TIG Risk Services Reviews | Glassdoor

TIG Risk Services Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
TIG Risk Services CEO Patrick J. Andrews (no image)
Patrick J. Andrews
30 Ratings
  1. "Hands down one of the best jobs I have ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at TIG Risk Services

    Pros

    This company is like no other! Terrific place to work with an outstanding staff. There is room to grow within and tons of benefits within the company, to include overtime and additional assignments. This is not a company to work for if you expect to just sit by and collect a paycheck. The company demands 100 percent, rightfully so, and if you can provide that you will be well taken care of.

    Cons

    Honestly, I have not experienced anything negative while working for this company. The negative comments listed below are completely erroneous in nature and likely fueled by individuals not cut out for this type of work.

    Advice to Management

    No needed advice to the management. They clearly know how to run a successful business and have several employees that have been with the company for an extended amount of time with no intent of leaving. I plan on staying with TIG for as long as possible and highly recommend this company to all.

    TIG Risk Services2019-08-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn’t Wish This Job On My Worse Enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Analyst in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TIG Risk Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay ($13) Bonuses but only if you sign a contract

    Cons

    Where do I start?! Pat is so freaking rude and inconsiderable! He talks about his clients calling them “dummies” and “idiots”.. when they don’t agree with him. Management in the office do nothing but talk and whisper about one another then smile in their face! Pat yells at his employees and threat to fire them. A client even called him a “racist b word” in an email! He sent me home for me texting my husband that I’m okay because I had morning sickness earlier that morning but walked right pass a Caucasian girl who was on her phone fussing at her significant other quietly in the office and texting. Pat picks and chooses who he wants to get on to about different things! Everyone in that office is looking for another job! The turnover rate is extremely high! Another dislike is TIG is a small company but can’t remember or have something set to tell their employees “Happy Birthday”!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Treat people the way you want to be treated - Get to know your employees on a personal level - Treat everyone the same no matter the RACE - Stop talking crap about your employees and clients

    TIG Risk Services2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSS in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TIG Risk Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employer knows what they are doing in this industry. If you are interested in investigation work this is a good fit for you. - Good schedule - Great pay - They do offer raises and have a 401K available - They like to promote from within - Owner was open to my idea (s) and encouraging

    Cons

    - Terrible office environment. If you are a "vibes" person- the vibe in this office is misery. Either that or everyone is just so busy they cannot even say hi. Literally no one talks in the office, almost ever. - No one takes breaks. I did not see them encouraged or taken. It is non stop busy work. - The on boarding process is outdated and ineffective. - I can honestly say that I have never felt more unwelcome at a job in my life. I literally felt insignificant and invisible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Create a new hire orientation. Like welcome people to this industry and your company! There is no buy in for the employee to work here. I wasn't even given a mission statement, why should people stay working for you? - Create training plans for new hires and employee's changing roles. Just because others have learned the job via OJT does not make it effective. The type of work you do is important and not considered a basic skill. Slow it down and organize your training/on-boarding. Just telling people that you know they will make mistakes does not help. You have to teach skill A, get skill A to a minimal performance level, and then teach skill B. Don't just throw a bunch of stuff onto someone to learn and expect high performance/high quality. - Meetings should be regular and not just for when things go wrong. Team building and fun, or least some down time needs to be added to this environment. Like intentionally. - The company seems to be functioning in "urgency mode". It is not fair to have one employee training/reviewing a new employee while also held to deadlines of a completely different role. I do not know if high turnover is a consistent problem here but you need to make decisions for the long term, not because you are in a hurry or a bunch of people quit. - Do not post a position and hire for that position, but then put the new hire into a different position. People apply to certain positions for a reason (skills, interest, anticipation) and you should honor that.

    Show More
    TIG Risk Services2020-01-03
  4. "Stay away from this place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSS Investigator in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TIG Risk Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This business is run by a family, so most of the time they're understanding about you needing to be away from work for yours. I was allowed to change my work schedule to fit the needs of my children. That was a big deal for me & I appreciated it greatly. But literally the only pro I found in the year and a half I worked for TIG.

    Cons

    The job itself shouldn't be that difficult however, the place is full of people who think they know more then the rest. People are constantly quitting, 'supervisor' roles are only switched among the same people -so if you're not one of the favorites, you will be invisible until you make a mistake. Growth is only available to a select few. People are working in fear of losing their job, people are planning to leave and work elsewhere, and a few people have worked here for so long that they cant see how disrespected and undervalued they actually are. This job will take alot out of you, especially people who arent afraid to work. The training process is basically nonexistent, it's all word of mouth and everyone does things differently -which leads to constant errors and confused, nervous employees. The computers are slow, they cant keep up with all that the job requires. There are no annual reviews, this years christmas bonus was contingent upon signing a noncompete agreement. The owner got so tired of people leaving after they acquired their offical PI license,that was his solution. Personally after my experience here I will never look at working as an investigator agian, but it says alot about how he values his employees..almost as if he views them as his property. Upon hiring he tells you this is a career, that you'll grow and etc ..truth is hes only selling to you the same way he sells services to his clients. This job is not worth it. There are plenty of other places you can make the same amount of money for less then half the headache. I could continue but theres no point, soon the owner will ask all his current employees to write positive reviews to push this one out of sight. In conclusion, dont work here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Learn to properly communicate amongst eachother. -Learn to properly communicate with the employees. -Put together proper training materials and have designated trainers. -Offer the same pay for both men and women when offering 'management' positions. -Stop picking favorites. -SPEAK TO YOUR EMPLOYEES WITH RESPECT INSTEAD OF BEING A TYRANT.

