Rocket Internet Reviews

Updated May 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Rocket Internet CEO Oliver Samwer
Oliver Samwer
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced startup with some talented people from across the globe(in 36 reviews)

  • "Steep learning curve, the very best in performance marketing and digital marketing(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great learning experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time

    Pros

    Great combination of startup + consulting/VC environement. Rigour and inovation combined

    Cons

    Ressource management can be short-sighted

    Rocket Internet2018-11-16
  2. "good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    colleagues are friendly and self-motivated

    Cons

    need to deal with pressure

    Rocket Internet2018-07-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent, challenging experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunity to springboard into management position early on - Lots of responsibilities - Aggressive culture - empowered to do anything (and quickly) - Interesting markets - Direct lines of contact to top executives

    Cons

    - Seen as a place to stamp passport; very high turnover - Incredibly confusing equity options through series of opaque entitites

    Continue reading
    Rocket Internet2018-06-03
  4. "Senior Developer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time

    Pros

    Freedom, flexibility, fund, speed, international

    Cons

    long hours, impersonal, high turnover

    Rocket Internet2018-01-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "O"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    Professional people and good learning

    Cons

    The top management only seeks their benefit. A lot of lay offs.

    Continue reading
    Rocket Internet2017-04-25
  6. "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot´s of autonomy and freedom to work

    Cons

    Not much guidance nor mentorship. Great company though.

    Rocket Internet2017-02-25

    Rocket Internet Response

    February 28, 2017HR Director

    Thanks for posting your review on Glassdoor! We also think that Rocket enables entrepreneurship and encourages independent thinking; providing the perfect environment within which employees can learn quickly. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a lack of guidance during your long time with us; Rocket’s company culture is based upon the notion of self-responsibility and taking ownership for tasks. However alignment and guidance are very important to accelerate your learning and development. Please reach out to our HR team if you want to provide more precise feedback, we’d love to take your comments into account moving forward. Good luck with your future plans!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great learning, make sure you're taking away as much as theyre taking from you"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time

    Pros

    You work with some of the best, brightest and most driven people out there If you're lucky, you get incredible responsibility and often autonomy If you like speed & working hard, it's a perfect fit

    Cons

    Culture can definitely be cut- throat, it depends on who you work with/for but always be careful They will grind you and your equity is most likely worth little if anything,so be wary and look at it as a learning expereince

    Continue reading
    Rocket Internet2017-02-03

    Rocket Internet Response

    February 28, 2017HR Director

    Thanks for taking the time to review your time with us, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the responsibility of the role. We encourage people to take ownership of their work so that they can really make an impact - and the fast-paced work environment is well suited to those who are seeking to learn fast in a constantly stimulating atmosphere! However we do take your comments seriously, it’s unfortunate that you felt over-worked and have negative views about our company culture. We pride ourselves on our ability to enable each of our employees on their entrepreneurial journey. Please feel free to reach out to our HR team at any point, and best of luck in your next position!

  8. "great experience poor work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    Top notch skills and know how

    Cons

    work your ...ss off really

    Continue reading
    Rocket Internet2016-10-08

    Rocket Internet Response

    October 10, 2016Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor. Our skills and know-how are something that we're really proud of here at Rocket. Work-life balance is a very important topic for us. Our approach is to make sure our teams and managers are empowered to make the best decisions for their area. Therefore we'd need more information about your precise situation. Please reach out to our HR teams. Until then, we wish you all the best with your new adventures!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Company review"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rocket Internet part-time

    Pros

    Great diversity, opportunities, and quality of people

    Cons

    Unstable, cut throat, competitive, low compensation

    Rocket Internet2016-09-09

    Rocket Internet Response

    September 22, 2016Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are a leading tech company in Europe, manage multiple business models and that obviously offers great opportunities to our people. Cool to hear that you enjoyed the diversity here - we have more than 60 different nationalities at our headquarter. Our compensation strategy is to offer fair and competitive salaries as compared to the markets - please reach out to our HR team to get more information about that. On the same occasion, please explain what you mean with cut throat. It's very important for us to understand.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Business Development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    great dynamic work environment. Interesting colleagues

    Cons

    Work-life balance is pretty bad

    Rocket Internet2016-09-12

    Rocket Internet Response

    September 22, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for sharing your past experience. Please reach out to our HR team to provide more feedback on the work life balance. Our approach is to work together with the managers to make sure that this topic is tackled were it should be tackled, at the team level. We wish you all the best on your road!

Found 325 reviews