Synapse Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Synapse Group Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Synapse Group CEO Sebastien Bilodeau (no image)
Sebastien Bilodeau
3 Ratings
  1. "Entrepreneurial Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synapse Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company with an entrepreneurial history…. Goon benefits & perks, including shuttle to train station, free lunch and dinners The business had stagnated until new senior management team interjected new life Smart & hard working team from top to bottom of the company Nice office complex convenient located

    Cons

    Challenging times for print magazines, but Synapse always looking to create new programs and business models Parent company can sometimes be challenging to navigate

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in new business development initiatives Need to bring in more external talent with fresh ideas & experience with product development

    Synapse Group2014-02-21
  2. "Was a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Synapse Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch, was a fun place to work

    Cons

    When Meredith took over, they tore the company apart. Laying off 25% of staff and since an additional 20 workers have left on their own. The company is a shell of what it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Do something to fix the departure of great staff.

    Synapse Group2019-07-26
  3. "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Synapse Group

    Pros

    Free lunch, some nice people

    Cons

    Poor management , CEO has come in and changed everything. Was once a marketing company , now we are a tech company. 29 people left voluntarily since January. Don’t waste your time working there.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management.

    Synapse Group2019-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Synapse Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, lots of opportunities to connect outside of work

    Cons

    A bit like high school

    Synapse Group2018-12-09
  5. "-wear multiple hats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Synapse Group full-time

    Pros

    -nice location and free lunch

    Cons

    I dont have anything negative to say

    Synapse Group2018-10-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Synapse Group

    Pros

    Free lunch, fun company party, fun committee

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to make a decision. There are definitely favorite employees.

    Synapse Group2016-06-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Partnership Marketing and Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Synapse Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and leadership

    Cons

    Divide between upper and lower management

    Advice to Management

    Though an open door policy is instilled, encourage more conversation among company- within and across teams. Also, be more accepting of inter company movement

    Synapse Group2016-01-21

    Synapse Group Response

    January 25, 2016Associate Manager, Sales Strategy & Development

    Thank you for the feedback and your management suggestion. These are certainly things we're working on and it helps to hear the perspective of others.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work but business is in trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synapse Group

    Pros

    People here are smart and once you've proven yourself, you're treated like an adult. If you need to leave early or come late no one comments, you just need to get the work done.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks vision and is very financially driven. The business is struggling to find the next big thing and since magazine subscriptions are less and less popular, it's paramount that they get creative. Leadership doesn't support failure in an effort to find a solution, so the environment can be stifling. Analysts are key to the business but are not supported financially or otherwise and burn out very quickly.

    Advice to Management

    support the analysts and let people try new things - just make sure that they have a constructive environment to debrief on successes and failures.

    Synapse Group2015-12-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Synapse Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice group of people, collaborative work environment.

    Cons

    Uncertain future with magazine subscriptions being its primary business model.

    Synapse Group2015-12-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sub par"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Marketing Services Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synapse Group

    Pros

    Free Lunch, Good Pay, Good benefits

    Cons

    Poor management, Zero training, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Make sure managers know how to manage new employees

    Synapse Group2015-11-11
Found 27 reviews