KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MJHS

Engaged Employer

MJHS

Add a Review

MJHS Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 of over 162 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
MJHS President and Chief Executive Officer Alexander Balko
Alexander Balko
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and friendly work environment(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, friendly people (staff & managers)(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is zero work life balance, management is very unorganized and the workload is high(in 6 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not care about employee concerns or job satisfaction(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Hi

      Feb 2, 2021 - CMC in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      everybody is nice and helpful

      Cons

      can't think of one right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. Mary S. McCarthy BS, RN, AVP Human Resources.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Care Management

      Jul 8, 2021 - RN Care Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good place to work and great support teams

      Cons

      No con at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Supportive Administration

      Jul 20, 2021 - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have supportive administration, flexible hours.

      Cons

      lack of professional development, pay compared to other places in the city

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Passive Aggressive Managers

      Jul 8, 2021 - Social Worker in Queens Village, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, trainings and serving families

      Cons

      Social Worker treated like CNA staff. Lack of Support from leadership. See something don’t say anything policy. Lack of skills of managers. Low standards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture with Fair Workload

      Oct 16, 2020 - Assessment Nurse in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In these uncertain times the problems here are not specific to MJHS. Time will tell, but they have no laid off any of their nurses to date, which speaks well to their values. The caseload itself is very manageable once you get the hang of things. Like any job, it will take you 6 months to a year to 'master' the job. My supervisor is extremely respectful, kind, and organized. Not all supervisors are created equal, but it appears most are of the same quality. MJS has a 'e-mail culture'. You will typically get 50-70 emails per day. It was overwhelming for me initially but now I keep my mailbox clean throughout the day. I prefer this much more than a supervisor who calls you about every matter. If layoffs do happen, I would prefer to be re-assigned within MJHS. I love the culture here and the commitment to excellence.

      Cons

      When we were in the field, we could have used more assistance with RFS appointments. You can't schedule to far in advance because an RFS will blow up your schedule. There needs to be a better scheduling system if and when nurses have to return to the field. Maximus and mediciad is a complete mess right now. You can only hope we have jobs in one year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. These are indeed challenging times and we value your opinion for improvement. Thank you.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Some love it and others hate it

      Jun 14, 2021 - RN Casemanger in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health and dental benefits, good retirement account with employee matching, and a life insurance policy that pays out 1 year salary. Great co-workers.

      Cons

      Like many RN jobs, the work load and demand is too high. Not enough time in an 8-hour work day to complete the tasks. Frequent policy and workflow changes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We listen so we can act and improve.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      RN Case Manager

      Jun 4, 2021 - Registered Nurse%2C BSN in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff at MJHS is very diverse and that is something that is encouraged at every level of employment.

      Cons

      The workload is not something that can be completed in an 8-hour time frame. Every day I had to stay an extra hour of work and that was just to stay afloat.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are always working to improve and value your ideas.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Work experience

      Apr 30, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well compensated. Flexibility with scheduling time

      Cons

      High turnover. Easy burnout. Assignment changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Our turnover is actually very low but we still work to improve on that percentage. Thank you for your feedback.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Apr 22, 2021 - Care Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home is awesome

      Cons

      Not much that i can think Of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MJHS Response

      Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that working from home appeals to you.

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor Management

      Feb 5, 2021 - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health insurance, 12 sick days 4 weeks vacation and 3 personal.

      Cons

      Supervisors make you feel disposable. They tells you to put up with the ridiculous workload because "You should be happy you still have a job." Nurses complain daily about the workload but managers and supervisors don't care because they don't have to do it themselves. Not sure who in HR or MJHS we can turn to or if they can even do anything about it. Management is all about productivity and focuses on quantity instead of quality. Pre-COVID we were asked to see 12 patients a week for UAS, now we are asked to see about 30 and they hound us when we cannot meet productivity, when it is physically impossible. Management should understand that anything we are asked to do as a part of our job should count towards productivity including mandatory HR trainings.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 147 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MJHS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MJHS? Share Your Experiences

    MJHS logo
    or