KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Rocket Internet

Is this your company?

Rocket Internet

Add a Review

Rocket Internet Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 352 of over 523 reviews

3.7
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Rocket Internet CEO Oliver Samwer
Oliver Samwer
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced startup with some talented people from across the globe(in 37 reviews)

  • "steep learning curve, entrusted with lots of responsibility(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "huge pressure and long working hours(in 32 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours but its fine if you enjoy what you do(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      There

      Jul 26, 2021 - Loan Processor in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay place to look at

      Cons

      Very low base pay no bonus

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for learning

      Jun 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      International, multicultural, good environment for growth.

      Cons

      Too much start up mindset sometimes, depends on direct management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      was great in its days

      Dec 8, 2020 - Global Venture Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      always great learning and autonomy

      Cons

      very rough working climate. pressure!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast&Furious...

      Feb 15, 2014 - Country Chief Executive Officer and Founder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As Country-CEO for a Rocket Internet local portfolio company, I have had the best entrepreneurial training and experience of my life. The pace is super-fast, with incredibly long hours and a big load of pressure (a good pressure): I had to hire 20+ people in <1 month, build operations from scratch, and take on incredible responsibilities in very little time. The amount of trust Rocket Internet gives you is really empowering. It's probably one of the best "safe" arenas where you can have a true entrepreneurial training with limited risk (you have a competitive salary). Colleagues and management are smart and driven. Culture is a "no bollocks" one, which I appreciated, but may be intimidating to others.

      Cons

      The company can be brutal. If metrics don't live up to expectations, or fund raising (done centrally) does not go as expected, they are as quick at closing down operations as they are at spearheading them. Obviously, that's exactly what the start up risk is, but, given that your equity stake is nowhere near what you would have if you were a real founder, you end up sharing a lot of the downsides, but your upside is limited. Make sure you know what you sign up for, but overall I would do it again, if not for the incredible training received.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great learning experience

      Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great combination of startup + consulting/VC environement. Rigour and inovation combined

      Cons

      Ressource management can be short-sighted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not for the faint of heart

      Nov 18, 2015 - CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Smartest pool of people I have worked with. - You can run a company very early in your career (CEOs are usually just fresh from MBA) - Opportunity to have a high impact in your company - If you are lucky, you have a chance of earning big bucks if your company is sold - You will learn faster at rocket than you would if your were working for a top consulting firm - You will be judged by what you deliver and not on how good you are with firm politics

      Cons

      - Be prepared to work 100 hours a week - Be prepared to work on a very high pressure environment - Be prepared to wake up and go to sleep thinking about your work - Be prepared to not being able to meet impossible goals

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't work here

      Apr 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young and friendly environment from co-workers.

      Cons

      Almost every position, even if it says something different has to do with sales. They hire people, get a benefit from them and after 3-6 months, they fire them, without exception. I worked at the branch in Mexico City and this happened all the time in all of Rocket's different branches (Linio, Hello Food, Dafiti, Lamudi). They expect you to work 12 hours a day and the salary is really low. They promise you will grow within the company, which is true. One of my co-workers was promoted from a sales executive to a manager, which required more work and pressure, but his salary remained the same. If you work here, expect to be fired really fast. 30 people I knew that worked with me were fired after 3 to 6 months of working there. It was very common for bosses to fire their employees because of personal reasons.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Rocket Internet Response

      Talent Acquisition Director

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. What you describe sounds not good. We need to get to know more about your experience - please reach out to our HR team immediately.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Work hard with smart people, but beware of cutthroat lifestyle

      Sep 19, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Work with some of the smartest people out there. Rocket-Internet poaches some of the top talent from US and European Business Schools. Good place to learn from others. * Learn a lot on the job. It's start-up culture with a bit more stability. * Little bureaucracy. Every employee has a chance to work on whatever needs to be done. If you're passionate about some aspect of the work and see ways to improve it, you're encouraged to!

      Cons

      * Long work hours * Potential to be cut off at any time because of a failed venture

      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great learning, make sure you're taking away as much as theyre taking from you

      Feb 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work with some of the best, brightest and most driven people out there If you're lucky, you get incredible responsibility and often autonomy If you like speed & working hard, it's a perfect fit

      Cons

      Culture can definitely be cut- throat, it depends on who you work with/for but always be careful They will grind you and your equity is most likely worth little if anything,so be wary and look at it as a learning expereince

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Rocket Internet Response

      HR Director

      Thanks for taking the time to review your time with us, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the responsibility of the role. We encourage people to take ownership of their work so that they can really make an impact - and the fast-paced work environment is well suited to those who are seeking to learn fast in a constantly stimulating atmosphere! However we do take your comments seriously, it’s unfortunate that you felt over-worked and have negative views about our company culture. We pride ourselves on our ability to enable each of our employees on their entrepreneurial journey. Please feel free to reach out to our HR team at any point, and best of luck in your next position!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent, challenging experience

      Jun 3, 2018 - Managing Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunity to springboard into management position early on - Lots of responsibilities - Aggressive culture - empowered to do anything (and quickly) - Interesting markets - Direct lines of contact to top executives

      Cons

      - Seen as a place to stamp passport; very high turnover - Incredibly confusing equity options through series of opaque entitites

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 352 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rocket Internet Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rocket Internet? Share Your Experiences

    Rocket Internet logo
    or