PlayNetwork Reviews | Glassdoor

PlayNetwork Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
PlayNetwork CEO Ross Honey
Ross Honey
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Live concerts every month, happy hour and off site company parties(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great staff, great company culture(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay relative to the rest of the industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "I understand the complaints of customer service people on here(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PlayNetwork full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are great with a fun company culture. Creative environment with music and video professionals. Live concerts every month, happy hour and off site company parties.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership and ownership and cross departmental communication. Wage is not commensurate to the high cost of living in the area. Departments are very siloed. Pay is low range for market. Many layoffs after corporate merger.

    Advice to Management

    Provide professional managerial training and development classes. Improve cross department communication. Merit increases should be be commensurate with the cost of living increases in the area.

    PlayNetwork2018-03-10
  2. "Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location. Flexible time off.

    Cons

    Not organized. No real teams or structure.

    Advice to Management

    Train the leadership.

    PlayNetwork2019-08-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Heed the warnings."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse, Production, Rack Build in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started at Playnetwork in 2010 as an intern then was brought onboard full time in 2011. I’ve worked in three different departments during my employment there so I had a decent idea of how things were run in the company. First off, there were some truly good people that worked there (most have been let go due to merger). I learned a lot of unique skills from some very intelligent souls. It always felt like there... was someone who had your side. It had a very tight, familyesque vibe once upon a time. Laid back dress code. Some great musical acts would perform there and one was encouraged to attend. Decent happy hours with craft beer and food kept things fairly jolly. I’m glad I worked there when I did. I’m also glad I got out when I did. Got to play with some cool audio equipment. I absolutely loved that.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unless you’re in the “good ol boys” club expect very little. You may work extremely hard but it will probably go unnoticed. Remember high school? Well this is like that, maybe even worse. Once Lon left as CEO a new approach came into play which brought unwelcome changes. A lot of drama unfolded in virtually every department and you’d always hear about it through gossip. It made things somewhat toxic after a while.... Mangers weren’t the best (EXCEPT for the man who managed the warehouse/production department, he was pure class). Extremely low pay in every department except for senior management. The internal politics are extremely stressful and unnecessary. Negativity is contagious and after a while you just end up feeling worthless.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It’s too late because everyone who made this company is gone now. So just learn from your mistakes. Listen to your employees. Treat them with respect.

    PlayNetwork2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that outway the cons.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, among/across departments. Employees find out about decisions made after the fact. Policies and procedures are non-existent, including proper onboarding for new employees. Unable to take/enjoy PTO, in fear of falling too far behind and that no one can cover workload in absence. Lack of appreciation/recognition. Toxic leaders creating a toxic environment. Employees become... emotionally discouraged and irritable/angry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace [toxic] senior leadership.

    PlayNetwork2019-05-03
  5. "Don’t believe the bad reviews....great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PlayNetwork full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Opportunity for growth - Autonomy for those who want it - New CEO has a plan

    Cons

    Culture changed in Redmond after jobs moved to NY and Schaumburg. Negativity among some who can’t see big picture

    Advice to Management

    Use new Redmond offices to bring old culture back. Key people are still there

    PlayNetwork2019-02-21
  6. "Good company with good leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Washington in Redmond, WA

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great work life balance. Great culture.

    Cons

    great work life balance. Great culture until a Canadian company bought and then: chaos.

    PlayNetwork2019-02-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of Structure, No room for improvement or growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork part-time

    Pros

    Friendly employees, with a decent location. Cool atmosphere

    Cons

    Cubical style. Siloed departments. No opportunity for advancement.

    PlayNetwork2019-02-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "i give it one more year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time

    Pros

    -live shows with bands are great

    Cons

    -new CEO -layoffs for all Redmond employees are coming

    Advice to Management

    it's too late, run while you still can

    PlayNetwork2019-02-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Too many salesmen not enough chiefs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork

    Pros

    Budget for technology is pretty decent and hours are consistent 9-5 for the most part.

    Cons

    Management corners employees and makes each one responsible for petty stuff even when it's the whole team and not just an individual, making it difficult for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Stop working on employees for the sake of your own job security and work on the team building across departments instead and the current turnover rate will drop tremendously.

    PlayNetwork2018-10-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Client Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PlayNetwork full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company hosts many Play live concert events with free food and booze. Socializing with co-workers is highly encouraged.

    Cons

    Management is “cliquey” and they’re all buddies with each other. Salary is on the low end the the work life balance is NON EXISTENT. Be prepared to give your all to this company. They extend the work load of what should be 3 people onto 1 person.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. We don’t appreciate being over worked and under compensated.

    PlayNetwork2018-09-12
Found 50 reviews