    TIG Risk Services2019-12-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sad, anxious, and overwhelmed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TIG Risk Services full-time

    Pros

    The lower level staff is amazing and they deserve so much better than how they’re treated

    Cons

    Where to start... They advertise one job and then hire you for a different one They throw massive work on you and if you do well then you get even more work or a “promotion” with no additional pay and even more stress Management threatens to sue employees It is consistently a negative work environment, where the management uses fear mongering tactics to keep employees scared. Management likes to yell. A lot (Mr Man will fly into an employee’s office and yell at them about something before getting the whole picture. Then they have to explain to him how he misunderstood and there isn’t an issue. He will not apologize for the yelling ever) And. so. much. NEPOTISM If management doesn’t like you, they’ll actively look for errors in your work or reasons to write you up or fire you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    God... just hire more employees, pay them more, and be kinder to them. It’s not hard. You have worn out and lost so many intelligent, hard-working people because of pigheadedness. Reevaluate how you do literally everything. You are burning out your employees and making them miserable!

    TIG Risk Services2019-12-18
  6. "Great Opportunities for Hard Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIG Risk Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The owners are generous (extra jobs, overtime, other help), kind, and understanding. They also know the investigative business and spend a lot of money on training and tools for the staff. Our staff are friendly and work really well as a team. We learn from and help each other, and often see the most unexpected and interesting things through the course of our work. One way I know I enjoy the job is that time passes really fast here. I'm always surprised when its suddenly lunch time and then the end of the day and it felt like I could work another hour. Plus you become a Private Investigator and that lets you notice more even in your daily life.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is hard work which has no room for errors. We have multiple systems to catch them because we can't make mistakes as our client's are counting on our work quality. The expectations are higher than most company's today, but they are not difficult to live by once you get in the habit. Such as showing up for work on time or calling out sick. Don't try to fool a room full of investigators it's not going to end well. Trust and ethics are everything in this work place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As you already do, keep giving every one a chance and cut those who can't so the rest of us don't have to cover them and so we can get new people in who can do better.

    TIG Risk Services2019-05-13
  7. "A business like this could be so successful, if not for the leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Analyst in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TIG Risk Services full-time

    Pros

    The people are great and the work interesting.

    Cons

    Thank God I'm out and can express how I was treated. I was unable to get a PI license like my male counterparts. I was basically harassed daily at that place. The harder you work the better your chances of making a mistake and getting yelled at by the owner or his family. They all work there too. There is no training and you have to balance what you do there because not everyone is licensed but ownership will let who they like work cases and even manage cases. I was hired by another manager and he was great, everyone liked him and he was a buffer between us and the owner. This place could be so much more, very disappointing experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think they are too far gone for help. Sorry but it's true.

    TIG Risk Services2019-05-06
  8. "Ridiculous posts from Liars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIG Risk Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is a great place to work, I can’t believe people continue to disparage the Company and the owners every chance they get. I have seen nothing but genorocity and continued support to help each employee grow at this company. The company provides paid training and licensing and yes its demanding, but also rewarding. The opportunities seem to be almost weekly as I have been asked to do more and expand my knowledge of this industry. It is a fast paced environment which makes the day go by fast. I also like to idea of overtime...who doesn’t like to make more money? And the lies in these posts, the President lives in Illinois and only have seen him a few times so far, but at the Xmas party he seemed nice. And attacking the family, I don’t get it they are all nice people. In fact, the CEO made treats last week almost daily and then today he brought in Panera for the office. The lies are just what they are...LIES!

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t see the need to blasts anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do best, I like working here!

    TIG Risk Services2019-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A job for those who are eager to learn and work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIG Risk Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This a job for those who are eager to learn and are willing to work hard. This business is very demanding and they give you all the tools that you need to do the job. I was given a chance and i made the best of it. It is a professional environment. My hard work is noticed and appreciated. They are very understanding and give everyone a fair chance. I actually enjoy coming to work everyday. I can not thank them enough for the opportunity and i look forward to a great future with this company. People tend to confuse passion with anger, the CEO is a great person who wants the best out of each of his employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    i do not have any cons to write.

    TIG Risk Services2019-03-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Demanding but rewarding occupation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TIG Risk Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After being here a little over a year, I have had many experiences here at TIG. I've had the opportunity to gain many responsibilities and step foot into a few different positions. TIG has been in business for 20 years and I'm not sure what the person below this review means by "sinking ship" because TIG is far from that. It's a stressful job, you have to meet certain deadlines, and make sure you are 100% focused at work. The CEO can be loud at times and sure he can jump on you, but it's never out of anger, but more-so passion. He just expects the very best out of everyone and anything short of that is not going to cut it. When you have this job, you must show to work and WORK. It has been rewarding as I have gained great experience and have a job I'm proud of.

    Show More

    Cons

    The office is pretty small but manageable. Dealing with deadlines and time pressure can make your duties seem stressful.

    Advice to Management

    I have no real advice. Ownership offers a clear open-door policy and encourages employee feedback. Many changes have been made during my time with TIG, mostly positive but when they are negative, we rectify the situation quickly.

    TIG Risk Services2019-03-08
Found 42 reviews