SolarWorld Reviews | Glassdoor

SolarWorld Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Jürgen Stein
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great schedule and generous vacation time for full-time employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great benefits 4 weeks vacation to start(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "German management out of touch with needs of US market and employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "High Turnover Throughout the Company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Machinist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinist in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked with great people.

    Cons

    To many lay offs.

    SolarWorld2018-01-18
  2. "Complete mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The vacation time was nice

    Cons

    Everything but the vacation time

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves

    SolarWorld2018-10-04
  3. "Simply a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are incredibly kind. 5 weeks vacation - use some of it to look for another job.

    Cons

    There is no talent within this company. Management has no strategic selling, marketing, logistics experience. Firm banked on the trade case and getting acquired by SunPower. SunPower will likely shed most employees once deal is complete except for factory workers. I would not be surprised as most talent who joins the firm leaves within two years realizing they are fighting a losing battle against management who doesn't...

    Show More
    SolarWorld2018-08-10
  4. "Excellent Values and Teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SolarWorld full-time

    Pros

    Respectful leadership, supportive co-workers and amazing attitude top to bottom as we made it through an incredibly tough year for the company.

    Cons

    in 2017-18 we had a bankruptcy of our parent company which hit sales hard, a trade case that some in the industry were strongly against, and price pressure--so the work and business climate were very tough. Downsizing was hard on many good people.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks. You did it. We're lean and mean and your saved the American company and our jobs. Clearly, this took a strong team. Keep up the good work. Advice is: Remember our hard work and advocate for us as we are integrated into our new parent company.

    SolarWorld2018-04-20
  5. "Work/Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWorld full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people! Good benefits and vacation.

    Cons

    Merger and acquisition is causing some employees to be stressed.

    SolarWorld2018-04-09
  6. "Company in trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWorld full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At the moment there are no pros. I would say the people I work with but most of them are gone

    Cons

    SolarWorld is a floundering company that is barely hanging on. the Tradecase will not be able to help the company long term.

    Advice to Management

    When the executive team left, the vacuum was filled with unqualified individuals. There is no clear direction for the company

    SolarWorld2017-12-20
  7. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarWorld full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    5 weeks paid vacation decent health insurance

    Cons

    No one seems to have a plan except wait and see what happens with the trade case. It has been like this for four years. No one is held accountable and no one takes responsibility. Working here is like being the frog in a pot of boiling water. Resources are slowly taken away and you are asked to do more and more. Its really hard to stay motivated here because its hard to see results when the company is failing.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. SolarWorld management typically only wants to hear their employees agree with them. A majority of managers never did the jobs of those below them. It is very much a "managers know best" mentality which makes change very difficult. You need your employees to feel comfortable in challenging the status quo. The status quo is making this company fail.

    SolarWorld2017-12-04
  8. "Sr Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time

    Pros

    Very Good company to work for

    Cons

    Costs of product are way too high. They need to figure out how to compete.

    SolarWorld2017-10-31
  9. "Willing to give you a chance, Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They always seem will to give the people that want to learn and grow a chance. They reward dedication and determination with opportunity. You can learn the industry in a way that dose not exist anywhere else.

    Cons

    Wage is somewhat low, very much an entry level company. Department supervisors/leads lack the support from above to help individuals progress at the expected rate.

    Advice to Management

    The gap between the top and floor management is discurageing and demoralizing. Employees watch their direct leadership give it everything while the group's management is absent and oblivious. Higher standards must be set for the middle of the group, and the middle must be held accountable and pushed to support their workforce.

    SolarWorld2017-09-28
  10. "Great but troubled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Camarillo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarWorld full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly skilled, professional, dedicated employees; great work environment. Pride comes from helping to produce top-notch, industry-leading products. Many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Uncertainty created by low-cost competition from China places the company's future at risk, and therefore the employment of people who work there.

    Advice to Management

    Move faster to innovate; spend more on R&D.

    SolarWorld2017-08-30
Found 124 reviews