KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sharkey's Cuts for Kids

Is this your company?

Sharkey's Cuts for Kids

Add a Review

Sharkey's Cuts for Kids Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 19 reviews

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Sharkey's Cuts for Kids President and CEO Scott Sharkey
Scott Sharkey
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good job

    Mar 25, 2021 - Salon Assistant in Odessa, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun Good atmosphere Good coworkers Rewarding Good for extroverts

    Cons

    Hard On feet all day Dont always get a lunch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent starting job

    Oct 20, 2021 - Hair Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, lots of clients, decent tips

    Cons

    Hard work, your not allowed to turn clients away generally even if they are super difficult. You only get so much time per haircut so you have to be very fast and efficient. Load and overstimulation environment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    wishing for more clarity

    Oct 11, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist in Avon, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice clientele good hours and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    the pay was kind of low not a whole lot of clarity/communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stylist Cussed Me Out

    Aug 30, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist in Livonia, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The clientele was amazing. I loved working with the kids. The pay was decent.

    Cons

    I was only part-time. The stylist cussed me out because she had her own personal problems and took it out on me. Apparently I wasn’t the first person she’s cussed out. She then proceeded to constantly harass me over text. She was also the only stylist, so if she decided that she wasn’t coming into work for whatever reason the whole salon was shut down for the entire day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work when in HS

    Jun 28, 2021 - Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - flexible schedule - good if you like kids - great for a first job

    Cons

    - can be extremely busy and hectic at times, slow at others

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fun

    Feb 9, 2021 - Eyebrow Specialist in Southlake, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had fun all the time with the kids. Great Pay Christmas Party with gifts Birthday parties for girls

    Cons

    Cars are bulky to bend over to work around moving kids with 2 seats. Micromanage from a camera and phone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unreliable Hours

    Oct 20, 2020 - Salon Assistant in Coral Gables, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The location was close to Subway

    Cons

    Management was unorganized with each other and unprofessional. They would blame me for their miscommunication. Also, when I applied, I disclosed that I could not speak spanish and then they fired me for that reason. Why hire me if you knew that was going to be an issue. They changed my hours every week, first because they didn't know what hours they wanted to open and then because the few stylists that they had were quitting or getting fired. Terrible business, would not recommend working there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Average job

    Aug 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Fairfield, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    tips friendly staff getting a lunch break

    Cons

    pay treatment breaks are short lots of drama

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic work environment

    Feb 8, 2020 - Front Desk Receptionist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with kids. Technically this counts as receptionist experience. This would be the easiest job in the world if it was structured better.

    Cons

    No training, lack of communication, dysfunctional. As a receptionist at the Seattle location, my job was mostly just cleaning up after over-scheduled stylists. The work environment was extremely unhealthy; I had to talk with the owner about how it is inappropriate to make jokes to a child about how I can't do my job (starting a game on a console I wasn't familiar with). Gossip was a problem (I mostly saw this with upper management) and one stylist was frequently targeted. The only tips I received were the occasional $5 out of the pockets of a few specific employees (thank you stylists). High turnover rate, rumor has it they went through 7+ receptionists in a year. Cleanliness was definitely an issue: no gloves, no paper towels, barbicide at none of the stations.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    They set you up for failure

    Sep 23, 2019 - Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Doesn’t close late Some of the clients are nice

    Cons

    The staff at this location are extremely rude, judgemental and immature. The most hostile/toxic work environment I’ve ever experienced. You’re timed (at 15 mins) and rushed through every service making it impossible to provide a decent haircut. you’re rushed by the unlicensed receptionist standing over you the entire time and nitpicking through your haircuts. Tons of gossiping at the front desk all day about clients and the owner. You aren’t allowed to blowdry anyone’s hair because they value quantity over quality so they have to leave with wet hair. You’ll get a lot of complaints about this and whenever a client asks you to dry their hair you’ll receive an awful attitude from the receptionist for doing so. I’m not sure any stylist no matter what their background is can handled the pressure and insane policies you’ll go through here. You can really tell that the owner isn’t licensed. Zero sanitation at this salon. No barbicide containers present anywhere. Everything (brushes and combs) are shared and used on client after client. This place is ran like a great clips for kids.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sharkey's Cuts for Kids Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sharkey's Cuts for Kids? Share Your Experiences

Sharkey's Cuts for Kids logo
or