Keyera Reviews | Glassdoor

Keyera Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Keyera CEO David G. Smith
David G. Smith
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome company.....so I thought..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Operator in Hull, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Keyera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working here but unfortunately my time here was cut short. Flexible. The company really helped the employees down in Texas when Hurricane Harvey hit. Most employees lost everything and they created a Go Fund Me account and raised money and then Keyera matched that amount. When hired on they give a $3000 loan since your paycheck is a month behind to help you transition with your bills, etc. Vacation time is...

    Show More

    Cons

    This company continually talks about being "family" but they don't treat their employees like family. They give special treatment to certain employees. They portray to follow a protocol for write-ups/terminations (Example: 1 verbal warning, 1 written warning and then termination), however, they don't do this. One day you are there and the next you are gone. And they won't give you any reason why. The superintendent...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If an employee is doing something wrong, tell them either verbally or a written reprimand. Don't just fire them and tell them their services are no longer needed...especially the employees that "think" they are doing a good job and are loyal to the company.

    Keyera2018-03-19
  2. "Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keyera full-time

    Pros

    well organized, processes in place, support from multi disciplined team, opportunity to change and influence work processes, respectful, hectic work load if you like that kind of environment, operations is fully engaged, challenging work

    Cons

    old software system not efficient, too many signatures to get work approvals, old boys club and not a very well rounded group as friends of friends get hired and its not objective and fair, group grew too fast that silos are starting to build between some groups and leadership is required.

    Advice to Management

    too many male Directors on the Project/Engineering team and low ranking people need better support

    Keyera2019-05-01
  3. "Sr. Service Desk Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Service Desk Analyst (Team Lead) in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keyera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, very diverse work situations, great team

    Cons

    The only con is that some managers were old school and loved to micro manage

    Advice to Management

    let people fail that is the only way they will learn and be better for the experience

    Keyera2018-12-12
  4. "IT Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keyera full-time

    Pros

    There is always work available - job security

    Cons

    Not enough staff, expects employees to do too much

    Keyera2018-12-05
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Operator in Rimbey, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Keyera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Corporate Culture Good Salary Excellent Benefits Package

    Cons

    Local Management seemed resistant to change.

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible to current work culture

    Keyera2018-08-27
  6. "Great teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Keyera full-time

    Pros

    The employees at Keyera are great team mates

    Cons

    Some departments seem quite political

    Keyera2017-07-20
  7. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Keyera

    Pros

    excellent facilities and schedule flexibility

    Cons

    poor training, and shuffling between crews

    Advice to Management

    better training programs

    Keyera2016-12-22
  8. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support - Temporary in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at Keyera

    Pros

    - Great place to work, - Company values include teamwork and safety. The facilities, employees, managers, everyone truly stand by and support these values. (CEO comes and visits facilities regularly for safety meetings) - Acknowledge every effort put in.

    Cons

    - Very centralized management, so there is a lot of back and fort between the field and head office.

    Keyera2016-01-31
  9. "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keyera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard work, however it was a very good atmosphere to work. If I had questions I could always find someone to help.

    Cons

    I was assigned to several projects at the same time, at times it was difficult to juggle the work but it sure kept me on my toes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Keyera2015-09-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keyera full-time

    Pros

    Keyera is an awesome company with a great culture. Because of the midstream industry in which they operate, they are not as cyclical as most oil and gas companies, so you get more stability. They are still small enough that you're not just a number, but big enough to offer long term job stability. The engineering group is great.

    Cons

    Because of the great work environment, they haven't needed to pay people as high as other companies, and the stock benefits aren't great unless you stick around for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Try to foster, advise, and mentor the good entrepreneurial younger talent that joins. Recently lots of young blood has been lost to similar competing companies that see Keyera as becoming just another big company full of paperwork and bureacracy (it's nowhere close to the big O&G's).

    Keyera2015-08-05
Found 15 reviews