Southwest Key Programs Reviews | Glassdoor

Southwest Key Programs Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Juan Sanchez
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits, such as medical and dental(in 10 reviews)

  • "The company is the largest in the country and is genuinely committed to serving unaccompanied minors(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I understand the regulations of a shelter for unaccompanied minors, but sometimes I felt that the kids felt like they were just a number(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Must be committed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Youth Care Worker 

      I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working on the frontlines of humanitarian response

      Cons

      Weekend/holiday work will be required

      Southwest Key Programs2019-04-20
    • "You can find an opportunity here!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Youth Care Worker in El Paso, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Key Programs full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefits package Achieve a lot of experience Help the youth

      Cons

      Sometimes the staff with more experience are a little bit impatient. Shift hours

      Advice to Management

      Find better ways to facilitate the work to the youth care workers

      Southwest Key Programs2019-06-15
    • "Case manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Case Manager in Phoenix, AZ

      I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      better pay than most

      Cons

      micromanagement and picky with everything. emails are all templates, absolutely no care from management about worker input/ opinion, zero. Do as you are told and how you are told. Government is a mess and it makes the non profits dysfunctional.

      Advice to Management

      none, they don't take it anyways.

      Southwest Key Programs2019-06-10
    • "Gain experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trainer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefits are great and comfortable to the average company. Opportunity to advance is within the company is good.

      Cons

      The management do not treat you very well. They seem to care only about the ensuring they are not caught doing things incorrectly. Often time forgetting about the Employee. No engagement with the workers. The pay is not great.

      Advice to Management

      Happy Employee, Happy Company

      Southwest Key Programs2019-05-22
    • "About the Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Case Aide in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You gain lots of experience in clerical and social work.

      Cons

      Too many lay offs. No job Stability.

      Southwest Key Programs2019-03-11
    • "Youthcare Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Headcount/Youthcare Worker in Brownsville, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      With over six years of customer service experience I will step in and make an immediate contribution with my excellence skills. I will bring a dedicated, reliable and driven attitude to this role.

      Cons

      I have no cons for this job.

      Advice to Management

      In my current position, I maintain an exceedingly functional work environment while delivering exceptional customer service to not only the children I work with but the constant traffic I have on the radio with staff, clinicians and case managers.

      Southwest Key Programs2019-02-20
    • "Youth Care Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time

      Pros

      It has been a wonderful experience working in a place like this, every day is a new challenge, helping these young people to feel good is the greatest satisfaction you can have, for that reason I want to continue working in SWK because I opened my eyes to New horizons that Didn't know existed

      Cons

      Always be attentive to the phone even if you are resting because sometimes they need extra personal for work

      Advice to Management

      more time for lunch break when you work more than 8 hours

      Southwest Key Programs2019-02-12
    • "Horrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Case Manager 

        I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time

        Pros

        Decent pay, nothing else. Horrible company

        Cons

        Everything. Not equipt to handle anything

        Advice to Management

        Leave

        Southwest Key Programs2019-03-19
      • "Rewarding"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Clinician in Brownsville, TX
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Helping Children resolve trauma issues and permanency planning

        Cons

        work hours life work ratio

        Southwest Key Programs2019-02-10
      • "Great Job, Terrible policies and Practices"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Clinician in Conroe, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Southwest Key Programs full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Salary, Job Satisfaction, Great Benefits

        Cons

        Long Hours, High Stress, Uncooperative Management, Monumental amount of Paperwork

        Advice to Management

        Abandon Nepotist Practices, Provide staff with adequate support

        Southwest Key Programs2019-02-19
      Found 147 reviews