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2019-08-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Working there was okay"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Chemist 

    I worked at HATCHBEAUTY full-time

    Pros

    Outings with clients, creative freedom

    Cons

    Management, little room for growth

    HATCHBEAUTY2019-07-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Over Ten Years of Experience."

    2.0
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at HATCHBEAUTY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning trends of the beauty industry and the creative process.

    Cons

    High turnover rate and poor communication habits.

    Continue reading
    HATCHBEAUTY2019-05-10
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews