HomeFinder.com Reviews

Updated January 8, 2016
52 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
4.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
HomeFinder.com Interim CEO Shannon Cullins
Shannon Cullins
1 Rating

Pros
  • Need to work from home because you're getting furniture delivered (in 5 reviews)

  • Great people and great management team (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Because it's a smaller company, it can be hard to bring about certain changes (in 3 reviews)

  • The ONLY con I can think of is there is only beer on tap, I would like to see pop on tap (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

52 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. "Love This Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Very relaxed atmosphere -Everyone is great to work with -Family is very important - Family comes first then your job -Able to work from home -Bad weather we are told to stay home and work, be safe -weekly emails asking fun and odd questions ( fill out if you want ) - it is a good way to see people in a personal way -mentoring program - volunteer to be a mentor - if you want to learn something hook up with that mentor. Love my Job

    Cons

    The ONLY con I can think of is there is only beer on tap, I would like to see pop on tap. (pro side of this is we do have free pop in the fridge)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work you are doing, keep us growing!!!

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks for the kind words, appreciate it! We'll get to work right away on that beer issue.


  2. "Sr Systems Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at HomeFinder.com (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people, nice work environment.

    Cons

    Pay is below average, Sr. Management needs some seasoning.


  3. "Affiliate Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Affiliate Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Affiliate Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It is a very forward-thinking company that values it's employees personal and professional growth. Great work environment with great benefits.

    Cons

    Not as many resources to do everything we want.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Typic "Enterprise""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HomeFinder.com full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Talented people and good opportunities for lateral transfers.

    Cons

    Lower than industry standard salaries and "flat" compensation schedule: one of those places you leave for a few years in order to jump back at the salary you really want.

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 1, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks so much for the feedback, we always appreciate it. I agree we do have talented people, and we're always on the hunt for more.

    As for lower than industry ... More


  6. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time

    Pros

    Great culture - flexible - great people.

    Cons

    Lacking in communication at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep open channels of communication

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 1, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it.

    I smiled reading the kudos on culture and people, thanks for those comments.

    I hear you on the communication. We ... More


  7. "fun place t work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    young, creative people fun place to work

    Cons

    low pay they should really pay more

    Advice to Management

    none

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Dec 29, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it. This review is from an office manager that was with us a few years ago. I am happy to report we've upped the pay for that position, and ... More


  8. "Plenty of challenging projects"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    For a software engineer HomeFinder has a lot to offer. Handling millions of impressions a month gives you plenty of data to analyze, a large audience to A/B test, demand for services that need to scale, and many other challenges that require researching new technology. It's challenging, but the team is always supportive so stress is still generally pretty low.

    Cons

    It's a smaller company so if you want to make dramatic role shifts there aren't a lot of options.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Dec 9, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for the review, appreciate the feedback.


  9. "great company, great people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Client Services Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work hard, play hard attitude. People came up to me and introduced themselves for weeks after I'd been hired. Everyone is very nice, welcoming, and open to questions

    Cons

    No training program. There's nothing to complain about, and I love complaining.

    Advice to Management

    get some kind of training program in place, other than that, doing great!

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Aug 28, 2014 – CEO

    Glad to hear there's nothing to complain about. :) We hear the message loud and clear on training, and it's something we're actively working on ... More


  10. "GREAT PLAY TO WORK, WITH GREAT PEOPLE"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Laid back work environment Great Boss Great Team atmosphere Great work benefits Start-up feel

    Cons

    With any young company, there is a lot of change, can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, but I would ask you to find ways to max talent's of every employee to push the company forward. Company is small now, but has pretty good talent. Try to help them reach their full potential.

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Aug 28, 2014 – CEO

    Change can certainly be frustrating, hopefully we do a decent job of communicating when it does hit us. Thanks for the review, we really value the feedback.


  11. "Great place to work. No complaints...really!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Relaxed working environment - Great benefits - Working from home is allowed and not frowned upon - Very nice employees. Positive and friendly. - Beer tap in kitchen!

    Cons

    After a handful of months, I have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!



Showing 52 of 55 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed