Mopro Reviews | Glassdoor

Mopro Reviews

Updated October 19, 2017
164 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Cary Levine
109 Ratings

164 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Really killer product, great co-workers, fast-paced environment - really exciting company (in 14 reviews)

  • Used to have great people in my team and good benefits (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • It became a personal thing with upper management (in 9 reviews)

  • Good customer service is not recognized (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "My experience at Mopro was amazing. I really do not know where the negative vibes come from when it comes to Mopro."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Outstanding company and I continue to stand by my word.

    Cons

    The only negatives would be the perception of what others think of this company. I think people are just angry, It's one of the highest paid sales jobs out there. It's a great company to grow with and as technology changes this company has been creating its own path for there clients success at an affordable rate. I even became a client of Mopro. I was transfered from the Las Vegas office to the Irvine office and the atmosphere is high energy and exciting. Jump on board, I decided to leave and come back to Vegas. I don't regret anything within the whole 10 months I was there. I honestly left smarter and wiser.

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, there doing the right thing. If your in sales, you cannot gripe about quotas. That's why you choose sales in your life, to overcome obstacles and being proud of the success behind overcoming. I recommend Mopro as a business and work environment for anyone.

    Mopro Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your support!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice looking office (I was in the lab side so way quieter), nice people and opportunity for growth. It was an okay company, but knowing what I know now I wouldn't do it again.

    Cons

    Unless you're desperate, it's not worth it. I've been in tech for a while now and the stress and pressures of Mopro are very much just a Mopro thing. They try to say it's because they're a fast-paced tech company --no, it's because they're completely disorganized and kinda shady (no transparency at all). All the really good people leave after a few months because they know that they can do better. I would say suck it up, work there for six months if anything (get the experience) and then leave.

    Mopro gives tech companies a bad name, I feel sorry for people who this is their first job and they don't know any better. The only thing Mopro is good for is work experience on your resume.

    Also barely any people of color here. My friend who was African American pointed this out to me and being Hispanic myself, I felt my color here. I can only imagine how she felt.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency, relax on the ridiculous write ups and hire more POC (as in Black people).

  3. Helpful (2)

    "YOU GET WHAT YOU PUT IN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro (More than a year)

    Pros

    • You work on dual screens
    • Head down workers excel here
    • Medical/Dental covered
    • Be familiar with "outsourcing"
    • Friendships will transpire
    • They teach you what you need to know when you're hired
    • Almost everyone there will help you, just ask!
    • The techy vibes are nice
    • There's coffee...

    Cons

    • Employees that don't last long feel entitled - [see review title]
    • Overwhelmed is an emotion a lot of employees feel - but it's a fast pace environment, so...
    • Communication is (and always will be) an issue with the "outsourcing"
    • Silly, silly write-ups
    • There's coffee...

    Advice to Management

    Me, give advice to management...?

    Mopro Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your feedback.


  4. Helpful (5)

    "NOT A TRUSTWORTHY COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice office
    Great pay, I was making so much money for the work I was doing it was stupid lol
    Snack man is the best
    Bottomless Pepsi if you're into that
    I made life-long friends
    Really improved my self-deprecating comedy material
    Getting laid off with all of my friends brought us closer
    Company paid out PTO and gave a decent severance

    Also, this job was crazy easy. So incredibly easy. So all of these "fast-paced" "overwhelming but worth it" and "rewarding because you work so hard" reviews are probably BS written by HR. Which is def something HR does to try to balance out all the honest negative reviews., they write fake-positive reviews. But regardless of that. This job was the easiest job I ever had, it was a cake walk.

    Cons

    Mass layoffs

    On May 31st we were told we were going into training and the office would be closed for the day so we could be given the entire day to learn the new product.

    When we were all sent to board rooms, 3 board rooms with nearly 20 employees per room, we were all laid off instead. Each room was given a manger or upper-exec of some sort to tell us that we're amazing but Mopro had to make "tough decisions" and "deep cuts", and each room also had an HR rep to have you sign your paper and give you your monetary compensation, final check and what not.

    We had no warning, we did not know that the office they opened in Cebu was going to replace us. We were told that they weren't in fact, explicitly. We trained those reps, to the best of our ability, and they were still terrible. The language and culture barrier is just too much for the product they're trying so desperately to sell. A product you can get from other sources , like Wordpress, for free.

    Advice to Management

    Management here is honestly the biggest embarssment, no support, no transparency, no communication. Honestly you're lucky to even talk to a supervisor or manager, they're usually outside vaping when you need them. Rather than taking escalated calls themselves, they will tell you to transfer it to a more senior person in your own department... i.e. send it to your friend so they can get yelled at instead.

