Levelwing Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Levelwing Co-Founder & Managing Partner Steve Parker, Jr & Jeff Adelson-Yan (no image)
Steve Parker, Jr & Jeff Adelson-Yan
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fun but demanding work in a good environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are friendly and genuinely care about their work. The environment is relaxed even though the work at times is demanding. The benefits are good and there is flexibility in work hours and working from home when you need to. There are opportunities to be social with colleagues outside of work if that is important to you.

    Cons

    The work can be demanding but to some degree that is probably the nature of the industry. While there are efforts to foster open communication, sometimes things get lost along the way. Opportunities for advancement are not always clear.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    April 30, 2019HR Director

    Hi there - Thanks for your feedback! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall work environment & opportunities for flexibility. As you mentioned, the digital industry is ever-changing, but we make an effort to introduce new team events when possible – whether that is a company-wide scavenger hunt or bimonthly philanthropy efforts to give back to our community. We have recently taken strides to include ‘next step’ growth plans for all team members within annual reviews and continue to check-in with team members on overall progression.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "SEO"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Specialist in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people for the most part

    Cons

    The pay is not great

    Continue reading

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome environment to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to learn the digital space. - Emphasis placed on working as a team. - The people are wonderful to work with. - PTO and WFH is AMAZING.

    Cons

    - Lack of long term advancement opportunities. - Pay is low overall but is enough for first job out of college. - Be prepared to be hands on with your own training. Overall lack of structure for individuals new to the digital marketing space. - Less of a con and more of a warning. All agencies will have demanding clients. Do not expect to have a light work load.

    Levelwing Response

    November 5, 2019HR Director

    Hi %E2%80%93 thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience at Levelwing! We agree that our team is the best in the business for ongoing collaboration and generating out-of-the box ideas to always push limits. Our training processes evolve with each new hire, but I%E2%80%99m glad to hear you were able to quickly dive in to a new industry.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unique Intro to Digital Marketing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Display/Social Senior Account Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This job will offer you a lot of opportunities to grow and develop skills under the tutelage of some amazing marketing professionals. Also the people I met working here were truly good to the point they became lifelong friends and the work environment was positive overall!

    Cons

    The entry level pay is hard to reconcile and opportunities for advancement were unclear.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    April 22, 2019HR Director

    Hi – Thanks for your review. We agree that the team is awesome & our greatest asset! We are committed to developing monthly team events for everyone to connect between teams & departments. We are sensitive to the cost of living in Charleston, and we continue to look at ways to increase our Total Rewards package. For instance, this year we implemented a 4% company match to Levelwing’s 401k program.

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Ridiculous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Charleston is cool, office is decent

    Cons

    -Leadership manages the difficult feat of being both incompetent and mean/nasty at the same time -The company has publicly and openly threatened people with retaliation for leaving GlassDoor reviews in the past because they know no one likes working there -Only cares about winning new business; once you're a client and they have you in a contract, service level goes out the window -I was forced to do things I found shady (not like, sexual...just meaning telling the clients things that I know aren't true etc) in order to win/retain business -The work given to employees doesn't really prepare you for work outside of Levelwing -Very low, uncompetitive salaries: given it's one of the only agencies in Charleston area, they know they can pay bottom dollar and get away with it -Not a flexible work environment -- the rules around worktime and working from home are archaic -Benefits aren't great

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    March 29, 2019HR Director

    Hi there - Thanks for taking the time to provide your perspective. We are deeply committed to Workplace Flexibility and have implemented numerous benefits to support this effort over the past few years. A few of these benefits include: flexible office hours, up to a month of work from home days, ability to accrue up to a full month of PTO & a fully paid month-long sabbatical after 4 years. I’d be happy to discuss any other feedback you may have. Please email us at hr@levelwing.com.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "A place for entry level employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not bad if you have 0-2 years experience and are interested in learning more about marketing and data/analytics. Most of the employees are nice.

    Cons

    Upper management, when I was there, was quite poor. Generally, lacked a pulse on the company and just saw most employees as numbers. The long term vision was lacking and client appeasement was #1, at any cost, which created an unsustainable work environment.

    Continue reading
  7. "LW"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEM Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing part-time

    Pros

    Levelwing has great people and a great culture. Everyone was willing to help each other out.

    Cons

    Slight disorganization because fo the turnover rate.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    March 22, 2018HR Director

    Hi there – Thanks for your feedback! Our team-centered approach ensures maximum collaboration and overlap, so I’m glad you felt supported during your time with Levelwing. We value each team member and work hard to align personal interests with business goals to find the perfect fit for each person within the team.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Media Account Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Account Analyst in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is all very friendly and approachable. You'll make friends here, and coming to work is fun. The job itself, once you learn what you're doing, it's enjoyable. Management believes in what happens outside the office is important, so there's great vacation time, and benefits are also good. The office culture is a huge plus. The Levelwing team has worked very hard to make coming to work exciting. They have annual events like the "amazing race" and "freak flag" to name a few. These events scramble team members up so you'll have interns communicating with directors in a relaxed, fun setting. Also, if you're fresh from college or doing a career shift, these is a great launchpad.

    Cons

    Communication could be better. The on boarding process is a little rocky. If you have zero experience in the role (Display or Paid Search), you may struggle, as there are so many nuances to not only the UI's you'll use, but the software. A lot of times you may not have questions because you simply don't know you have them - there's just so much to learn. This makes the job hard. Always be open and transparent in this role about what you do or do not know because of this. Salary is not competitive and is very low. This job can be very demanding at times with high levels of stress.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    March 22, 2018HR Director

    Hi – Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience at Levelwing. I’m happy to hear that you found the day-to-day exciting and thought LW team events were fun opportunities to further connect with other team members. We adjust & improve the Orientation process for each new hire, so we appreciate this feedback as well.

  9. "Fun & Collaborative Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent learning environment. - Lots of exposure to all aspects of digital marketing with national and international brands. - Knowledgeable mentors that give you opportunities to take on big projects & push you to excel. - Great atmosphere and coworkers. - Generous PTO and benefits packages.

    Cons

    - You will work long hours. - Client needs can be overwhelming at times.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    January 24, 2018HR Director

    Hi – Thanks so much for providing more detail on your Levelwing experience! I’m happy to hear that you received exposure to many facets of digital marketing and enjoyed the overall team focused environment. Client needs can certainly be ever-changing, but we are committed to protect work-life balance.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Many Cons with some Pro's"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Analyst in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Levelwing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot about the industry, learn a multitude of skills, helps prepare you for future career path.

    Cons

    Management is a mess with conflicting ideologies. They think they are better than they are and do not treat their employees with respect or pay them well. Supervisors are rarely available and do not provide proper direction or training, setting employees up for failure.

    Continue reading

    Levelwing Response

    January 24, 2018HR Director

    Hi – Thank you for offering your perspective. We take our Open Door Policy very seriously, as evidenced through our 30 Day Check-In Program, 360˚ Feedback, Annual Reviews, and ad hoc one-on-one discussions. I’d be happy to discuss any other feedback you may have. Please email us at hr@levelwing.com.

Found 40 reviews