Methodist University Reviews | Glassdoor

Methodist University Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Methodist University CEO Ben Hancock Jr
Ben Hancock Jr
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to be a Clinical Nursing Instructor!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nursing Instructor in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Methodist University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Department of Nursing Staff, Very supportive of clinical instructors, Available immediately for questions, motivated students

    Cons

    There are VERY few parking spaces

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Dean and all the current nursing department staff. The school puts out some great nurses.

    Methodist University2018-04-02
  2. "Friendly staff and community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Student Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Methodist University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice professional staff and faculty that encourage you to do your best

    Cons

    No job security even if your performance is great or spent a lot of years working there

    Methodist University2019-05-15
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Methodist University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small Campus and a nice environment to work for.

    Cons

    * Little resources. There are plenty of resources available but as much as I believe there should be.

    Methodist University2019-01-01
  4. "Pretty nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Methodist University full-time

    Pros

    Great campus, great people, great employee perks (athletic events, workout facilities, walking trails, library), good health benefits if you're single

    Cons

    Tuition driven model poses a challenge during downtrends in enrollment

    Methodist University2018-11-09
  5. "Assistant Professor of Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Methodist University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues friendly very helpful, administration also helpful. Campus is private and beautiful. Free tuition for your children at MU as well as its affiliates. Simulation lab equipment top notch.

    Cons

    Low pay as Assistant Professor, no MSN or DNP program. High expectations for committee involvement (typically more than 2). Monthly evening meetings difficult for those with children or house responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    Educate new faculty regarding the rating scale and outline what is expected for advancement including tenure or pay increases

    Methodist University2018-06-04
  6. "Good if you are a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Methodist University part-time

    Pros

    It is useful to have an on-campus job while you are a student.

    Cons

    It is insufficient to prepare for real-life jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Better monitor employee performance

    Methodist University2018-03-09
  7. "Adjunct Assistant professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Methodist University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Welcoming environment, supportive, Friendly, Cordial

    Cons

    Limit resources, challenging at times, Socio economic situation

    Advice to Management

    Proactive

    Methodist University2017-11-15
  8. "Good to be gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Methodist University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice campus with friendly people

    Cons

    Incredible amount of politics on this campus

    Advice to Management

    Try being a little more transparent. Oh yeah and honest

    Methodist University2017-10-30
  9. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Methodist University full-time

      Pros

      Great people. I love my coworkers.

      Cons

      Students are very "high school."

      Methodist University2017-04-26
    • "Marketing Professor Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Methodist University part-time

        Pros

        great people, good culture, diverse

        Cons

        can not find anything specific

        Methodist University2017-03-06
      Found 29 reviews