KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Student Experts

Is this your company?

Student Experts

Add a Review

Student Experts Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2019

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 16 of over 16 reviews
3.7
64% Recommend to a Friend
100% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Student Experts Director of Operations JoEllen Lowry (no image)
JoEllen Lowry
3 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

5m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flexible hours (although you'll have to work so many per week the 'flexible' part of this is used a bit liberally)(in 4 reviews)
  • "Second, the people at Student Experts are amazing, kind, and awesome.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Great benefits(in 4 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun startup with great people

    Oct 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Student Experts provided me the experience I needed to take the next steps in my career. I met some of the most talented, passionate people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    I'm not sure of any cons - I truly enjoyed my multi-year stint working for Student Experts.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Fun and Educational Introduction to World of Content Creation, Flexible Contract Gig

    Jan 30, 2019 - Content Writer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, autonomy over working hours (just meet deadlines!), option to work remotely, good creative outlet, fun and interesting way to learn about a variety of industries' philosophies, products, and services; scheduling/workload flexibility

    Cons

    relatively low pay; repackaging similar content in fresh ways grows challenging and tedious after years on the same beat

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Flexible and Exactly What I Need

    Aug 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone has the flexibility to work from home. All full time employees receive fully paid health, dental, and vision benefits. The downtown Tucson office is awesome - complete with beer and snack stocked fridges. Meetings are infrequent and always productive. Our CEO is active in the day to day of the business and attentive to employee concerns. There is a strong sense of company culture and things continue to grow and change. The workload is always manageable. Our team is structured in a way that workloads can be divided and shared when needed. Everyone knows what is expected of them. Detailed feedback and training is offered when specific standards aren't met. Most of all, everyone wants to see everyone else succeed. It's a very sportive environment. It's a small company, so every part of the team is really important.

    Cons

    It's important to stay connected because almost everyone is remote. Employees can go days without speaking to a coworker if they don't make an effort to reach out. It's not really a con, just something to be mindful of. We had some growing pains back in 2013 when our business was shifting out of its startup phase. We had some management changes and a few people were let go. It was unfortunate and hard on morale at the time, but overall it united people more. The changes lead to a core team of skilled professionals who work really well together. We have only continued improve things since then.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A good gig to have for a young professional in Tucson.

    Jul 26, 2016 - Project Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flexible hours. Great health benefits. Smart coworkers. Cool office. Free food and booze. Good resume experience for early career.

    Cons

    It's a small company, so naturally there are limited opportunities for upward mobility. PTO is decent, but does not increase with years at the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Experience

    Sep 6, 2015 - Technology Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ideal for students looking for part-time work. I learned so much in a short period of time. We worked in a start-up type culture where projects moved fast with high risk/reward. It made coming into work exhilarating. Leadership involved in creating a positive experience for both our customers and employees.

    Cons

    If you are just looking for a paycheck, this is not the play to work. You will get what you put in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Hard work, Good People, Great Company

    Aug 20, 2015 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many pros when it comes to Student Experts that I'm not even sure where to begin...or end, for that matter. First off, Student Experts saved me from a low-paying, menial job at a coffee shop, bookstore, and other similar business that English majors reluctantly flock to when they realize that the novel they've worked on (or dreamed about) can't pay the bills (not even the bill at the dive bar). Second, the people at Student Experts are amazing, kind, and awesome. Third, the people are intelligent, quick-witted, astute, and every other synonym for smart. Fourth, they help you feel and be smarter. Seriously, from the typical water-cooler talk to the in-depth feedback from the editors, it's all about sharing information and insights and, above all, learning. Fifth, I only realized upon leaving that a company like Student Experts isn't the norm, not even close. The company cares, and the people are amazing, exceptional, and awesome (did I mention smart?). The start-up atmosphere is invigorating, and the progress they've made with managing their growing business is impressive. Being a part of it all is worth more than most realize. If you're looking for a place that you can learn at, grow with, and fit into, then consider a job at Student Experts. It's a lot of work - and you better be good at writing and editing - but it's work you can love and people you can trust and learn from.

