Miltec Reviews | Glassdoor

Miltec Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2014

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mike Stanfield
2 Ratings
  1. "It was a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miltec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work environment is positive, the pay is decent, and the work is interesting.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work is slow, but that has more to do with necessary red tape.

    Advice to Management

    Take more risks.

    Miltec2014-07-29
  2. "Overall enjoyable work environment but strong corporate bias toward army work and less so to NASA programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miltec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team leads and management have healthy respect for families and maintaining a good work-life balance, made significant effort to pay for 100% of my graduate tuition which was more expensive that local universities, very effective and positive personnel in key leadership positions

    Cons

    strong bias toward army and defense programs and less so toward NASA contracts, struggled to unify all Army and NASA programs into a collaborative effort and leverage expertise from both sides

    Miltec2014-10-16
  3. "Great company to work for; interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Miltec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork within groups. Approachable management.

    Cons

    Some groups did not work well together.

    Miltec2012-07-17
  4. "Nice company while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Miltec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, excellent pay and benefits until Ducommun bought them out. Now all they do is system analysis (generate paper), little or no hardware design.

    Cons

    Ninety five percent of the managers have advanced degrees and little to no experience with actually building anything. Do not work for this company unless you have an advanced degree, otherwise you will become extremely frustrated.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting your resources trying to compete with Luckup, Boing, and Rayon. Stick to systems analysis and small hardware contracts, that way if you mess up no one will care.

    Miltec2012-06-19
  5. "Overall, a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Miltec

    Pros

    Good salary, great benefits, bonuses, and great 401k contributions. Some company-sponsored family events provided. HR support staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    As with any government contract dependent work, there can be stability issues. Once a veteran owned small company, now owned by large corporation. Some of the small business atmosphere remains.

    Miltec2012-02-10
  6. "5 Stars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Miltec

    Pros

    Some of the best 401k benefits that I've seen anywhere. Also great salary, large raises and large bonuses. Excellent leadership, competent coworkers, and encouragement of career growth.

    Cons

    We don't seem to have as many paid vacation days as most places around here. But I believe HR is actually working on that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Miltec2010-06-18
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at Miltec

    Pros

    Miltec offers great benefits and great pay. There is also, or at least when I left, a great bonus program.

    Cons

    No real telecommute policy, does not offer a 32 hour (80%) full time with benefits option (must work 40 hour week to qualify for benefits)

    Advice to Management

    Offer a 32 hour work week option to provide true family/work life balance.

    Miltec2010-06-02
  8. "Feast or famine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in
    Recommends

    I have been working at Miltec

    Pros

    great benefits bonuses flex time very competent technical staff excellent functional managers and PMs

    Cons

    overly optimistic proposal bids cause major amounts of overtime unnecessarily too big to be little, too little to be big ducommun ownership

    Miltec2011-03-16
Found 8 reviews