Metcash Reviews | Glassdoor

Metcash Reviews

Updated September 11, 2017
30 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ian Morrice
6 Ratings

30 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Big lessons learnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Macquarie (Australia)
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Macquarie (Australia)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metcash full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - plentiful and free parking,
    - gym facility,
    - modern and well kept office,
    - 7.30am to 4pm or 8.30am till 5pm
    - a few cafes around
    - high turnover so plenty of opportunity to switch roles vertically
    - good for people who just wants to grow their admin skills
    - very challenging: good learning curve on how to deal with different characters
    - great exposure to FMCG

    Cons

    - no established training or structure for on-boarding employees. they've only started implementing it a month ago so still in the immature stages of implementation. can already tell that it's basically a pep talk rather than a training. there's too much to cover so they have kept it short to just a briefing rather than a proper training
    - do the seniors such as head of merchandise and general managers know what's going on with their teams? do they have talks with their individual team for catch ups?
    - why is the chain of communication so messed up in the way seniors manage their team's work? there are different people you telling to do work in different ways. so how do you do your work when you're only suppose to listen to just your manager at the end of the day? do they not consider the managerial hierarchy.. also, there are so many layers - communication gets lost ALL the time and you are told to do one thing but have been missed on the next communication. a very inefficient structure.
    - so many employees are leaving, do HR do exit interviews? do HR exist.. where are they? is HR understaffed too?
    - witnessed a few bullying cases if you are honest about some manager's management & attitude. Yet, the managers will compile everything to defend themselves and throw the ball back at the prosecutor. best advice is to keep quiet and quit the workplace before they bully you for being honest. managers need to keep their cool more, be logical and collected in their approach. take constructive criticism effectively.
    - so understaffed that you are thrown into the deep end as a new employee with a lot of pressure to complete work and be completely competent in metcash's immature process & inefficient system. how do you be competent in metcash's immature process and inefficient system without proper training
    - everyone you work with wants to do their work well and correctly (i.e meet their KPIs) but you can never do it correctly because your work is not even aligned to the KPIs. Also, everyone's KPI are conflicting that no one can get along
    - you're constantly working with other teams but your manager and their managers are never getting into an agreement with the system or process. so you're constantly reworking and doing the same thing again and again - and you can never feel a sense of achievement.
    - too many politics and people involved; can never get the company to move forward
    - you're never given the bigger picture so people can never think of what's the best thing to do in their role when it comes to decision making. even so, your KPI will deter you from doing the best thing for the business.
    - ineffective scorecards: implementing scorecard KPIs that were not relevant to my role. the way it was calculated felt rigged upon pay review.
    - phone interview said the job was 8am till 4pm or 9 to 5pm. Upon starting, it became 7.30am to 4pm or 8.30am till 5pm. no one ever leaves on time because you are just constantly bombarded from your direct manager and different manager or people you work with to get things done urgently that you have no time to even think about what you're doing nor be pro-active to plan ahead on what you're supposed to do next. basically, you work on demand and learn nothing that was promised in the job offer but merely administrative skills. do you get overtime when managers ask you to stay back? nope. Managers were basically desperate to just fill in the empty gap in their team so they'll take on whoever. if you ever do more hours, you'll never get rewarded for your hard work, maybe a pat in the back. Managers get away with your output to the benefit of their budget. Don't waste your time for the blood suckers.
    - I've seen people sick being forced to work because their managers are panicking to get work done. Do the managers not know how to do it themselves? Do managers not account for their employees mishaps i.e being sick? Are they at full capacity with their budget that they do not account for people being sick or going on holiday?
    - Metcash values? Get Cash?
    - Do we get bonuses or commission for our extra hard work? never seen of any recognition besides a pat on the back.
    - if managers are leaving work before their subordinates, there is something wrong with their management of their subordinates' work load.
    - Hierarchy is not flat enough so you'll never ever meet senior management - wait, do they exist? what is this magical SLT you hear of all the time that wants these brilliant ideas to come to life? Do they know their brilliant ideas will not come to life with the inefficient systems they have
    - you're so stressed out and probably doing more hours that you won't have a work life balance
    - the work you do here feels redundant for the future. one day, some I.T program will take over it all so you got to question.. what have you learnt that can help you in the future?
    - favouritism
    -