    Cons

    You will be asked to produce a lot of work and put in a lot of time. However, hard work pays off. Also, things change often enough. Don't apply if you're looking to find a comfortable fit and routine and continue doing the same for years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Exciting company, great culture!

    Aug 14, 2015 - Senior Technology Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Student Experts has an amazing culture. The experience I gained here has been invaluable to my career development. The owners and management really care about the employees. Food and drinks (beer!) are provided in the office.

    Cons

    I'm not sure what the downsides would be - I really enjoyed my time working for Student Experts. I started there when I was still in college and continued to work there for many years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Startup Culture

    Aug 11, 2015 - Project Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working there is a lot of fun with great people. It's a great environment to grow and spend time building up your resume. Although the perks can spoil you compared to other Tucson jobs!

    Cons

    It's a smaller team and the office can get really quiet sometimes. Sometimes you get projects on boring topics but the wide range of options is nice. Not a huge career ladder to climb.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great colleagues, great culture, great experience. Good way to get paid to write/design.

    Mar 19, 2015 - Content Writer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in the Student Experts office is a lot of fun. You're surrounded by very smart and creative people with a variety of interests. Breaks to discuss the nuance of craft beer and American history are not unheard of. Work hours are flexible (both PT and FT) and employees are free to work when and where they're most comfortable. The work was generally enjoyable (some weeks are longer than others but you can count on 40-45 hours of work each week if you're fulltime). Editors and managers do a good job of letting writers and designers work on projects that are most interesting to them. The kitchen is always stocked with quality coffee, snacks, drinks and there is free lunch on Fridays. It's great professional experience, particularly for recent graduates. Not only do you learn a lot about your own work but you gain a lot of insight into the key elements of internet marketing, SEO, and working with clients (mostly SMBs). I saw a number of people get promoted and advance into other roles within the organization, but the experience itself translates well and is valuable to other business as well. Student Experts was instrumental in opening up other doors for me. Compensation was very fair and the benefits were exceptional - insurance coverage was a huge draw and a big help as a recent graduate.

    Cons

    There are a number of remote employees, so the office can be a little quiet at times. The people that do work in-office are great to be around.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A poorly run business with good intentions

    Jan 29, 2015 - Content Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I started working at SE under the previous CEO, the company was well-run and employees really were hired full-time and given amazing benefits (including exceptional healthcare). Now, however, it seems like they only advertise for contract positions, so you're not ever going to actually see those amazing healthcare plans. I live out of state and was able to work remotely, which, while it wasn't ideal for me, is great for some people. Flexible hours—as long as you finish you work by midnight and show up via Skype for a weekly meeting, you can work whatever hours you want.

    Cons

    As a remote employee, I felt very distant from the company as a whole. They had a great environment in the office, which I visited once, but overall, I felt hugely left out. The only person who ever worked to improve on that no longer works there, so I'm sure it's still an issue for remote workers. When the new CEO came in, the entire atmosphere of the business changed. Tyler made us feel valued; Dean made me feel like a child. The atmosphere went from encouraging to threatening at weekly meetings, and I, along with most other full-time writers, was eventually laid off to save them money on benefits. Now they hire contract workers with a promise of full-time work that rarely manifests in reality, from what I hear. Also, the workload is insane and time-consuming. Whereas most people who work eight hours a day don't actually WORK for a full eight hours, this company demands it. I was a good writer and a lot of challenging clients liked me, so therefore I got harder work writing for repeat clients with no benefits whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Student Experts? Share Your Experiences

or

Student Experts Photos

+ Add Photo
Student Experts photo of: Wall decor at the writer
Student Experts photo of: The lounge

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Glassdoor has 16 Student Experts reviews submitted anonymously by Student Experts employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Student Experts is right for you.