RCI Exchanges Reviews | Glassdoor

RCI Exchanges Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
RCI Exchanges President Gordon Gurnik (no image)
Gordon Gurnik
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great work environment, great benefits(in 24 reviews)

  • "Free vacations at the resorts affiliated with RCI(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The long term people who've ONLY worked for RCI for years on the phones believe that they're making "a lot of money"(in 15 reviews)

  • "There is a high turnover rate because of this(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Always Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appointment Setter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at RCI Exchanges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the Travel industry ,the excitement from the people's ,including we had excellent Management.

    Cons

    Non Applicable when this information is directed at myself.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    RCI Exchanges2020-01-05
  2. "Small company but very supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager was very kind and always had our backs with owners.

    Cons

    Small company so not too many team members to help.

    RCI Exchanges2019-07-15
  3. "Lots of promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Guide in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with, gym on site

    Cons

    Pay. Horrible horrible pay structure

    Advice to Management

    Stop making promises you know you can't keep.

    RCI Exchanges2019-07-16
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Time Off, Promotes taking vacations

    Cons

    Minimal Flexibility, Strict attendance policy for new employees

    RCI Exchanges2019-07-11
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at RCI Exchanges full-time

    Pros

    Free vacations/401k match/medical benefits/tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Upward mobility and management needs to help out more instead of pointing the finger

    Advice to Management

    promote all positions from within the company and become more diverse of hiring more people of color in upper-level management

    RCI Exchanges2019-06-26
  6. "Title is fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Customer Service in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly nice people. Win good prizes

    Cons

    Call center, mean members, supervisors aren’t good

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and fair

    RCI Exchanges2019-05-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales With Timeshare Owners-Angry People, High Standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSS AGENT in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Free vacations -Friendly coworkers -Fun environment -Decent pay with chance of bonuses

    Cons

    -Sales tactics can be skeevy -Many associated timeshares are low-quality and lie to get sales, which then makes owners mad at you -Constantly changing expectations, schedules, responsibilities, and comission rates - Between outbound calls, Travel Department calls, and scams members are called constantly and they hate you for it. - High Turnover -"Customer Service" is sales. - High Stress

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people on the phones. Listen to the members. No one is happy with rising prices, increased amount of fees, and lack of vacation prospects. Stop making excuses and saying we're doing what's best for the member when really you're doing what's best for the bottom line. Also, when employees have learned the trick to high scores is to volunteer for other departments off the phones, it's not a good sign.

    RCI Exchanges2019-05-23
  8. "Probably the most fun you'll ever have in a call center -- but it's still a call center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Guide in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you don't mind a call center environment an being tied to a headset all day long, AND you enjoy travel discounts/benefits, then it's a really fun place. Very impressive complex/facility, honestly. Upbeat atmosphere, there's an on-site cafeteria, an on-site nurse who is capable of writing prescriptions as needed, and there are some serious travel benefits afforded to employees of RCI, if that's important to you. Absolutely everyone (other than those hiring into targeted, specialized roles, like IT) kicks off their career on the phones -- everyone -- all the way up to senior leadership. Everyone shifts into a different role from the SAME role - vacation guide. They do hire every fall for that reason. People leave, people move around, etc. There's a LOT of mobility within the company if you want to stick around. You don't have to, and you likely won't stay in the same position for long if you don't want to.

    Show More

    Cons

    The base pay is unimpressive. Commission on "production" is meager. The long term people who've ONLY worked for RCI for years on the phones believe that they're making "a lot of money". They are not. While the work load and customer base is largely cordial and not as irritable as many call center environments, you're still in a fatiguing "on the phones all day" call center environment, and it CAN wear thin. You may well work rather late hours, into the evening, post-training.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is one place that I have to say is pretty on target with its treatment of employees. I saw no questionable treatment or actions during my time there.

    RCI Exchanges2019-04-27
  9. "Comfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RCI Exchanges full-time

    Pros

    Perks and benefits were great

    Cons

    Schedules and overtime were not great

    RCI Exchanges2019-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RCI Exchanges full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They care about the employees!! They have many great benefits!!

    Cons

    They are moving to Orlando!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!

    RCI Exchanges2019-02-08
Found 220 reviews