    This is absolutely, in no way shape or form, a trust worthy company. I would not purchase anything from them, and I would not work for them if I were in the market for a job.

    Mopro Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Community Manager

    We’re so disappointed to hear this was your experience with us. Making any organizational changes is a difficult and often necessary part of growth in a very competitive market. It’s with careful... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "They don't care about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro full-time

    Pros

    The office is kind of cool.

    Cons

    Management is incompetent and, at times, domineering. Always fun when boss's wife comes in and tries to have her say. A bunch of wannabes who are going under.

    Mopro Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Community Manager

    We’re sorry to hear you didn’t get the support you needed — we know how important that is in order to feel fulfilled in any role. While constructive feedback is always welcome, we do not accept the... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "A SINKING SHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mopro (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Good pay
    - Nice office

    Cons

    - Poor to none existing management
    - CEOs have no clue what they're doing
    - No free food or anything like in other big companies. All they provide is a soda and coffee machine. And half of the time it's broken
    - Very outdated products. Looks like from the early 2000s or so
    - People don't really interact with each other
    - If you applied or applying for a position in marketing (they call it DMC) you're screwed. Every single person quits because you're doing a call center job.
    - Mass layoff back in May regardless if you just started a few months ago or not. They kick you out the door like a criminal
    - All the work is sent to India and the Philippines. Cheaper labor.
    - HR is not professional, very biased
    - You're not allowed to tell coworkers when you're planing to quit

    Advice to Management

    I'm not sure how anyone can save this sinking ship. You seriously need to do a better job with the websites. What a normal person would pay $XXX/month for a website that looks like from the 90s if you can get everything for a minimum via Wordpress or Squarespace?

    The CEOs need to do a weekly meeting with the entire office to update everyone. It's a good chance to bond and really get to know each other. Because right now the culture is somewhere in the deep ocean.

    Mopro Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Community Manager

    We're sorry to read about your experience, but we appreciate your feedback. Your tip about more CEO townhalls is something we'd love to incorporate. Thank you and we wish you the best.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Well payed Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dmc in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Dmc in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mopro (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good compensation
    Great Training although nothing can prepare you for the job
    Management wants to help you
    Nice work place

    Cons

    Told to lie to sell product
    Constrained to companies proprietary software to create product
    Hard to advance
    Dealing with angry clients daily

    Advice to Management

    Your DMC's work hard enough without sales giving them clients who will only lead to cancelations and bad reviews for the company.
    There needs to be a department between sales and fulfillment.

    Mopro Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Community Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you felt supported by management and got a lot out of your training. As digital marketing coordinators, you're at the heart of our client experience and we... More

  8. "I believe in this place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Coordinator in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Coordinator in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mopro full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have opportunities to learn every day. Because this is a fast-paced company, I feel challenged ― in a good way.

    I genuinely love the people I work with. I'm inspired by their work ethic, dedication, innovation, and (last but certainly not the least of these) their sense of humor.

    I believe in what we do here. We're helping business owners tell their stories. And that's a mission I can get behind.

    I'm not afraid to share my ideas because I'm on a team that embraces creativity.

    Cons

    Because we're a tech company, things change really fast. Priorities are regularly shifting. Something you worked really hard on might not see the light of day. So that's something you should be comfortable with. But when you're able to see something through, from start to finish, it's rewarding to say the least.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be open and honest. It takes a lot of bravery to admit mistakes and be vulnerable ― and that's exactly how you've earned my respect.

    Seek advice and new ideas from employees at all levels in the company. There are so many talented people here who are bursting with ideas and just need someone to tell them to.

    Let's bring back some events that make the team feel valued and celebrated. There's a good energy in this place. I think we're ready for a new beginning. So let's party.

    Mopro Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We appreciate your support and feedback!


  9. "Network Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Network Administrator in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Network Administrator in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mopro full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    "Full of smart people to interact with everyday that helps you elevate your knowledge and increase the momentum of your career path."

    Cons

    "So much work and new wins that internal processes are stressed for capacity."

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Poor Management - Embarrassing Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mopro full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Coffee
    - Competitive Pay
    - Very friendly co-workers

    Cons

    - Management is poor
    - CEO has no experience in the industry and it shows
    - The product would have been good in the early 2000's but is currently a decade behind competitors
    - Mass layoffs have affected the culture in the company to the point people walk out

    Advice to Management

    The company is in their decline phase. Unless vision/CEO changes there is no advice to give.

    Mopro Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Community Manager

    Hi, We're sorry to hear this has been your experience. As a current employee, we encourage you to discuss your concerns with HR or send us more info on our anonymous employee feedback portal. Thank... More


Showing 164 of 168 reviews
Reset Filters