KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Scripted

Is this your company?

Scripted

Add a Review

Scripted Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 34 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 8 years

    Best place for freelance writers

    Feb 1, 2021 - Writer/Editor in Cusick, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been writing/editing for Scripted.com for over 8 years. Of all the content companies I've written for, Scripted is hands down the best. They offer great work with incredible clients. And the ability to set our rate (as no two content projects are the same) is a huge plus.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of anything. It's really that great!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    Fires For No Reason

    Jul 16, 2021 - Content Writer in Panama City, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is decent if you've been there a while

    Cons

    Will let you go for no reason, and won't tell you why. I'd been with them over seven years. I had a 98 percent approval rating, over 200 clients had favorites me, and no rejections. I was put on suspension for a supposed client complaint. Would not tell me why or who. After 30 days with no word, I asked and was told they were letting me go. Again, no reason why. I think it was because I was making a lot of money and they could hire newbies.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Freelance writer

    Jan 21, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work on your own time

    Cons

    hard to find jobs, sometimes clients don't get back to me and I automatically get paid (which I guess is a pro too?)

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Management Some Of The Worst I've Experienced

    Aug 30, 2020 - Content Writer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's like a freelance site; you apply for writing assignments and the client would choose which writer would do the assignment. I would write outlines for every assignment I proposed for and was transparent with what I would write for them if they were to pick me. You can apply to as many assignments you would like at a time, and would have a certain deadline to write them all. The pay was also great. It's like there is no middleman between the writer and the client where the writer would only get a fraction of the pay for each article. I felt like I was getting true compensation for the work I was doing compared to previous employers.

    Cons

    Firing came from literally nowhere. They claim that clients had complaints about my work but neither Scripted management nor my clients reached out to me regarding any problems. I had a 4.5 star rating and over 60 different clients "favorited" me. Any problems that clients had with me, I would always let them know they can reach out to me via Scripted's message system. Weeks after they kicked me off their platform, I was still getting emails from the Scripted site and Scripted managers, specifying that I'd be a great fit for certain projects they had in store. There were also two clients I was currently writing for, as I had to contact them outside of Scripted to explain what was going on. They weren't told of my whereabouts either. So nobody working with or for Scripted knew what happened to me except for the person that decided to give me the boot. That's a huge red flag indicating how mismanaged this company is. Any company that decides to revoke somebody and take their income away without good reason is telling that they lack appreciation in loyalty and hard work. It's as if they failed to take responsibility for something bad that happened on their end, and needed a scapegoat so that they can say they took action without actually making any serious change on their end. They do not train, they do not discipline, they apparently have no grasp at the writing process, and they seldom communicated with me. Communication is a must for a company that operates remotely. To not even have that is completely irresponsible and the writers are among the last people to be blamed for it.

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 5 years

    Decent Source of Freelance Work

    Mar 19, 2019 - Freelance Writer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company allows freelancers to set their own rates and I I've been able to steadily increase my rates Good clientele Editing is quick and thorough without being overbearing

    Cons

    Work can be scarce Clients now have up to 30 days in some cases to review pieces before the writer gets paid. This is way too long.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Like a black diamond ski run - exciting but challenging

    Jan 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The team is awesome and fun to work with, lots of laughter, passion, and excitement - Lots of opportunities to directly impact the business - Frequent and transparent views into company performance and financials - Flexibility in work schedule - No shortage of interesting problems to work on

    Cons

    - Sometimes, it is challenging to make seemingly simple changes due to existing complexities - Too many internal tools and features, many are broken - There are a lot of expectations to manage, the business serves both customers and writers, and has been around for almost 10 years - Tough to maintain focus on solving individual problems

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Challenging

    Dec 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Challenging and interesting problems - Excellent team dynamic - Genuine people - Real opportunities to make meaningful impacts on the platform - Great blend of right brain/left brain work

    Cons

    - Changes direction and staff entirely too often to make to make all project goals achievable. - Needs at least one more engineer

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 3 years

    Safe Space for Freelance Work

    Oct 9, 2018 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fare transparency, kill fees, higher pay for skilled writers, responsive help.

    Cons

    Content farm, not always much work available, client comes first.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 3 years

    No loyalty

    Sep 5, 2018 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay for some projects, fairly nice client companies, some good Co-workers

    Cons

    No loyalty, fired capriciously by email after years of service , no one would pick up the phone to explain

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Poor leadership and dysfunctional

    Aug 24, 2018 - Freelance Writer and Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Allows you to dip in and out of tasks as suits your schedule

    Cons

    Utterly dysfunctional. The premise of Scripted is fairly simple: hire lots of writers and editors, contract large clients yourself and take a huge cut. Unfortunately, paying writers was rarely a priority; it seems that the company was understaffed or had major cash-flow issues. The staff was rarely helpful, and some caused even more issues. I get the impression they're not after high-quality writers or editors. Instead, they prefer people who are very compliant, and frankly, that's not me. In addition, the editors there ... weren't. I was told that AP style is to italicize compositional titles (e.g., book titles). It isn't. AP does not italicize, and I had the stylebook reference to show it. There was a lot of stupid like that. Ultimately, when you're told that you are being let go for your conduct on a project that you didn't have access to, you have to wonder about their priorities.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Scripted Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Scripted? Share Your Experiences

Scripted logo
or