Sun Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Communities Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Sun Communities Chairman and CEO Gary A. Shiffman
Gary A. Shiffman
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, good people to work with/for(in 11 reviews)

  • "Not a demanding job, good benefits, very generous vacation package(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Couldn't ask for better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RV Resort Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sun allows me to have a good time at work. Allows me to be positive, to be kind, to be outgoing. As for the actual job, all the tools necessary, are at my disposal. The support staff makes it a hard to fail scenario. Couldn't ask for better.

    Cons

    There are no downsides. Sun's culture allows you to make it what it is.

    Sun Communities2019-05-24
  2. "1 Year!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Retention Specialist in Wayland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for Sun has been one of the best things that has ever happened to me!

    Cons

    None that are of any value

    Sun Communities2019-12-21
  3. "Contract position - temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Cheektowaga, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sun Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Busy atmosphere, company general reputation, Company culture and values

    Cons

    Must be a tenant to be permanently employed

    Sun Communities2020-01-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "2 yrs. and wanting more!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pro Shop Manager in Auburndale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the pro's to my job is obviously meeting new people all the time and making new connections in the Golf industry. I enjoy meeting people and learning new things My wish would be to learn more of the Operations Side of Sun and to become more of a leader on the Golf side of things I absolutely love the game and appreciate the opportunity to work within it. And to represent Sun while doing so.

    Cons

    Occasionally a difficult client but that's part of the deal, And I believe there is a lot more opportunity in the Golf course's than is being realized by leadership. But also don't believe there is anyone focused on the opportunity and Golf solely.

    Advice to Management

    Promote or designate a individual to focus solely on the golfing side of things. i believe there is a lot more opportunity than we are taking advantage of. This belief is also shared by my counterparts as we have discussed them.

    Sun Communities2019-12-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Promising Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working for Sun has definitely been an experience. There is so much opportunity to grow and learn each and every day. My peers are always ready to help with a simple phone call. Sun empowers their team members to take the initiative to better themselves and their team. The benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    If I had any cons about the company it would be to listen a bit more when the management in the field speak in regards to the commissions and bonuses. Not arguing that they are bad as they are not. I just feel they could be structured a bit different to be fair to all team members and not just one team member.

    Advice to Management

    Be understanding and teach the managers in the field. Be aware of the individual managing their community on what is needed in which area. Especially when being asked for help.

    Sun Communities2019-12-02
  6. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Office Coordinator 

    I worked at Sun Communities full-time

    Pros

    The pay is not good

    Cons

    the work load is to much for the pay

    Sun Communities2019-12-12
  7. "Resort Housekeeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zephyrhills, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my Manager. Love the Residents. Good Benefits.

    Cons

    None, everything is just great.

    Sun Communities2019-10-27
  8. "False hope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Communities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time off, holidays and residents.

    Cons

    Trick you into working there, push you too hard, make you feel little.

    Advice to Management

    Stop buying properties and spend money on fixing up the ones you have and give your employees a raise.

    Sun Communities2019-11-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Anderson, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sun challenges you in a way that promotes growth and learning in a very fast paced environment. They provide tons of support from the corporate office, and they also assign you a mentor manager to help you through the training process. There is also a Learning and Development team who is always there to answer questions you may have. The company trust you to run the property as if it were your own business. I really do appreciate that kind of freedom in my job. It empowers me and makes me want to do better everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    I work a ton of hours, however, I do that because I take great pride in my community and its appearance.

    Advice to Management

    I have none. My RVP is incredible and has been the best boss I've ever had in my life. I put in the extra hours just so I dont disappoint him. He has boosted my professional confidence in a way that I did not know could even happen.

    Sun Communities2019-10-02
  10. "Employee Burn Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 

    I have been working at Sun Communities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, beautiful work area.

    Cons

    Management has very unrealistic standards for the work

    Sun Communities2019-10-18
Found 181 reviews