Smart Home Works Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart Home Works Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Hard Work is Rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Smart Home Works full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment and engaging work. The company treats everyone well and has room for advancement.

    Cons

    Would like more soda selection in the fridge. Nestea would be nice.

    Smart Home Works2019-04-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A formative experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Home Works part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had the pleasure of working with a wonderful team and got to experience the full life cycle of a business.

    Cons

    Part of experiencing every facet of the business was the high time commitment. Though rewarding, the work was not easy.

    Advice to Management

    It's a little hard to give advice to management while being part of the management team.

    Smart Home Works2018-02-21
  3. "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Smart Home Works

    Pros

    Everyone who worked there were very nice

    Cons

    Do not waste your time

    Smart Home Works2017-05-24
  4. "Great people but tough business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smart Home Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always encouraging people around you. Great opportunity to move up. Start training people will give you some extra money. Managers are always there for you. If your agents are making money then you are making extra money

    Cons

    The nature of the business is hard to sell to. Commission base job. Hard to sell products = hard to make money. You can spend 2 weeks with out a paycheck

    Advice to Management

    Give a base salary + commission! Instead of only commission. People need to eat

    Smart Home Works2017-03-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work and Grow With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Smart Home Works full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited opportunities to sell the product with ample training and incentives made this place a challenge and flexible workplace.

    Cons

    As any door to door job, there are some rude people out there that think they should not be bothered at home. This can be frustrating since there is no minimum pay - if you get off on the wrong foot one day it can damage your performance.

    Advice to Management

    The incentives were somewhat rare, although grand (there was a Tesla car up for grabs when i was leaving)

    Smart Home Works2016-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Smart Home Works is a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Agent in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Smart Home Works full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Engaging work -The team made it feel like a family -Management is fair and makes you feel at home I would recommend anyone with a good work ethic to work at Smart Home Works

    Cons

    You have to work hard and smart to be successful here, its not for people just looking for regular job, it requires passion and commitment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and thanks for making my experience working for you so enjoyable.

    Smart Home Works2016-09-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stop lying and misleading people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HVAC- Pre Inspector in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Smart Home Works

    Pros

    They are friendly , but can't think of anything

    Cons

    Using fancy titles to trick people to work Using fancy salary numbers to trick people to work for them It is a door to door job( They dont tell you this at first straight up ) Making you lie to people

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with people from the first step in interview . mention at first it is a door to door job . dont waste people's time

    Smart Home Works2016-10-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Cool Company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smart Home Works for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with this company for a few months and so far I've loved my time here. The employees and staff are great, I've already been promoted in my position and I'm constantly taking on more responsibility.

    Cons

    This job takes lots of dedication. If you're not willing to work your butt off, this job isn't for you. If you're driven, you will be very successful with this company.

    Advice to Management

    Consider cross training employees in different departments. Keep up the great work.

    Smart Home Works2016-08-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The best is yet to come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smart Home Works

    Pros

    Smart Home Works is a fantastic place to work. I have enjoyed almost every day that I've worked here due to the support / opportunities, the people and friendships formed. There's a great "get things done" process put in place in the office, but also a good work/life balance. I really appreciate that our company allows flexibility in our workday, I find this shows trust and confidence from management which motivates...

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a smaller company, emotions can run high and work loads can be significant, however, that occasional high stress atmosphere can spawn great creativity, innovation, and rewards as a team.

    Smart Home Works2016-08-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lying Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Smart Home Works full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, none none none none

    Cons

    They shut down shop and switched to ( Municipal Water Savingss

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying and misleading people

    Smart Home Works2016-09-23
Found 23 reviews