KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Jazzercise

Is this your company?

Jazzercise

Add a Review

Jazzercise Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 44 reviews

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Jazzercise CEO Judi Sheppard Missett (no image)
Judi Sheppard Missett
23 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Apr 7, 2021 - Franchise Owner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super fun dance cardio workout

    Cons

    I have to write something here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Strong Female Empowerment

    Jul 25, 2021 - District Sales Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small company focused on bringing health and wellness to our 50,000+ customers.

    Cons

    A lot of women in management, which can create unhealthy competition.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Program for all

    May 13, 2021 - Fitness Instructor in Saint Augustine, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful program for all ages and fitness levels. Workouts are fresh and follow popular trends with equipment and music. Never boring. Support is great. Very pro women. LOVE IT!

    Cons

    Too hard to find places to teach that meet the stage/elevation requirement and even if you have a stage made, it's hard to find storage. Corp. says it makes the program special but it limits physical location options too much. It's why I'm not teaching and there are no classes in my area. Some instructors ignore the requirement because it is to limiting. Stinks if you're a rule follower.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Tons of fun, NO money

    Jul 13, 2021 - Instructor in Oceanside, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great exercise program Fun customers Paid to workout

    Cons

    The pay is abysmal Corporate takes the bulk of $ and instructors are left making very little

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Apr 10, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Wilmington, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got free classes for working

    Cons

    None besides the low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    basically a second home

    Jan 13, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Humble, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are lovely and always positive. They accept anybody who walks through the door and you always leave with a new dance partner

    Cons

    A little cold once you walk in but the temperature is perfect when you get your sweat on

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    It is the only job I have held a passion for.

    Apr 7, 2011 - Franchised & Certified Jazzercise Instructor in Wake Forest, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am my own boss. Jazzercise Inc. is helpful when a problem or question arises. It is the only place I can forget about my everyday problems for one hour. The students are wonderful. Jazzercise has been a part of my life for half of my life. It keeps me healthy and fit. Jazzercise has helped me get through some rough stuff over the years. It is fun. They keep current in marketing and promoting, they have a plan we can adapt to. They do alot of work for us in that respect.

    Cons

    The economy has kept enrollment low. I have found over the years when things get tough in a family, mom's Jazzercise is the first thing to get dropped off the weekly schedule. I have heard that excuse for quitting many times, I think it is very sad. When things are tough, that's when we all need the stress release the most. Alot of people think the instructor gets a pay check from Jazzercise. We get paid by the student and Jazzercise gets a percentage of that, we need to pay rent and other ongoing expenses, and are left with a few dollars when all is said and done. We really don't make much money, but you have to look at other benefits brought to the table.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Happy Fit Body...Sad Empty Wallet

    Sep 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a franchise, so you own your own business. Fun music, fun choreography. And you get paid to work out. Corporate keeps it fresh and challenging. The name might make you think "leg warmers and headbands" but this program has truly kept up with the times.

    Cons

    It's almost impossible to support yourself on what you make. If you're a class owner corporate keeps 20% of your gross. Add rent and other fees and you're lucky to have anything left over. Promotional items (give aways that customers play games/challenges to earn) are very pricey as well. This is a labor of love and fitness...because there's not much else if you're a class owner. If you're an associate (substitute or fill in) instructor, expect to make anywhere from $10 to $25/class. Factor in prep time, driving time, etc and you're working for poverty wages.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Horrible experience

    Nov 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some support by senior management for change but most in leadership want growth without fundamental change.

    Cons

    Back biting and gossiping by senior leaders in the company went on regularly. Decisions were not based on business fundamentals but on the whims of Judi, the founder, who is desperately trying to hang on to the success of Jazzercise from its hey day in the 80's. Unfortunately, the market has progressed and, sadly, she does not seem to be interested in evolving with the market and delivering to customers and franchisees what they are wishing for today. Her daughter is more than capable to take over and would do a good job at progressing the company but he is unable to do because Judi wants to continue to be in the limelight and run the show.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pay is terrible

    Mar 8, 2017 - Instructor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the women I work with and the program itself. Great full. Indy workout.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible and the way pay can fluctuate each month is ridiculous. So much time and energy is put in to creating a great workout set and a great experience for our customers. Besides the hour I teach class I usually prep for 1 hour learning a new routine or two and then getting the set in order. To get paid $10 then becomes $5. My time is worth more than that-the last time I made $5 an hour was as a teenager in the 90's at a fast food restaurant. Not allowing us to teach at fitness centers like 24hrfitness was your biggest downfall.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Jazzercise Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Jazzercise? Share Your Experiences

Jazzercise logo
or