InSpa Reviews | Glassdoor

InSpa Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Colleen Stone
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manager and front desk staff are all very flexible with switching shift if needed(in 8 reviews)

  • "I felt apart of new ideas and always felt heard by my spa manager(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Time spent at front desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InSpa full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Great perks. Learned a lot about skincare, massage, nails, and products. Flexible shifts.

    Cons

    Open kind of late.

    InSpa2018-05-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Coordinator in Issaquah, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission for memberships. Not many pros.

    Cons

    Horrible company. I usually don’t bash businesses like this, but there was poor management, it was dirty and corporate was not very involved as they are the ones who are supposed to be doing the upkeep on the cleanliness. They put groupons up and cut the service providers commission! They didn’t choose to have that coupon go out, why should they get less pay?

    Advice to Management

    More professional communication. There was many times where I was talked down on. I tried my best at the position but they never make you feel good enough. And you need to realize people have families and they get sick, so don’t make people feel bad for calling out when it’s not like it’s a reoccurring problem.

    InSpa2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "I wasted 6+ years here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aesthetician in Issaquah, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    • A majority of the co workers are great and the best you could ask for. •Location.

    Cons

    •CEO is not engaged in what’s going on in the company. Does not care about the employees or value their input. You are a number, to them you are only good for making them money. •Pay is low, you have to fight for raises (which can be deinied at anytime for unethical reasons) • Technicians product commission is commonly stolen by the same front desk staff member(s). Repeat offenders should have their right to earn...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To management: Hold yourself to the same standards you hold your employees to. Be honest and act with integrity. To the CEO: Throw in the towel and consider selling the company to someone who is willing to put in the work and effort to make the company better and invest in caring for the companies loyal employees, they deserve better.

    InSpa2019-03-28
  4. "Great place to Grow and build your Client base and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Esthetician in Issaquah, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InSpa full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    401k, PTO, room to grow your client base you can make great money. Cash tips! Work with your schedule. 2% extra working weekends. Excellent Training and you get paid for it

    Cons

    Open late. No hourly pay. Blackout periods when you are required not to take time off. Open on New Year eve and Christmas eve, no direct deposit

    Advice to Management

    Update staff back room. Focus on the services and products instead of introducing too many too fast.

    InSpa2019-01-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Why did I stay so long?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Clients, fellow employees, location, birthday service

    Cons

    The front desk gets walk in commission on retail that should go to the professionals and they also get a free service every month which the technicians do not get AND the company makes it very difficult to do any service trades between the technicians. There is no HR department and no one on the corporate who you can confide in. Corporate does not care what employees have to say. All employees have to go out of there...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your technicians.

    InSpa2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Guest Services Coordinator Position Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pretty laid back, free spa services once a month, learned about spa services, was able to do my homework at the front desk, developed my communication skills

    Cons

    High turnover rate which resulted in overscheduling, hard to get shifts covered or time off due to management wanting the same times off even if you requested it off months ago, rude customers, not very consistent training, at times very boring, corporate can be really difficult and entitled

    Advice to Management

    Make training more consistent, hire enough people to have a good rotation and accommodate for vacation time,

    InSpa2018-11-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSC 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great service discount, monthly incentives

    Cons

    No direct deposit, horrible insurance, drama, no structured management, service providers run the show, lack of respect, low pay and favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees instead of making them feel replaceable. Get direct deposit. Get better insurance and pay more for these high stress jobs.

    InSpa2018-10-09
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skincare Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InSpa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, none, none, none, none!

    Cons

    A lot of harrasement by other employees. Manager doesn't do anything!

    Advice to Management

    Don't ignore harrasment!

    InSpa2018-07-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - LMP in Mill Creek, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InSpa part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great friendly atmosphere Flexible schedule Great service discount Close to home

    Cons

    Slow business at times (industry trend)

    Advice to Management

    Do more marketing. Implement changes faster.

    InSpa2018-05-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Inspa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at InSpa part-time

      Pros

      I have been here for 5 years now. I love the people I work with. I love meeting new clients and have been able to build a good clientele base. I love to constantly learn and Inspa has provided tools for continuing education.

      Cons

      Unfortunately there is no health insurance, or bonus structure for earning more money

      InSpa2018-05-30
    Found 63 reviews