Pekin Insurance Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pekin Insurance President Scott Martin
Scott Martin
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pekin Insurance is an amazing place to start your career(in 11 reviews)

  • "Pekin Insurance offers a great benefits package and very competitive salaries(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly can not think of any "cons" of Pekin Insurance(in 4 reviews)

  • "No training and they treat employees terrible(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to wirk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Leader in Pekin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, they care about their employees.

    Cons

    A little too conservative at times

    Pekin Insurance2019-12-20
  2. "Downhill climb"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewal Underwriter in Pekin, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress, Cafe, flexible hours

    Cons

    Very little communication. Poor training.

    Pekin Insurance2020-04-03
  3. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pekin Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers, good benefits

    Cons

    The training was not the best

    Pekin Insurance2020-02-20
  4. "Claim Adjuster"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time

    Pros

    flexible work schedule, good experience

    Cons

    outdated training, feels like you are in a call center some days

    Pekin Insurance2019-11-04
  5. "Good company, good benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewal Underwriter in Pekin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and extensive PTO policy. Company match on 401K is decent and health insurance is average. Company is modernizing with new systems which provides a challenge but hope for the future.

    Cons

    Procedures and responsibilities are ill-defined in new system. Employees are encouraged to figure things out on their own and share their findings with others. Management is slow to implement updates and official procedures. Compensation is slightly behind industry average .

    Continue reading
    Pekin Insurance2019-09-18
  6. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Underwriter 

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time

    Pros

    benefits, management, culture, coworkers, PTO

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about right now

    Pekin Insurance2019-08-07
  7. "Be cautious"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Local company with reasonable pay Benefits are adequate

    Cons

    HR department attitude and their culture of intimidation Employees truly worried about direction of company, but worried about retaliation if they give true feedback. I am worried to even give this feedback.

    Continue reading
    Pekin Insurance2019-07-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Pekin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great benefits - wonderful culture - management creates opportunities for advancement and actually cares to see you follow through and grow

    Cons

    - the "flex time" in certain departments could use a little work... it's not very "flexing" when there's a "can't be earlier than" stipulation on arriving and leaving during the season that isn't as busy.

    Continue reading
    Pekin Insurance2019-06-18
  9. "Rater"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rater in Pekin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pekin Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Culture and people, nice perks too

    Cons

    They need to Train people faster

    Pekin Insurance2019-05-28
  10. "Great benefits for new parents!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pekin Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I just returned from my leave after having my first child. I was paid during my leave and even received parental leave! HR even sent me a baby gift! So unexpected!

    Cons

    I would love an on-site daycare!

    Pekin Insurance2019-05-03
Found 70 reviews