Methodist Health System Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Methodist Health System CEO  James Scoggin, Jr.
James Scoggin, Jr.
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with good benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good teamwork, available management(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Short staffed, old equipment in some areas, busy, ratio, staffing(in 9 reviews)

  • "poor upper management, cramped work space(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best place I’ve ever worked!

      May 10, 2021 - Front Office Supervisor in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From day 1, Methodist felt like a family. I was welcomed by everyone in my clinic and everyone was eager to help me find my way.

      Cons

      I haven’t come across one yet.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 31, 2021 - RN Registered Nurse in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Methodist Dallas has a great culture of friendly people who help and encourage eachother. The President of the hospital, John Phillips, is kind and humble and will stop to ask you how your day is going and thank you for the work you do as he passes you buy in the hallway. He's the type of person who personally signs cards. The benefits are great here, and we were paid sufficient compensation and provided PPE during the COVID epidemic. Magnet status has opened the door for opportunity in research, leadership, and education. This is really a great place to work.

      Cons

      The hospital is understaffed which leads to heavy patient loads, though this has been drastically made worse by COVID. A maximum of 5 patients protects us here. Understaffing of PCT's causes extra work on the nurse. The equipment is a bit older and outdated.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review! And thank you for highlighting the opportunities we offer and acknowledging our great president. Trust us, we are doing our best to stay fully staffed, and we're constantly looking for more employees like you!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love Methodist

      Apr 24, 2021 - Care Transitions Navigator in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has been ranked one of the best places to work in Dallas 3 of the 5 years that I’ve worked there.

      Cons

      The skewed community view from past experiences.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review. We believe that there's a reason that Methodist has ranked "Best Place to Work" many times. We hope that your experience continues to be positive!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      May 11, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Euless, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, as good as an rn job can be.

      Cons

      Not many for most part it’s not stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Administrative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, caring staff, passionate about taking care of the community, lots of learning opportunities. Wonderful diversity and acceptance. Financially stable.

      Cons

      Benefits could be much better, salaries are conservative. Hospital leadership structure to flat.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review! It's always valuable to hear from longtime employees, so we will take your comments to heart! We are continually looking to create the best employee benefits possible.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 17, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture People work well together Senior leadership provide opportunities of growth for employees under them

      Cons

      Sometimes there is a perception of disconnect between employees and upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review! Your constructive comments about employees and management will help to inform our training of managers. We appreciate that!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work!

      Apr 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at Methodist for a long time, and the culture is amazing.

      Cons

      Healthcare is a challenging environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review! We agree that healthcare is challenging, especially during the pandemic. Thank you for your dedication and endurance!

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Co

      Apr 17, 2021 - Controller in Missouri City, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work life balance, commute

      Cons

      None that I can think of, the company is excellent

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your 5-star review! We're very glad that you enjoyed your tenure with us. May the rest of your endeavors be just as positive!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Shared Sense of Commitment

      Jan 5, 2021 - Chaplain in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I find the work environment filled with a overarching sense of shared commitment to patients and to one another. People are passionate about their jobs and of making a difference in the community in which we serve. The workforce is really diverse and very collegial. The President of Methodist Dallas took one entire hour on our first day of orientation to show the new hires around the hospital. I saw him do this at other times as well. I have never worked in a company where the president took that much time to show his/her personal appreciation for the newly hired staff. Due to the good financial management of the hospital Methodist was able to keep/hire personnel while other hospitals had to let go people in droves at the beginning of the Covid crisis.

      Cons

      As with any big company red tape can be cumbersome.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Methodist Health System Response

      Thank you for your thoughtful 5-star review! We're glad you noticed how much our leadership appreciates our employees. Thank you for being part of our team!

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Dependable, good benefits

      May 1, 2021 - ER Tech in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of hours available. Very good benefits.

      Cons

      Low pay, little to no raises. Management doesn’t listen to complaints of employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 454 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Methodist Health System Job Seekers

    Critical Care Residency, RN
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Methodist Health System? Share Your Experiences

    Methodist Health System logo
    or