Kinross Gold Reviews | Glassdoor

Kinross Gold Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Kinross Gold CEO J. Paul Rollinson
J. Paul Rollinson
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "cios atrativos, plano de carreira que ajuda no crescimento profissional, sal(in 12 reviews)

  • "dia do mercado de trabalho atual(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "tica de progressao de carreira pouco transparente(in 7 reviews)

  • "ar melhores empregos dentro da empresa(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Kinross Gold Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Haul Truck Operator in Fairbanks, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kinross Gold full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    World class mining operations in multiple countries.

    Cons

    Arctic mining conditions are challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Experienced hands have valuable insights.

    Kinross Gold2019-05-02
  2. "Round Mountain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Metallurgist in Round Mountain, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kinross Gold full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company. Strong life of mine. Great community.

    Cons

    Isolated community. School system needs to improve.

    Kinross Gold2019-05-22
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Heavy Equipment Operator 

    I have been working at Kinross Gold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing money, benefits, retirement package, great safety rules, doesn't require degree, and beautiful view!

    Cons

    Lots of grumpy people and sometimes unreasonable management

    Kinross Gold2019-05-17
  4. "long commute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Bald Mountain, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kinross Gold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay at the company

    Cons

    long commute and no life during days

    Kinross Gold2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Position in Elko, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kinross Gold full-time

    Pros

    similar salaries to other companies in the industry, decent benefits

    Cons

    Zero leadership. Management is full of inexperienced and under qualified people who obviously got positions from nepotism. No career potential if not in the club. Avoid if you want any career progression or a professional workplace.

    Advice to Management

    If you continue to promote under qualified and inexperienced people to management positions at least put them through some leadership or management courses. Also remember you cant teach natural leadership qualities or people skills.

    Kinross Gold2019-04-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Think hard before you go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Mountain, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kinross Gold full-time

    Pros

    Standard gold company benefits. Short commute. Beautiful if you like the outdoors.

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism are rife. It's good to be related to the right people. A few departments have good management, some, however, have toxic managers that seem to be not just tolerated but embraced. HR actively abets them. If you interview, ask what turnover was, and if anything's changed. It will highlight bad departments.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention when people are leaving in large numbers.

    Kinross Gold2019-02-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Miner in Fairbanks, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kinross Gold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work with efficient work standard in all the departments.

    Cons

    Driving conditions in winter are difficult, be prepared!

    Kinross Gold2018-09-03
  8. "Mill Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mill Operator in Fairbanks, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kinross Gold full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about working in the Mill.

    Cons

    Don't know where to start. Do not come work for this company In Fairbanks at Ft. Knox. The Mill Operations managers always have something bad to say about someone. This place goes through people like Donald Trump goes through cabinet members. All around a huge disappointment. They like to fire people. If your not on the good ol boys list your history it doesn't matter if your a hard worker or not the will keep the cross...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your turn over rate has got to be the worst I've ever seen. If I could give zero stars I would! The pay sucks for the amount of work done!

    Kinross Gold2018-09-11
  9. "Worst company I ever had the misfortune of working for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kinross Gold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their is nothing positive at all about this job

    Cons

    Worse experience, I ever had working for anyone ! the management are as lazy as I ever seen! They won't do anything to help the employee to accomplish the job set forth him. Work here your on your own. worst job culture I ever seen. Keep your dignity look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Look for better bosses the ones you have suck and need to get a life

    Kinross Gold2018-08-07
  10. "Leech Pad Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kinross Gold

    Pros

    The company was great to work for. They had great benefits and are easy to work with for any insurance. They take care of their employees are were involved in the community.

    Cons

    There was nothing that I felt was wrong with the company.

    Kinross Gold2018-02-20
Found 121 reviews