McGrath RentCorp Reviews | Glassdoor

McGrath RentCorp Reviews

Updated October 22, 2018
25 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
McGrath RentCorp President and CEO Joseph F. Hanna
Joseph F. Hanna
4 Ratings

25 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for the long-term. Good people in all locations and caring management at the corporate office.

    Cons

    Stable job environment that does high and promote from within but the opportunities are limited. However, a good place to stay if you like the job you have.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Your management style and the personality of each member of s

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We have lots of tenured employees and that does make moving up a challenge and we make it a priority to consider internal candidates.


  2. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I work with some of the best people in the world. We strive to hire great people to take care of the customers, both internal and external and it shows. I believe we get excellent reviews and ratings from our customers because our people care about our customers and each other.

    Cons

    Some of the systems are dis-jointed and some are still older, but we are continually working to make improvements. We still have challenges in some areas with upward career movement, but if you are highly motivated you can make it happen!

  3. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time

    Pros

    Benefits package, competitive pay

    Cons

    Long hours for exempt employees.


  4. "Great People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Livermore, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people. Good work/life balance. Opportunity for growth with hard work.

    Cons

    A lot of manual processes but newer systems are always in the pipeline.

    Advice to Management

    Continue working on communication with/between employees.

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working to implement new processes or systems to help everyone be more efficient and effective in their roles. Keep making suggestions as you see the need!


  5. "hahahahaha"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGrath RentCorp full-time

    Pros

    There is an office to go to... the systems work most of the time.. they don't micro-manage

    Cons

    Don't believe the 50k hype for 1st year sales.. surpassed goals and nowhere near that!... 1st Reps in hold all major accounts and never release any (according to McGrath's own rules)... they hit you if a container comes back early and only pay out 1% for the containers staying out longer

    Advice to Management

    Why bother...they don't listen

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for providing your review. Because of feedback like yours, we are working to improve our onboarding experience for new hires, so we can avoid situations like this in the future.


  6. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time

    Pros

    Good work, life balance. Growth & career advancement opportunities available.

    Cons

    Antiquated in some of the processes but they are working for better solutions.

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. It helps us continue to exam our processes and systems as we continue to grow.


  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pasadena, TX
    Current Employee - Director in Pasadena, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people, amazing culture, financially sound, opportunity to grow for those that want more. This company is awesome! I have been very blessed to work for Mobile Modular Management Corporation. The company leadership is phenomenal and they have their employees and their customers best interest at heart.

    Cons

    I really can't think of one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for the review! You are one of the people that help us have an amazing culture.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Being just a number VS being part of a team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGrath RentCorp full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working for Mobile Modular Portable Storage has a lot of pro's. Branches can feel like a close knit family atmosphere. Monday through Friday with a generous amount of paid holidays, sick days and vacation.

    Cons

    Our previous VP was all about what made her look good, regardless of how the employees were made to feel. I nearly quit because of her. Our new VP seems to be more positive about being a "team".
    Executive team (CEO, CFO, COO,etc) are clueless to what the employees want or feel. Spend thousands of dollars for surveys to see if we're "engaged" or what our concerns are... then does nothing with the information. Our opinions do NOT matter. Anymore, it's just "do your job and go home" mentality, don't put too much thought or care into the business or how you feel. Just be a number and be happy.
    Hiring within or advancements are RARE.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting time and money on surveys if you're not going to listen or act on the findings. If you REALLY want to know how your employees feel or what they think would help the business, then simply ask.
    Also, look within when promoting, instead of bringing in outsiders who have zero knowledge or want to know what our industry does.

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your review. We are trying to improve our employee engagement in multiple ways.


  9. "I really enjoyed my time working at McGrath"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGrath RentCorp part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone was very kind and approachable. It was always very clear what was expected of me and I could go about my work with few interruptions.

    Cons

    Some departments don't communicate as efficiently as I feel they could. There are small things that I think could be done to make working with other departments easier, but some problems were ignored and never addressed.

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated and valued.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "An engaging & rewarding organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Livermore, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGrath RentCorp full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Supportive on work/life balance
    Encourages stretch projects & rewards initiative
    Great leadership
    Rewards longevity

    Cons

    Operate lean corporate teams

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster your employees development as it made a world of difference for me as a leader, I had more confidence and felt supported to take risks and try new things

    McGrath RentCorp Response

    Aug 21, 2018 – HR Director

    Thank you for responding.


Showing 25 of 28 reviews
Reset Filters