Spectrum Health Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Spectrum Health Systems Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Kurt Isaacson
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "I loved getting to know the population I was working with (incarcerated women)(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management does not listen to staff resulting in extremely high turnover(in 5 reviews)

  • "Program mismanagement, increased work load for counselors and some supervisors(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really love working for Spectrum. I feel like I am part of a team and that my opinions really matter. I love the staff I work with and the staff I encounter at other sites as well. Everyone is a team player here and management here at my site really has their staff's backs for everything. Great support!! I also absolutely love working in this field and the clients are so appreciative!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons off hand right now

    Advice to Management

    I think there should be dress down Fridays more often and also more family involvement like an open house type of activity maybe once a month or every other month

    Spectrum Health Systems2019-01-10
  2. "Make the best of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor 

    I have been working at Spectrum Health Systems full-time

    Pros

    Better pay than most entry level human services jobs

    Cons

    No job security you can be let go if you are not liked

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach

    Spectrum Health Systems2019-01-18
  3. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Westborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time

    Pros

    Paid on time on a biweekly basis

    Cons

    Poor communication Values business over patient care Management is incompetent

    Spectrum Health Systems2019-02-06
  4. "Stay Away from Spectrum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is that Spectrum often promotes from within.

    Cons

    Management, Culture of Bullying, Lack of Communication about Expectations and Job Performance, Negative Treatment of Staff by Management.

    Advice to Management

    Spectrum is one of the worst places to work by far. Upper management spends no time supervising or directing staff, is unclear about the expectations of your job and then publicly berates you for not doing something, and promotes and accepts a culture of managers being cruel to their staff. Working at Spectrum will burn you out quickly and cause you to re-consider working in the addiction field. There is no support; instead,...

    Show More
    Spectrum Health Systems2018-11-19
  5. "It was a pleasure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provide all the resources and support you need.

    Cons

    I couldn't take my job with me when I moved.

    Advice to Management

    expand your services to more states.

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-08-20
  6. "Management is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The clients are the only reason people want to work here.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about the clients. Staff as well as managers have violated boundaries with clients and it gets looked past until DPH investigates.

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-09-20
  7. "Stay away..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor in Shirley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, decent benefits

    Cons

    No supervision, disorganization in upper management, will make false promises to get you in the door and then tell you policies have changed.

    Advice to Management

    If you say you're going to provide someone with supervision towards licensure, do it instead of back-peddling once the employee is in the door. Very poor practice.

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-09-18
  8. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spectrum Health Systems full-time

    Pros

    Clients. PTO accrual, nurses and entry level staff

    Cons

    Management on all levels are awful. Great PTO accrual yet you have to jump through hoops to actually use it. Pay is low. They need to clean house as far as management is concerned- nurses are leaving by the boatload. If I could give less than 1 star I would.

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-05-03
  9. "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Counselor in Westboro, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spectrum Health Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The clients are the only good thing about this company

    Cons

    Company promotes chaos through ineffective and inadequate micromanagers that do more harm than help to the clients that are served. Violations of client rights were continually allowed and swept under the rug. Written rules were ignored regularly. Supervisory support does not exist. Rate of pay is laughable for positions requiring a degree.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees and take action that addresses oroblems that are brought to your attention. The problems with this company are most definitely from the very top of the company all the way down to those that work in direct client care.

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-04-27
  10. "Mission driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spectrum Health Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great support, willing to try new things, care about clients

    Cons

    Lots of direct contact with clients in need, not good for someone who's afraid of people with criminal backgrounds

    Spectrum Health Systems2018-03-21
Found 59 reviews