Liftopia Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Liftopia Co-Founder and CEO Evan Reece
Evan Reece
18 Ratings
  1. "Seasonal Position that I wish lasted forever."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liftopia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team to work with. They are flexible with days you need off as long as you aren't over doing it. The interview process was super quick. The pay starts off pretty decently and if you live in a state that pays lower this is a great job to have during the holiday season.

    Cons

    This is a seasonal so do not expect sick time or paid days off.

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2020-03-12
  2. "Good Company - Suffers from lack of diversity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generally fun atmosphere. Good people.

    Cons

    Severely lacks diversity. No Black of brown person hired outside of Customer Support. The company struggles with women in leadership roles. The overall culture is more condusive to men. Marketing struggles to have resources allocated. 5 marketing leaders in 8 years. 5 partially implemented email service providers in the same amount of time - but email is a primary driver of marketing efforts.

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2019-12-16

    Liftopia Response

    December 24, 2019CEO

    This is really good feedback, thank you very much. We certainly have a way to go with regards to diversity in our hiring, though it has been somewhat challenged by the size of our company and how many people we can hire in any given year. As our company continues to grow and change, it certainly is important to have an open door and to do a better job in our pursuit of any and all candidates who can make us a better company and a better place to work.

  3. "A great company with a great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Liftopia really cares about its employees and the skiers it is trying to help save on their hobby.

    Cons

    The workload can be intense during the busy season.

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2019-10-04
  4. "A really great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great group of people to work with which made my time there very enjoyable. I experienced a highly collaborative environment where people across the whole team constantly pushed for a better product. Creative approaches to problems were encouraged as were revisiting previous problems to look for more optimized solutions. The company as a whole is welcoming and actively encourages it's employees.

    Cons

    It turns out I'm a bad skier. The seasonal nature of the business can lead to both hectic times and down times. There is a point of too much collaboration where it can slow down work.

    Liftopia2019-09-26
  5. "Liftopia Amazing Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Liftopia is an amazing company. I worked for Liftopia during the 2018/2019 season and it was a wonderful experience. The team of people who work with Liftopia are absolutely some of the best. It is a very comfortable place to work, and they make you feel like part of the team as soon as you're hired. They appreciate their workers, and it's a very positive, upbeat environment that makes it difficult to leave. This is a seasonal job, however the pay is more than fair. The hours are great as well. The systems are very user friendly and easy to learn, the training is fast-paced and short so you start working right away, and the team and leaders are only a message away for any and all questions. In all, I have no complaints about Liftopia, only many good things to say. It was a great experience and I wish each and every person I worked with the very best in life, today and always. Thank you for having me.

    Cons

    The only con in my opinion is the job is only seasonal.

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2019-02-03
  6. "Customer Support"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia part-time

    Pros

    remote work opportunity the team that is there to assist you with any questions you might have a flexible schedule when asked for both full time and part time folks

    Cons

    the work is quite demanding, much like any CS role and the pay could be more considering the skills necessary to be successful.

    Liftopia2018-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun and interesting place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -You actually are making an impact on a fun industry- ski! -I truly enjoyed working with my coworkers and spending time with them -Management cares about you as a person and are easily accessible if you ever want to chat with them -Excellent work life balance -Strong, fun culture

    Cons

    -Small company means there aren't a ton of different teams to potentially switch to if you want to work outside of your core role -Salary is solid but not the highest paying in tech -On occasion more layers of management than there should be in small teams -free snacks but not lunch/breakfast like other bigger tech companies

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2017-10-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture/values & people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time

    Pros

    It's a small team that has had growing pains in the past, but it's a great culture with people who definitely live the values. There's a lot of opportunity for wearing many hats and getting experiences you wouldn't otherwise at a larger company. The upside is that you'll have the ability to grow into ownership and be able to make an impact on the business and the company in a meaningful way.

    Cons

    For on-site customer and partner support roles, turnover had been high and dissatisfaction also constant, as there were few, if any, opportunities for growth within that group. Again, career growth in general across all roles can be limited, as well, since the team is quite small and leadership is firmly in place.

    Liftopia2017-07-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Must Love Snow"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liftopia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people at Liftopia are it's heart. You will never work with a more pleasant group. You genuinely like everyone there and look forward to walking in the door everyday because you are part of such a great culture. The CEO quickly becomes your friend and you know he would bend over backwards for you. Great place for recent grads to cut their teeth in SF, or ski-bums looking for a change from delivering pizzas in the off-season. Culture fit is really important here. Very much a For-Skiers-By-Skiers company. Pretty great work/life balance. Feels like a start-up. Opportunities to learn a lot and wear many hats. Casual environment. No one really expects you to come in and reinvent the wheel. Fun parties.

    Cons

    The pay is below average and raises are rare (and inconsequentially small). The team is relatively flat, so the only opportunities for growth and promotion are for junior-level employees and temp-to-perm hires. Turnover is extremely high and staffing is consistently an issue with it taking months and months to backfill positions. In that vacuum, utility staffers get stuck with 3 different jobs, are overworked without additional compensation or promotion, get frustrated and leave, perpetuating the turnover cycle. The "open" vacation policy was rolled back to "at your manager's discretion" vacation, which makes it difficult for those utility employees to actually take time off, which speeds up employee burn-out. As a ski company, Liftopia is still (somewhat) ahead of the ski industry, but as a tech company it is more than a decade behind industry standards. No one wants to reinvent the wheel and tech debt is a constant impediment. Leadership is reactionary and rarely based on research or strategy. Culturally, if you are not a die-hard skier or snowboarder, it can be a difficult place to thrive. The downside of the For-Skiers-By-Skiers mentality is that the company (internally and externally) struggles to speak to, and provide value for non-ski-fanatics. While the ski industry is a great club, it is still a small and exclusive club. The business is ultimately a seasonal one with all the peaks and valleys that go along with it. The leadership continually struggles to break out of seasonal cycles. Growth and advancement is extremely limited.

    Liftopia2017-02-09
  10. "Love this place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liftopia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A business that creates value all around - skiers, ski resorts, employees - and has lots of growth potential. A culture with core value that are real and not fluff. The team cares about one another and management is always trying to improve the employee experience

    Cons

    Seasonal highs and lows. Weather doesn't always do what you want it to.

    Continue reading
    Liftopia2016-11-12
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews