KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

OHL

Is this your company?

OHL

Add a Review

OHL Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 of over 175 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
OHL CEO Ashok Patel (no image)
Ashok Patel
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment and leadership(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good company but not longer operation in Canada(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours especially during summertime upto fall-time, but in Winter season all field works are on shutdown(in 5 reviews)

  • "Not a good company to build a career for a foreigner(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place To Work

      Oct 11, 2021 - Senior Superintendent in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very employee based company, you feel the company really cares about you. They say what they mean and mean what they say. They continue to grow the company in a positive direction.

      Cons

      As with any companys growth the policy's and procedures grow as well and not always for the good, takes us away from what we do trying to dot every I and cross every T. Because we work all over the country very spread out there are times you feel as if you are on an island.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      DECENT COMPANY

      Sep 15, 2021 - Assistant Project Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big heavy civil works Company

      Cons

      Lack proper management and pay scale is not decent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Ok company with poor management

      Aug 2, 2021 - Senior PM in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salaries are competitive with other companies of the same size and benefits are standard for the industry

      Cons

      There is a culture of awarding contracts and giving jobs to people in the inner circle of the upper management. Not a meritocracy and is ultimately negatively affecting the product.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Construction in Union

      Jul 15, 2021 - Pipe Fitter in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and solid bonus

      Cons

      Disorganized mess, a lot of politics

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Can't Pay Their Bills

      Jul 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people that really about the company.

      Cons

      Constantly getting cut off by vendors due to not paying bills. This is because upper management has buried their head in the sand about their accounting system that was created in house and it is too restrictive to pay bills.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jun 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Labelle, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good company to work for

      Cons

      Some people don’t like to give out hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cool Place

      Jun 15, 2021 - Project Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Comp and work life balance

      Cons

      Sr Management sometimes looses touch with reality

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic environment - avoid at all costs

      May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      N/A - no benefits to working here

      Cons

      Management provides 0 transparency. Do not expect your bonus to actually be paid out. Upper management are rude/toxic/self-centered. Waited until the last second to allow workers to work remotely due to Covid; forced employees back in as fast as they could. Benefits are horrible - 401k looks nice on its face, but only 20% of the match vests after 2 years, and 20% per year after that. Good luck getting any of the match. Disgusting offices and project sites. CEO has his pet intranet site that lacks usability and functionality - outdated technologically in so many ways.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good job

      May 17, 2021 - Work From Home Customer Service Representative in Gainesville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None at all nope not all

      Cons

      The manager s was something else

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      California Region Needs Leadership

      Oct 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My supervisor was great and helped me grow while I was there. They hire new graduates from the local colleges. The benefits are okay, but not great.

      Cons

      The California region needs help. The leadership has no leadership skills. If you are part of the "in group" all is okay, but if you are outside of that circle, your time there will be disappointing. I worked for OHL for over 4 years and reported to a C-Suite employee in NY. My supervisor was great. He helped me grow while I was there, but I was hindered by the leadership in CA. There were many yelling sessions between leadership and other employees. The last straw for me was when this person called me into their office over something I was only communicating from the NY office and yelled at me, slamming his fist on his desk and threw his phone. The whole office heard the yelling and looked at me with compassion when I left that office. At that moment I knew I had had enough. This person did apologize but only because he was told that he needed to apologize to me. This person also called a meeting with all office employees to apologize only after being told by my supervisor that he needed to. OHL can be an okay company to work for IF they had different leadership in California.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with OHL Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OHL? Share Your Experiences

    OHL logo
    or