Orbit Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Orbit Group Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Orbit Group CEO Mark Hoyland (no image)
Mark Hoyland
18 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Ever present thoughts of helping people • Great positive work environment • Great Directorship

    Cons

    • A little slow in decision making

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing those values, it does make a difference.

    Orbit Group2019-06-04
  2. "Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Technician in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driven, Progression, Employee Engagement, Flexibility

    Cons

    High employee turnover Better use of money

    Orbit Group2019-05-31
  3. "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Orbit has a great social purpose to build thriving communities. We invest all of our profit back into our communities, and it's uplifting to see the impact we have made from this. Employees are given a wealth of benefits - agile working means that I can have a great work-life balance and work around the hours that suit my lifestyle. We are consistently praised for good work and offered incentives to go above and... beyond. Orbit allows staff to have a voice across the business - innovative ideas are encouraged from top to bottom.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a part of such a large organisation means that there are some formalities and 'tick boxy' things that you have to complete - but would be the same in any large company.

    Orbit Group2019-05-20
  4. "Highly variable company with good and bad sides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most on the ground staff do actually care about the people and job even when procedures can stop them doing the right thing. The organisation is also no doubt improving and has currently has a real drive to make employees happier and has some good employee benefits.

    Cons

    Inter-departmental working can be atrocious. The problem really stems from there being far too many director level positions considering the size of the organisation. Any change has to pass across many desks and communication between individual areas is terrible. Employee wellbeing is hugely variable and inconsistent; some areas promote agile working while others shut it down instantly.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs a restructure and not just the lower half of the organisation which has happened multiple times now. The business is massively top heavy with essential areas getting cut the bone.

    Orbit Group2019-05-31
  5. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time

    Pros

    A great place to work that gives you an opportunity to grow, develop and learn new skills. Orbit are ambitous and constantly looking to improve. The benefits are excellent including the pension, free medical insurance and the holiday.

    Cons

    Car parking can be an issue at times at the Coventry office and sometimes communication from leadership isn't the best.

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to take too much on and change too many things at once.

    Orbit Group2019-02-28
  6. "Decent sized social housing landlord"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbit Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent sized company it’s easy to know what’s going on across the organisation. Good holiday packages. Local to Coventry and Warwick Free tea and coffee though I don’t know if that’s still the case.

    Cons

    Professionalism completely lacking especially where income services is concerned, anything goes most times from managers and team members. Unrealistic targets set and very much target orientated instead of providing support to those in need( social landlord)!. Outdated systems policies and procedures. Staff’s well-being is taken for granted. I remember having to justify doctors appointments many times. Disabled... members of staff are often treated with contempt it is very unwelcoming. Less likely to progress unless you’ve worked at orbit for many years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff, listen to your customers. Promote agile working to all your staff and not only the SMT. Promote equality and diversity and treat your staff well.

    Orbit Group2019-03-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time

    Pros

    Agile working, strong benefit package, usp around building thriving communities and genuinely helping people.

    Cons

    Review of maternity policy is happening as needs reviewing

    Advice to Management

    Review maternity policy

    Orbit Group2018-11-01

    Orbit Group Response

    January 18, 2019Group People Director

    Thank you for your positive feedback and five star rating! We are continuously striving to improve and take your advice on board as we review our policies.

  8. "Surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Free fruit Wednesday/staff initiatives

    Cons

    Trying to operate like a main contractor but without the setup to do so

    Orbit Group2018-10-04

    Orbit Group Response

    January 18, 2019Group People Director

    Thank you for your time and feedback. We encourage you to speak to your manager or use the anonymous MyFeedback tool to raise any concerns/suggestions.

  9. "Great place, lovely people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work Management very approachable keen to hear your feedback Opportunities for progression

    Cons

    Can sometimes be very divided between departments

    Orbit Group2018-09-15

    Orbit Group Response

    January 18, 2019Group People Director

    Thank you for your lovely feedback! We promote collaborative working across Orbit and welcome your suggestions as we are always striving to improve.

  10. "Innovation at the core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employmen Skills Team Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Orbit encourages innovation at every level, listens to its staff on the ground and is proactive in its approach to managing resources, improving ways of working, and ultimately to improve the customer's journey. All of this helps its employees to feel valued and a real player in what is effectively, a very large company.

    Cons

    All this innovation and drive comes at a very fast pace and if you want a slow, repetitive job, this company isn't for you.

    Advice to Management

    One of the best innovations so far are the Achieving Together Briefings for all staff and the chance to speak to the Senior Leadership Team on a regular basis.

    Orbit Group2018-07-26

    Orbit Group Response

    January 18, 2019Group People Director

    Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear you are having such a positive experience at Orbit and hope you continue to do so. Thanks again :-)

Found 29 reviews