Realtor.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Realtor.com Reviews

Updated July 18, 2018
315 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Realtor.com CEO Ryan OHara
Ryan OHara
120 Ratings

315 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Work-life balance is good for a high tech company" (in 18 reviews)

  • "It's a super healthy work environment and in sales, there tends to be a ton of stress - however, with Realtor" (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management has an agenda and is not open to debate" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Promised a book of business, but in training was told we would be doing only outbound calling" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Data Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Caring management, patient trainees, flexible bosses

    Cons

    Work can be monotonous at times but that's about it; great company overall.


  2. "Manager, Digital Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Digital Sales in Westlake Village, CA
    Current Employee - Manager, Digital Sales in Westlake Village, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I recently joined Realtor.com in Westlake Village as a leader. First and foremost I am very appreciative of the opportunity to work for such an upscale Real Estate Tech company. I have worked for a competitor of Realtor.com as well as some other Fortune 100 companies and I am truly excited and honored to be here. The culture at Westlake Village is second to none. Management truly cares about their employees and the well being of their clients. The sales approach is very consultative and adds tremendous value to Real Estate Agents that utilize our services. Realtor.com is definitely an exemplary sales organization that has a very strong focus on training and consistently educates their Sales Consultants on new and best Real Estate trends. Westlake Village Realtor.com is a fun, competitive, growth-enabling environment that I am proud to work in. I will work to encourage my colleagues at other Real Estate companies to come work for the best!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Realtor.com Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – VP, Corp Comms

    Welcome to realtor.com and thanks for your thoughtful review. We are glad that you are here, and look forward to your leadership and contributions.

  3. "Growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    Great industry, consumer-facing digital products, smart people

    Cons

    Nationwide so some travel required

    Realtor.com Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – VP, Corp Comms

    Thank you for your review. We are glad that you are part of the team.


  4. "Great place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy and opportunity to be innovative
    A very supportive management team

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Realtor.com Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – VP, Corp Comms

    Thanks for your review. We are happy that you are finding your time at realtor.com rewarding.


  5. "I've been here for years, and I really like it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    I've been at the company for a number of years, so I have seen significant change and evolution during my time here.

    The work is fun, the company really does care about it customers, and really believes in the importance of helping people find that special place to call home.

    I love the team I work with, my boss is great, and the exec my org reports into is fantastic - the best exec I have ever worked with (although I think the answer here might differ depending on what team you're on).

    Great work life balance, and freedom to get your job done (again, I think that depends on what team you're on).

    Cons

    Too many meetings, many of which can be summed up in a 3-4 sentence email. Lots of wasted time and productivity because of the volume of meetings.

    The pace of execution could be faster, and could use a bit more of a startup mentality of "lets get it done" instead of "lets have a slew of meetings to discuss"

    The company culture isn't where it needs to be, although I know there is a lot of work being done to address that.

    Advice to Management

    Put a real premium on execution - top performers will get the job done, truly empower them to go do it (less meetings, more "get it done, and done fast")

    Realtor.com Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – VP, Corp Comms

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. It's great to get the perspective of a long-time employee who has seen the transformation that's taken place at realtor.com, and also can speak to opportunities... More


  6. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Work life balance
    - Career Development (safaribooksonline, TAG)
    - Good managers (at least in our team, we have great managers), no micro-management.
    - Health Insurance is pretty good.
    - Compensation is acceptable, no stock option.
    - Happy hours, free snack, free t-shirt, hack days

    Cons

    - Reputation: not many of my friend knows about realtor.com. And, they think realtor.com is not tech company.

    Realtor.com Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – CTO

    We're glad to hear that you are enjoying working at realtor.com and thanks for the wholehearted recommendation! We are proud of the great work that our engineers, data scientists and analysts are... More


  7. "Inside Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and hours and incentives

    Cons

    High demand, micro managed, stressful at times

    Realtor.com Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – SVP, Inside Sales

    Thank you for your review. I would love to hear more about your experience at realtor.com. Please feel free to stop by my desk anytime.
    Leo Jay, SVP, Inside Sales

  8. "Director of Data Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Technology in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Director of Technology in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Very forward looking technology team
    - Motivated employees
    - Innovation is the key

    Cons

    - Need maturity in process/shared services
    - Some employees are laid back, while others pay for them. The laid back habits come from earlier technology management, that solved for keeping people happy by keeping the bar low.

    Advice to Management

    Hold every one to the high standards and a same standard

    Realtor.com Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – CTO

    Thank you for your insightful review, which candidly highlights both of our strengths and weaknesses. Realtor.com is a very different company today than it was three years – we’ve grown significantly... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    Pros

    Nothing special about the company.

    Cons

    Low package, not competeive salary comparing other tech companies.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to attract talents in silicone valley you should provide competitive package and flexible environment.

    Realtor.com Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – VP, Corp Comms

    Thanks for your review. It’s always good to receive feedback from both current and former employees. At realtor.com, we have a pay for performance philosophy that takes a number of factors into... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    "Not a good place for tech people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great work-life balance.
    some smart people but they don't stay long.
    laid-back culture, no pressure.
    people are generally friendly.
    ok perks and compensations.

    Cons

    very bureaucratic, politics are everywhere. Multiple levels of leadership are very disconnected, teams are not collaborating well and sometimes are not honest.
    high performers don't get rewarded so they leave.
    boring products that don't even make sense, people just want to take credits, rush the crappy work and forget about maintaining it.

    Realtor.com Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – CTO

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience working on our engineering team. What you describe is not consistent with our company values or the culture we are intent on creating at... More


Showing 315 of 318 reviews
Reset Filters