HomeSense Reviews | Glassdoor

HomeSense Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
HomeSense CEO Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "minimum wage, shifts are inconsistent(in 7 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part-time workers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Brillant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeSense part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team of people, Development opportunities, Good pay,

    Cons

    could be more flexible with hours

    HomeSense2019-04-23
  2. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Langhorne, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HomeSense part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None nothing nada no bad

    Cons

    Awful management awful management awful management

    Advice to Management

    Quit your job

    HomeSense2019-08-08
  3. "Worst job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeSense full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to pretty much work on my own without being micromanaged

    Cons

    Leadership was very disrespectful to one another, employees weren't treated fairly when it comes to the workload and receiving help. Very messy and unorganized in all aspects.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up

    HomeSense2019-04-15
  4. "Typical retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HomeSense part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people Simple tasks Company discount

    Cons

    Management Constant scheduling issues

    Advice to Management

    Reduce micromanaging

    HomeSense2019-03-12
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeSense part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone was really nice.

    Cons

    They over scheduled me while I was in school. Asked for parttime hours and was receiving full-time 35 hour weeks so it was very overwhelming with school and it was my responsibility to get the shifts covered when I only asked for 16-20 hours.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    HomeSense2019-02-27
  6. "It was retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeSense

    Pros

    Setting up new store. Great opportunity to network and meet new people. Flexible on schedule at first. Otherwise good pt gig

    Cons

    Salary was below min wage. Work became stressful because people were either getting hurt or quitting. Schedule was not flexible for my needs.

    Advice to Management

    Do no harm

    HomeSense2018-09-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "USA Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeSense

    Pros

    The store has been created as a concept store. Large box store with furniture and big ticket items being the focus for the US market. Nice products and much customer service needed. Much more than any other TJX store. Benefits for full time employees.

    Cons

    It is retail. A pig is still a pig, even with a bow on it. Constantly shifting hours, no consistence, very difficult for work life balance. When store first opened fully staffed with full time and part time associates. As the store matured, the hours for part timers seemed to evaporate. Full time associates responsible for everything and every job, pulled in every direction. The part time associates were not getting scheduled...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep good part time associates on the schedule, invest in them. Use employees strengths. When management changes, tell employees and what will transpire next. If you harp "family at work" then practice what you preach and give associates knowledge of changes, procedures - which constantly revise - and initiatives.

    HomeSense2018-04-25
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HomeSense part-time

    Pros

    - easy application - easy to get hired

    Cons

    - constantly ask for you to work longer hours or on days you schedule off

    HomeSense2018-03-12
  9. "They really care about their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeSense part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Friendly coworkers *Supportive management team *Great company resources *Growth is encouraged *overall amazing environment

    Cons

    *long hours during the holidays

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    HomeSense2019-08-24
  10. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at HomeSense part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Flexible with holidays and working days.

    Cons

    Discount is only 10%

    HomeSense2019-07-23
Found 123 reviews