    Advice to Management

    - with any sort of system or process implemented, re-evaluate them periodically and properly assess it's implementation - don't play it by ear.
    - be more trained in basic HR & managerial skills such as performance management, development, TRAINING staff.
    - people are your most competitive resource, invest in them!
    - if managers to managers can come to an agreement with a harmonious system to work together, the turnover rate for coordinators wouldn't be that high.
    - restructure the entire second floor.
    - implement a new trading model

    Metcash Response

    Sep 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Advisor - Employment Branding

    We’re concerned about the experience you’ve had during your time at Metcash. Please send details to careers@metcash.com so we can investigate this and get it sorted. Thank you in advance for helping... More


  2. "Storeperson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Storeperson
    Current Employee - Storeperson
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metcash full-time

    Pros

    Line picking fork lift driver voice picker loader

    Cons

    Need a change wont to learn more

    Advice to Management

    L work as a time and work to suit the business

    Metcash Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – People and Culture Team

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of your current role with us. It’s really great to hear that you would like to invest in career development and we would encourage you to... More

  3. "Feedback on reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Sydney (Australia)
    Former Employee - Finance in Sydney (Australia)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metcash full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pros disappearing quickly, toxic work environment, lack of job security, no robust exit interview process

    Cons

    Lack of desire to REALLY change. If you post a review here and are contacted by Metcash P&C for feedback as they are concerned about your Metcash experience I wouldn't bother contacting them. In my opinion they aren't interested and merely want to give the appearance of a concerned former employer. With this attitude Metcash will NEVER be Australia's favourite place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Value all staff. Understand that just because things get done it doesn't mean that management understand how it gets done


  4. Helpful (1)

    "CATEGORY MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Sydney (Australia)
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Sydney (Australia)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metcash full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Convenient location, basic facilities like workstation space and kitchen available

    Cons

    Complex business, frequent restructuring, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Make long term plans, think about future and act fast

    Metcash Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Advisor - Employment Branding

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Our office location is convenient, a short stroll to the train and ample of onsite parking. We appreciate your feedback and understand that an agile environment... More


  5. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Metcash full-time

    Pros

    mostly inhouse
    oppurtunities to learn new technologies

    Cons

    long work hours
    no training
    pay is not market rate

    Advice to Management

    pay overtime
    invest more on staff development and training

    Metcash Response

    Sep 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Advisor - Employment Branding

    We value your work life balance and we’re disappointed you’ve experienced otherwise. We will share your honest feedback with the right people because we want to ensure a more positive sales... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise in Adelaide (Australia)
    Former Employee - Merchandise in Adelaide (Australia)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metcash full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You got paid on time

    Cons

    Nasty toxic enviroment
    Knowledge power mentality
    Secrets
    HR doesn't exist
    Bullying

    Advice to Management

    If you are having high turn over of staff its for a reason and that reason is managment. 3 times i wnt to HR about bullying and nothing was done

    Metcash Response

    Sep 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Advisor - Employment Branding

    We’re concerned about the experience you’ve had during your time at Metcash. Please send details to careers@metcash.com so we can investigate this and get it sorted. Thank you in advance for helping... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Metcash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Project Manager in Ryde (Australia)
    Current Employee - Business Project Manager in Ryde (Australia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metcash full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Metcash offers a really good work / life balance plus a culture of friendliness and collaboration

    Cons

    A bit clunky with some processes and legacy systems

    Metcash Response

    Sep 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Advisor - Employment Branding

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience! We're glad to have you on board for the year and hope we can keep you growing and empowered for a long time to come.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne (Australia)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne (Australia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metcash full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are great and very helpful. A great seam of people who are skilled for the job. Willingness to assist and see combined outcomes.

    Cons

    i guess pay/ remuneration bundle can be reviewed and a possible reward system or incentive program to be put in place.

    Advice to Management

    Keep acknowledging your people on the ground, include them in strategy and allow for opportunities to grow internally.


  9. "A day in the life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Macquarie (Australia)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Macquarie (Australia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    team dynamics, fast pace, always learning, the additional benefits - school holiday vacation program, a focus on health and wellbeing ($5 on site gym membership, well being days), paid maternity leave AND a community focused business

    Cons

    I wish the fantastic café onsite didn't sell hot chips to tempt me.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take staff on the journey


  10. "Nice people but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good working environment, work life balance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , , .

    Cons

    no growth, not very good for casual employees . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic


Showing 30 of 32 reviews
Reset Filters